We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Spacious Room & Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4480 Lewis Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
“Clean Spacious Room & Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have stayed in many Residence Inns with family & this is one of the best. The hotel is in a very convenient but odd location. The new building in back is very nice with good pool, workout room and bed was great. This was a great stop on our way to Maine, Summer 2014! The staff was great had a good recommendation for Pizza. I think we may have to come back and check out Hershey park next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy to hear that your enjoyed our newly renovated premium suite. It will be my pleasure to pass along the great complements to our housekeeping and front desk staff. Hope to see you again soon and thank you for choosing our facility!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    95
    33
    8
    7
See reviews for
145
26
7
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Long Island
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The family has been coming to this hotel for the last few years, it is a reasonable alternative the the local Hershey hotels and only 15 min away from the park. This year they have remodeled the lobby with expanded seating for breakfast (see photos). What I love is the youthful energetic staff that keeps the property in great condition. Emily W. was so friendly at check-in an gave me a sincere welcome back.

The breakfast they put out is exceptional, the staff that preps it is so friendly, even the pickiest eater will be able to find something.

The only thing that needs improvement is some landscaping. We had a brutally cold Winter 2014 and some of the shrubs did not make it through, they need to be replaced.

Looking forward to our next stay latter this summer!

Room Tip: We were in room 423 it was a King bed and sofa with kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you so much for your glowing review on our Residence Inn. We are so happy that your return visit was just as accommodating and wonderful as your last. Our staff does work hard to provide our guest with the best service and it will be my pleasure to inform them of the great compliments. Recently we finished renovations to our gatehouse, and we are so happy that you notice the extra seating. On that note I do want to apologize on our landscaping, which is the last phase of our renovations to be completed. Thank you again we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
218 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I am a Platinum member and stayed here while on vacation with our kids. I always get upgraded to a 2 bedroom suite or a bigger 1 bedroom suite. We have 2 teenagers and our room was small.

It was CLEAN but too small.

We went to chocolate world and Gettysburg. I highly recommend it!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
We value your loyalty to the marriott rewards program, and appreciate the time you took to review our property. I'm glad you enjoyed our high quality of cleanliness, but sorry to hear the room wasn't large enough for you. Might I recommend our two bedroom suite or penthouse suite for optimal beds, space and privacy. The area has lots to offer and it's great to hear you took advantage of this! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Best Residence Inn I have ever stayed in. All front desk was very friendly and helpful. The room was very big, clean, and had 2 beds (very rare for a Residence Inn). We had no trouble navigating the area. An easy short drive to Hershey Park and much cheaper than the hotels in the town of Hershey. The money we saved staying here paid for our park tickets (discount tickets for park at Giant Food Store) and food. Daily morning hot breakfast buffet was great. Loved the blueberry muffins. Monday thru Thursday evening social served a full meal. Meat, salad, and veggies was offered free. Each night was different but the one we were there for was delicious. A keg of beer is offered and free if you like beer. Large shopping mall was close by on Bass Pro Shop drive. I would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: a room away from the highway is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm glad to see that you utilized all that our hotel has to offer, and it warms our hearts to hear how much you enjoyed your stay! We are proud of the complimentary breakfast and weekday reception that we offer, and it means a lot to us that your family benefited from our large suites. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The hotel was descent, no complaints on the room or stay. However, this hotel is NOT in a nice area. It is located in a completely industrial area and nowhere near Hershey park or close to any restaurants. The staff was friendly with the exception of the maid who seemed annoyed that we were not out of our room yet as of only 9:30 am. I don't recommend this location for families.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
We appreciate all your feedback and I'm glad to hear that you had no complaints about the actual property itself. With that being said, I'm sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with the immediate surrounding area. We think our property is in a great location with close proximity to downtown Harrisburg and all the Hershey attractions. We also provide all of our guests with a local area information packet that has multiple restaurants within close proximity to the hotel. Our front desk staff are always readily available for recommendations on where to dine! We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The desk staff person was welcoming and nice. We arrived at the hotel a little before check-in. He checked us in and told us that he would call us when our room was ready. While waiting, we took a short trip to the Target that was a few blocks away. We received a call from the desk staff shortly after we left informing us that our room was ready.

The room had a great layout, lots of space, and was very comfortable. My son claimed and loved the loft. The negatives about the room were that the bed was really hard and uncomfortable, the TV pictures weren't sharp, the sofa looked like it needed to be cleaned and had short white hairs across the back where your head rests, and the wooden outside stairs that go up to the room were narrow, old, and scary. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thank you for your 4 star review. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant check in experience. Our property also has a two bedroom suite, which has the same room accommodations on one level. This option may suit your family needs better. Thank you again for choosing our Residence Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We recently visited the Hershey area and needed space for lodging. We had 4 teen girls for a "Birthday" trip and one hotel room with one bathroom would not work for us.

The Hotel is located in more of an Industrial area, but it was quiet. We had a great room with a loft, 2 bathrooms, nice sized kitchen, and living area.

That was perfect for what we needed! The girls were thrilled and had a great time using the pools. Hershey is not far away at all. Under a 10 minute ride. Also, nearby is plenty of places to dine or shop.

We found our unit to be very clean and comfortable. The kitchen was also a great perk!

The free breakfast was good and everyone enjoyed their morning meals. I would recommend this place for anyone looking for a place to stay with a family with older children needing their privacy and space.

Room Tip: This Hotel also takes dogs. I enjoyed walking around and seeing the friendly people with their pets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are so happy your family was able to take advantage of our wonderful amenities, our larger size suites, and our four legged friends. Also we would like to wish your daughter a belated birthday! We are looking forward to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 4480 Lewis Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey hotel offers guests spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, free wireless Internet access, pool, heated spa and Sport Court-all the comforts of home. Attractions near the hotel are Hershey Park & Stadium, Indian Echo Caverns, Whitaker Center, Zoo America, AACA Museum, National Civil War Museum, RiverSide Stadium, State Museum of Pennsylvania and the State Capitol. Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey shopping is plentiful at Harrisburg Mall, Colonial Park Mall, Outlets at Hershey and Strawberry Square. Guests to the hotel enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet daily and light dinners Mon-Thurs. Visitors to University of Harrisburg and Temple University are within 5 miles of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. Come stay with us at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel allowing pets in studio and Penthouse suites only for a $100 non refundable fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.