We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 East Park Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Harrisburg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #3 of 50 hotels in Harrisburg
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    97
    31
    9
    2
See reviews for
146
51
9
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edinboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Best of service and comfort at a fabulous value. The service is top notch. Rooms are very modern and comfortable. Very much worth it. I absolutely love the restaurant. It has a huge selection of quality beers and whiskies.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Was there for 2 nights for a conference. Lobby was nice. Room was nice and clean. You do hear lots of noise from traffic outside and we weren't even facing the Interstate. Bathroom was a little dated. Liked the bar/restaurant attached to hotel. Problem began in the morning when I attempted to shower. Water at highest "hot" setting was lukewarm and that is being generous. Water pressure was the worst I have ever experienced. Basically a "trickle". I called front desk and they had someone "fix" it that day. Woke the next morning, turned water on in shower and was so happy to see the water pressure was fixed. Unfortunately, the water was ice cold at highest "hot" setting. Would have settled for the lukewarm from morning before but there was nothing warm about that shower! My husband called front desk and they said they were aware of problem. I didn't have the luxury of waiting for it to be fixed as seminar was starting shortly. I called front desk and explained the problem from day before and today. Explained it was unacceptable and asked what they were going to do. Their answer was "we are working on the problem". I explained that was the answer the day before and it only got worse. They finally agreed to refund 1/2 of one night's stay even though we had problems BOTH nights. The girl couldn't seem to care less. It took another call and my husband going down to the front desk for them to agree to refund 1/2 the cost of both nights. Funny thing was we had friends who had reservations for that Saturday night of St. Patrick's weekend as they were planning on attending the attached Irish bar's festivities and spending the night there. I quickly contacted them and warned them to shower first as hot water seemed to be an issue. They wound up cancelling their reservation. Had the hotel staff taken care of the problem initially and/or refunded us for our unacceptable conditions, I would not have cost them that reservation or any future ones. My advice to this hotel is to admit when there is an issue and take care of it and your customers, otherwise they will become someone else's customers.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs so noise of traffic doesn't bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking a moment to provide us with your feedback regarding your stay at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel. It is our goal to provide superior service and satisfaction to every guest that enters our hotel through clean, maintained facilities, and a well-trained team of individuals who genuinely care for our guests.

We fully understand we experienced an unfortunate failure with our boiler system this past weekend. As we became aware of the issue, our team took action, and did all we could to restore hot water for our guests in a reasonable amount of time. We recognize the malfunction affected a limited number of guests, and I have personally contacted those guests to extend our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience. I look forward to your return call, as I truly hope to personally speak with you regarding the unfortunate experience.

I thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your comments. Achieving exceptional hospitality is accomplished through the utilization of the observations and remarks of our guests. We would love to have an opportunity to welcome you back to The Best Western Brand in the future, and specifically the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband stayed there the day before our wedding. We also got a room the night of the wedding as part of the wedding package with the hotel. I am pleased with the room, the service, the breakfast buffet. You name it, it was all perfect! Got a really good price too via Hotwire for the stay we had to pay, as mentioned by some other travellers. Location is key, especially when we were prepping for our wedding, very strategic. A+++

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

On our way to Virginia from Canada and stayed overnight one night. This offers very clean and comfortable rooms and up to date fixtures. The staff were friendly and accommodating. I had a bit of time and went to a local museum, the National Civil war about a 8 minute drive away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Central Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your stay at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel Harrisburg/ Hershey! We are delighted to hear our team was able to deliver friendly personalized service during your time with us. Our Housekeeping Department is dedicated to ensuring each of our guests enjoy clean, comfortable accommodations, and I will be sure to forward your comments on to our team! Thank you again for your positive feedback, we look forward to continuing to provide our guests with exceptional service, and memorable experiences.

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This past Saturday my husband and I attended the 134th Anniversary dinner of the 28th Infantry Division held at Best Western Premier the Central Hotel & Conference Center. I would estimate there were 800 people at that dinner. The food was quite delicious (thumbs up to the chef) and the flow of the entrees was smooth.
We had two servers attending our table, Missy and a young gentleman for whom I did not get a name. They were both very pleasant and accommodating to our needs – clearing our plates soon after we finished and promptly refilling my coffee – always with a smile.
I want to thank Peter Chiccarine, the General Manager, for having such a wonderful staff. I look forward to future events I may attend here and highly recommend Best Western Premier the Central Hotel & Conference Center to anyone who is looking for a venue for their event

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWPremierCentral, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear 28th Infantry Division Guest,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay, and event at the Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel and Conference Center! Our Banquet Team, Chef, and entire Food & Beverage Department are honored to have had the opportunity to host this special occasion for the 28th Infantry.

Thank you for your recognition of our wonderful team, as we genuinely wish to provide our guests with exceptional experiences. As we continue to cultivate our team, we are committed to ensuring the continued development of our guest services, and accommodations at the Central Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back during future travels in the Harrisburg/ Hershey region!

Best Regards,

Peter J. Chiccarine
General Manager
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Our family booked this hotel through Hotwire - a stopover on our long drive to Virginia. We had a major car breakdown on the highway and needed some TLC and understanding as we got our car fixed on a Saturday. Not only were the staff incredibly kind and accommodating they totally helped us over and beyond by arranging shuttles, letting us stay in our room until we knew how long it would take for the car repair and helping with phone calls. They cared about our comfort and it made a unforseen car problem easier to handle. The rooms were extremely comfortable and our two teens really enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was a reasonable cost. Special thanks to Elise, Dawn, Frank and Nikki for their special considerations.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from cheer and wrestling teams - totally great. Just ask how far the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center

Also Known As:
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel And Conference Center
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Premier The Central Hotel
Sheraton Hotel Harrisburg Pa
Four Points By Sheraton Harrisburg
Sheraton Harrisburg
Harrisburg Four Points
Harrisburg Sheraton
Four Points Harrisburg
Address: 800 East Park Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17111 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton Harrisburg)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#2 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#5 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Premier, the Central Hotel & Conference Center is located centrally to all of Harrisburg, and Hershey's most popular attractions! Located just 8 miles from Hershey, 10 miles from the Capital, a short distance from Lancaster, and Gettysburg. Whether business or pleasure brings you to our door, you’ll find that our recently renovated rooms and event facilities, friendly service and host of on-site amenities will make you feel right at home – in the heart of Pennsylvania. The hotel's 174 stunning guest rooms offer all the conveniences the modern traveler expects, including: plush king or queen beds with luxurious linens, 42” LCD TVs, Jack Packs for lap-top connectivity, refrigerators, microwaves and free wireless Internet service.Our restaurant, O’Reilly’s Tap Room and Kitchen offers a full menu, 24 craft beers on tap and room-service. With over 15,000 square feet of meeting and event space, the Central is a perfect spot to hold you next business meeting or convention or if you are looking forward to getting married in the Harrisburg area we encourage you to come view the stunning Central Ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Best Western, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.