We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean ,very small rooms ,value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Eisenhower Blvd., Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“very clean ,very small rooms ,value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

entering to the room i was surprised how small the room and the bath room was,one of the smallest i have ever seen.on the other hand , the room was very very clean and very compact. it seems as it was planned for 1 person travveling for 1 night.when leaving the receptinist told me i could add 10$ and get a bigger room.any how it was more then ok for the money i paid.

Room Tip: add the 10$ and get a bigger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    22
    21
    15
See reviews for
37
33
25
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I stayed here for three nights while visiting my son who lives nearby. It was nice to get a room on the ground level where I could park my car right outside the door. I had a king bed. The price is what sold me on this hotel this time, as I was on a very tight budget, but I would probably not stay here again.

First the positives. The check-in procedure was quick and the lady at the desk was very friendly (as was the man when I checked out). The location is convenient to many highways and right next door to both a McDonald's and Capitol Diner (which is great for breakfast!). There is a coffee pot in the room and also coffee is offered in the office each morning but there is no fresh milk so I went to the local places. There was a refrigerator and microwave in the room along with a nice flat screen tv and free wifi.

I noticed that they are working on some of the rooms and hopefully that is a nice makeover that they give the room I was in because the dark blue carpet was so nasty I wore socks any time I could. It was gummy and greasy and just the thought of bare feet touching it made me gag. I am guessing that is why the room smelled awful. I tried spraying it with perfume but that was a temporary fix at best. Also, there are chips coming off the bathtub and there was a pretty decent fuzzy patch of mold on the ceiling of the bathroom.

The air conditioner was set to 68 but it felt like the arctic. It was also really loud but I was pleasantly surprised that the room was quite insulated from sound other than the awful air system. When I turned the thermostat up a couple of degrees that helped the temp be more comfortable but the odor in the room was magnified in a very disagreeable way.

You get what you pay for so I guess that I should not be surprised at thin towels and really poor quality bed linens. I would just like to be surprised sometime in a good way.

Loved the fact that there was lots of hot water and the housekeeping staff did a good job with what they had. The bathroom was very clean and everything set up nicely.

I stay in Harrisburg at least twice a year and this was my first time going this low budget-wise. Guess it will be my last for a while. I did not sleep well at all due to smell, air system and shabby bed so hope to save up better for my next visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I had booked this Red Roof Inn hotel for a Hershey Park family trip. We had 4 different families and everyone stayed at different hotels. Another was at Red Roof Inn on Corporate; another was at the Marriott, another was at the Hershey Lodge. Staying at the Red Roof Inn where we were, it was cheaper than the Marriott and Hershey Lodge but in hindsight, the free shuttle to Hershey Park from the Lodge would've made better sense. Our room was 2 full beds and we registered as 2 adults and 2 kids. I called for more bath towels. They came up quickly. Nice! There was no refrigerator in the room and no real table or desk. Just another sofa-type of chair. It would've been nice, and there was space for, a round table just to put stuff on. Beds were more comfy than I thought, plenty of parking spaces right where our room was. The front desk woman was very helpful and courteous. The bathrooms were clean. It's not a bad stay but for a trip to Hershey Park, I would pick somewhere with shuttle service to the park next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The room was clean and a great price. The staff was very nice and accommodating, and one of their assets is the front desk clerk named Donna Rhinehart-she couldn't have been more helpful and nice. Will continue to use this hotel and highly recommend to anyone that wants a great stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benezette, PA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

This place is updated and very clean. I stay here several times a year for 1-5 nights. I generally arrive late, around 8:00 or 9:00 The trick to getting the room you want is to call the hotel directly and book through them, instead of the 800 number. I ask for a King Superior Room on the 1st floor and always get it if I call the hotel directly. To use your redicard free night you need to call the 800 number to book, but I make a follow-up call directly to the hotel and tell them that I am arriving late and what room I want. I always get it. The staff here are always friendly and willing to help out.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This hotel was a great place for the price. We booked through Booking.com, and got a $54.99 rate for a king room. Everything was comfortable, bathroom was small, but good. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

The room was clean and comfortable. And the staff was nice and accomadating. Location was great as well. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 950 Eisenhower Blvd., Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
#13 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.