We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Eisenhower Blvd., Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our room was very nice. It was recently renovated, clean, and comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised because the hotel didn't look very new from the outside. It was very basic but appropriate for the price point. There is no coffee maker nor hair dryer. They offer coffee in the lobby though. They only provide two sets of towel instead of the usual 4. The location was good. There are many restaurants nearby. Hershey factory was about 15 minutes away. Overall, I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    34
    20
    17
    15
See reviews for
35
27
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The front desk person was very nice! And the lobby is wonderful! HOWEVER...the Red Roof sites this is a recently renovated hotel - no, it isn't. Our room was the same old drab room they have always had, with the crappy carpet. They did put in a new bed - but the heat/ac unit was falling apart. Was always too hot or too cold (it was cold outside). I've seen the newer renovations - and I prefer the hard floor as opposed to the carpeting. Very disappointed, since they were false about the hotel being 'renovated'. It is not.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, the carpeting holds everything, and it was not vaccumed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Jaded C:
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. You are correct, our inn completed a renovation in August. The extent of renovations performed at each inn does vary. We installed all new carpeting, all new beds and bedding, draperies, paint and converted to a 100% Smoke Free hotel. Once again I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Our stay at the Red Roof Inn was very nice. Service was good, rooms were spacious and pretty modern for an affordable inn. Our room had tv, microwave, fridge, comfortable beds and nice bathroom. The bathroom and toilet was a tad small, but didn't bother us much because its not were staying there. The Wi Fi was iffy with my iPad to get direction to out next destinations, but it still worked nonetheless. In addition, there were so many restaurants arounds for breakfast, lunch and dinner that finding a place to eat was a breeze. This inn was centrally located to many other malls and shopping centers. My only main issue was the level of smoke in the 2nd floor hallway, but our room was smoke free. This is no 5 star hotel, but it is the best inn short of a hotel I have been to so far.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey950, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Ezra,
I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Please visit us again when you are in the area. Have a Happy New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I'm on the road a lot and stay at many hotels. This one is the best by far. Not only are the rooms clean and affordable but the staff is very helpful. Donna the front desk supervisor is very helpful. She will go out of her way to make sure that my stay is comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First Let me say that Donn, on the desk, was great! Very friedly and helpful. My room wasn't ready for almost an hour after check in time and he got hot water for me for a cup of hot chocolate and talked to me while I waited. I reserved the room for 2 nights. Room was clean except for the blood stains on the bedspread. The next day all that was done to my room was the bed was made up and I got new towels. There was a sign that said that the trash cans would be emptied and supplies refilled. I was given no more shampoo for my second shower, no more coffee for the coffee pot in my room, and trash cans still full. There was also trash (empty soda cans and plastic bag) just off the sidewalk outside of my room when I checked in and still there when I checked out. Did like the free WiFi and bed was verycomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Average place. Clean but small rooms. We stayed here Sunday before T-giving and Friday after. OK for our purpose; a nights sleep in between two 10 hour days of driving. Microwave to reheat leftovers from Thanksgivining saving us a meal out.

Room Tip: this place recently went 100% smoke free. ask for a room that was always non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Donna is a great desk manager -- I can always count on her to get it right in a friendly manner. The rooms are always clean and comfortable with immediate access to my vehicle. There is easy access to Interstate 287 and the free wifi is the deal maker.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 950 Eisenhower Blvd., Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#10 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.