We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite Poconos Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tanglwood Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tanglwood Resort to your Saves list
Tanglwood Resort
9 Crest Drive, Hawley, PA 18428   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
“My favorite Poconos Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We used owner's bonus time to book a Labor Day weekend getaway. The drive from Bergen County NJ has been improve with addition of new road. It is only 107 miles away and traffic was light during the long weekend. We were confirmed into the Lakeside unit at the check-in area. Previously we stayed at the Lakefront and Golf unit. I have to say you get different experience from staying at all three area at Tanglwood Resort. At the golf unit is a private lake at your back yard and of course the golf course which is now public and very affordable. At he Lakefront unit, there is the private boat launch which you can dock your boat and the superb view of Lake Wallapackpack. At Lakeside unit, you get the wide view of Lake Wallapackpack, option of walking to ice cream, boat tour, outdoor pool. recreation and mini market.

We find many nice improvement in the town of Hawley and the Tanglwood Resort. They seem to be promoting the area as a tourist attraction. There is many option to rent watercraft's to cruise around the lake and dining option has improve.

The renovation is done very, very nicely. The one bedroom unit we have is very clean and well appoint. There is sofa bed, queen bed in master, 2 TV (one is flat screen), a lot of space for storage. The full kitchen has with full size refrigerator, stove, microwave, oven, toaster and coffee machine. It also has all the pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensil you will need to fix a meal. There is a lot of space to move around. Washer and dryer is by the reception area. The furnishing and appliances were all new and high quality.

There is a lot of outdoor activity in the area. You can rent all kind of watercraft. There is many activities planned in the recreation center including a indoor paintball field. The clam bake at the fire house was a lot of fun and delicious. IGA is a short drive away. There is many unique antique shops in the town of Hawley and price is really good. The Silk Mill has a unique organic market called Mill Market. It is the best place to get good olive oil, balsamic vinegar and the best bread and spreads. The newly renovated Ledge Hotel has unique dining experience with a view of the waterfall. Silk Mill Harmony is a good music venue.

Because of the closing of the indoor pool and fitness facility at the golf unit. Tanglwood Resort guest can use the Woodloch Pine Resort sports complex which include a fantastic fitness center and the best indoor and outdoor pool system. It is 10 miles drive but worth it. The resort is organizing arrangement with the new Silk Mill Fitness Center which is much closer and very nice but do take use of the Woodloch facility if it is still available.

I think this is my favorite resort in the Poconos. We previously stayed at Shawnee, Split Rock, Mount Laurel and Fairway Villa and Tanglwood has the best unit, location and facility.

Room Tip: All three Tanglwood area will offer different experience. A unit with a view of the lake is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
35
34
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
gatineau
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed the week of aug 10th to the 14th; our unit was in the lakeside section. The location was beautiful as far as scenery and facing the lake. The only downfall was that we had to drive 6 miles to use the outdoor pool and craft room. It was inconvenient with the small children at times.The indoor pool was spectacular at the Woodloch resort but was also 20 minutes away. There is an IGA not too far from the main resort but if you are lakeside you should probably go there first if you need things because then you will have to come back 7 miles for groceries. There are plenty of boat rentals around but I do not advise renting a 14ft boat for fishing on Sat and Sun as Lake Wallenpaupak is super busy. It was positively frightening having a 5 and 8 yr old in the boat. The waves caused by other boaters were gigantic and even a person like me who has fished all kinds of lakes in all kinds of craft was very uneasy. During the week it was much quieter.The condo itself was nice and clean and was adequately stocked. Be aware that this whole area is heavily populated with deer and they are not shy about crossing the curvy roads, the speed limit is low for a reason. I don't think I would return with children to the lakeside part but for a hunting or fishing trip it is superb.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We enjoyed staying at Tanglwood. The one bedroom unit was very clean. Everything seemed brand new. We had a beautiful view of the lake. Many good restaurants in the area. Since we didn't have our own boat we went on a great one hour cruise around Lake Wallenpaupak.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed a week for a family event in the area. The good news:
LOVED having access to the Woodloch's fitness center!
Our one bedroom was roomy and modern. We appreciated the floor space.
The pool area has a nice deck overlooking the lake with tables, umbrellas and plenty of seating.
Easy walk to a couple eats, including an ice cream store :)
While we did have to call management about a couple of issues, they responded in a friendly and professional manner.
Needs improvement:
There are the usual policies and rules such as quiet hours, no smoking, parking spaces which unfortunately some guests ignored. Guests were smoking at the pool and in the condo right above us. One family had babies in diapers in the swimming pool. Our neighbors had visitors who parked 3-4 trucks in our small lot so that we had to find parking partially on the lawn next to a dumpster. Not cool!
There is one grill and picnic table for each building. Guests staying at another building "borrowed" our table so that we had to stand around our grill and stage food from the ground and the top of a trash can. Again not cool! I called to ask for another table and when the maintenance person arrived, they said they could bring another "if we really needed it" Hello, that's why I called so why not just bring it?? Anyway, that steak and shrimp picnic dinner did not happen thanks to inconsiderate guests. Wish each unit had a private grill to use. The table was replaced late the next day.

Room Tip: There are a variety of building locations so consider which type works best for your stay. Bring som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had a one bedroom condo which had a good view of the lake and the inside had a one large queen size bedroom and sofa bed. My daughter elected to sleep on couch as is because she said the sofa bed was uncomfortable. I had several problems while there-coffee table broke while moving it and I fell; limited pots and pans; front door would not lock but the office staff always immediately listened to my concerns and took care of the problem. The biggest problem was the spiders-I know that it was near woods but the outside was covered in spider webs including the steps to and from the condo. I killed at least 20 or more spiders inside and more outside while I was there for a week. I feel that the management needs to do some major spraying of the outside of the building to try to get control of these before someone gets bitten. We were able to walk down to the lake which was nice for the awesome sunsets.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summit, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We found Tanglwood in an emergency. They have the nicest staff I have ever met. The office was closed and the young caretakers of the property saw us heading in that direction and turned around in their car to see if we needed help. The office was closed but they were kind enough to open up and give us a room. The next morning we received a call asking if we needed anything or if they could be of any assistance. The property is really nice and the location is perfect. The sunsets are breathtaking. I can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Pick the upper rooms the view is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I know this is supposed to be a review of Tanglwood. However, Bushkill Falls was indeed the highlight! WOW!! Amazingly beautiful place! Tanglwood was nice. The outside appeared a little aged. The room, however, was really nice. Clean, fully stocked kitchen and great view of Lake Wallnpaupack (right across the road).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Tanglwood Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanglwood Resort

Address: 9 Crest Drive, Hawley, PA 18428
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Pocono Mountains Region > Hawley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Hawley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Tanglwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanglewood Resort Pa
Tanglwood Hotel Hawley
Tanglwood Resort Hawley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tanglwood Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.