We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4480 Lewis Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good for dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed while exhibiting in the dog show at the Harrisburg Farm Show complex. The hotel is in a semi industrial location without much traffic. There was an area to walk the dogs safely behind the hotel. Parking was not a problem. We were on the second floor. The room was a good size although the bathroom was a little small. The only downside was breakfast. On Saturday it was very crowded and the staff had a hard time keeping the breakfast room clean. It looked like there were a lot of families on their way to Hershey park. It was only a 10 min drive to the Farm Show Complex but you need a GPS or you will end up taking the long way (we did and we had a GPS) There are a lot of freeways in the area so you need to pay attention. The rate was good but the dog fee was very high at $100 as we only stayed one night. We did not see any restaurants nearby but downtown Harrisburg is very near . We went to the Rockbass Grill on the south side of the Market Street Bridge only 10 minutes away and a great place to have dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am glad you found us to be conveniently located. Unfortunately our pet fee is a standard fee with the Residence Inn brand. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    86
    30
    8
    7
See reviews for
133
25
7
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We took a family vacation with another family and we both wanted larger room for our stay so all of our kids and parents would have space. The Residence Inn was just what we were looking for! Having 2 bedrooms (one King bed, one queen bed) and 2 bathrooms with a living room was awesome! Pools were great, workout room and laundry room were also nice to have. Staff was helpful and we even got discounted tickets to Hershey Park at front desk. We hope they fix wifi - should be free and wireless should work and not keep going off every 2 seconds. Put your do not disturb sign out every night as housekeeping comes in at 9:00 if you don't! We would then call front desk when ready for service and they would come. Breakfast in lobby was crowded but there were lots of choices.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review my hotel for potential visitors. I am glad to hear that we were able to meet your travel expectations and that you had such a wonderful experience. I am happy to see that you were able to take advantage of some of our amenities. I would like to apologize for the WIFI and will definitelyy look into it. Thank you so much for staying with us and we hope to see you again in the future. Hava a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

For our quick stop at Hershey and Gettysburg, we stayed at the Hotel we have frequented in the past. This was our third or fourth stay at this Residence Inn, and we were as pleased as all the other times. In the past we have stayed in the various modules. This time we were on the third (top) floor of the building in the back of the property. It sleeps four, which was great for us and our two boys. Because they complain about the other one hogging the bed, instead of making them both sleep on the pull out couch we also brought our own air mattress. Unfortunately, the “living” area was too small for both to be used, so they shares the air mattress anyway. The toilet area is awkward, as the door hits you when you have to close it, causing you to contort your body to allow it to swing shut.

Regardless, it was a great stay. The breakfast is filling, and the property looks terrific. The Hotel is literally 10 minutes from the Hershey parking lot, right down US 322. It took us about 35 – 40 minutes to get to Gettysburg.

Will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and I really appreciate you staying with us for the 3rd or 4th time. It is great to you have you return. I do apologize for the design of the bathroom, they can be difficult to maneuver around the toilet. We try our best to make sure our guests leave happy. I hope you'll stay with us once again on your next visit to our local area. Thank you and have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey for 3 nights/4 days. The staff was very friendly. The room was very clean and quite comfortable. The location was convenient to get to Hershey Park and Amish Country. Breakfast was good as well. However, there was one major inconvenience that made for a difficult time trying to get ready in the morning. There were no other mirrors in the hotel room except for the bathroom. Because each of us had to wait until the other person was done getting ready in the bathroom, it took double the amount of time it would have taking had there been a mirror in the room as well as the bathroom. I did complain to the hotel staff about this.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. Our goal is to exceed our guests' expectations at every opportunity. I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your recent stay. I would apologize for any inconvenience with only having 1 mirror in your room, I can understand how that could be frustrating to you and your family. We look forward to your return in the future. Thank you and have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Hotel Hershey is beautiful but far too expensive for the room you get. If you are on a budget and looking for spacious nice rooms then I would recommend this hotel. Breakfast was good and the room was big and clean. We booked a suite in the newer part of the hotel and it was fantastic! It was on a street with some various businesses such as a refrigeration company and a power systems company so it isn't the nicest looking area but don't let this discourage you. It is a nice hotel and is right off the highway so it is easy to get to Harrisburg or Hershey :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic commments and thank you for staying with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our spacious rooms and services. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the Hershey area. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here with my family while we visited the park. Another family that was traveling with us stayed at the hotel also. Very comfortable and convenient. The breakfast bar was very nice and enjoyed by our children every morning before a day at the park. A lot more economical than staying closer to the park. Only about 10 mins away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for staying with us at the Residence Inn. I appreciate your wonderful comments. I am happy to see that you found us convenient and comfortable. I hope the next time your in Hershey you decide to stay with us. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

What a fabulous little hotel. I have never encountered such a friendly staff at a hotel. Even though the place was fully booked and the staff was clearly working very hard, they gave each guest 100% and I really appreciate that. The suite we had was clean, well stocked, and comfortable. I'm very glad we decided to stay a little further from Hershey in order to get a place that offered suites with kitchens. When traveling with kids, it's great to have a full sink, dishwasher, etc.

Few other pluses: gym is 24 hours, two pools, and free snacks in the evenings.

Overall this is a very well-run property and I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If privacy is a concern and you don't want to have to close the shades, ask for a second floor s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donna H, General Manager at Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments and thank you for staying with us. I personally appreciate hearing your comments about your stay. I am happy to hear about our wonderful staff and our clean comfortabe suites. We are committed to providing the best customer service. We look forward to your return the next time you are in the Hershey/Harrisburg area. Thank you and have a fantastic day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 4480 Lewis Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Residence Inn by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey hotel offers guests spacious suites with separate living and sleeping areas, fully equipped kitchens, free wireless Internet access, pool, heated spa and Sport Court-all the comforts of home. Attractions near the hotel are Hershey Park & Stadium, Indian Echo Caverns, Whitaker Center, Zoo America, AACA Museum, National Civil War Museum, RiverSide Stadium, State Museum of Pennsylvania and the State Capitol. Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey shopping is plentiful at Harrisburg Mall, Colonial Park Mall, Outlets at Hershey and Strawberry Square. Guests to the hotel enjoy complimentary breakfast buffet daily and light dinners Mon-Thurs. Visitors to University of Harrisburg and Temple University are within 5 miles of Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. Come stay with us at the Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey hotel. We are a pet friendly hotel allowing pets in studio and Penthouse suites only for a $100 non refundable fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.