We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey to your Saves list
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4650 Lindle Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Germantown, Maryland
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“All around average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was welcomed as a Gold Member by very friendly desk staff and told I was given an upgrade due to my status, but it didn't seem like an upgrade when I saw it. I was right --- I later saw my colleagues' room (she's not a Gold member) and they were exactly the same. In fact, I was on the pool side (loud) making my room noisier than hers (not exactly an upgrade). The rooms are average size, average amenities, outdated bathroom, nothing to write home about. They had a nice lobby, easy to work in.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a room that is pool side...and ask what they mean when that say they are "upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and for your loyalty to our SPG program! We apologize that you were not satisfied with the size of your room. However, we are pleased to hear that you were able to get some work done in our lobby. Please visit us again when in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    192
    125
    54
    43
See reviews for
219
52
24
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stayed midweek early June, despite pointed queries about noise from the interior pool courtyard duty manager assured me that pool facing room would be quiet because it was midweek.

Absolutely not the case, had to call about pool noise both nights.

Tips to management.

1. close the pool at 10pm (or earlier) and enforce closing time.
2. Sound proof the windows.

If you can't be assured about exterior facing rooms or just don't care about noise, find something else.

Room Tip: Exterior facing unless you like loud pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review! We apologize that your stay was not satisfactory due to the noise from the outdoor pool. The pool does get very busy daily throughout the summer, but we should be accomodating to all of our guests. At the very least, we should have offered to move your room for you. Please feel free to contact me at the hotel if you wish to discuss the details of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Thanks to Jordan, for sending Angel up to delivery trash bags. To Derek, for send "AKA" with blankets and Andrew, for being warm and friendly at that the desk. We appreciated the staying in a clean and comfortable hotel. Via Stephanie Rector

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be sure to pass along your positive feedback to the staff. Please come visit us again when you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Really nice hotel! front desk staff amazing and friendly. Andrew Gruber and the other agent that checking me in on 5/11/13 5pm ish... were very accommodating and professional. The room was great.Shower could be updated, The concierge lounge was well stocked and friendly staff. Pool looked nice but didn't have a chance to enjoy it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for your review! We will be sure to pass along your comments to Andy and the Front Office team. Please visit us again while in the area, and be sure to save some time for our pools!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finger Lakes Wine Country, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Well maintained grounds, attractive to drive up to. Comfy bed, great bed linens/coverings, nice leather chair to sit in for a spell while winding down. Room issues would cause me to chip a half-star off their current rating. My first room was "almost" finished by housekeeping, and it had a very loud A/C fan, the room they offered next had a quiet A/C fan and a shower curtain rod hanging loose on the wall with some mold like discoloration in the tub caulking. Arriving late I was too-tired to hike all the way back to reception to try for room three. It's an older property yet smells fresh throughout. Some wear and tear evident as might be expected for the properties age. Good location, plaza shopping and the big mall are within easy reach. Breakfast is not included, there is a full service restaurant and bar however. Great looking pool (viewed from three stories above). If the occasion arose I'd try them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, aside from some of the room issues you commented on. We have begun some public space renovations, and when finished, we will begin our guest room renovations. We hope you will visit us again to see what improvements we are making for our guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I stayed here a few years ago and came back again for my daughter's cheerleading competition in April. Got a good rate and Sheraton took care of my request for a crib in the room. Front desk staff was personable and friendly upon arrival. I enjoy Starwood properties because of the comfortable beds.

The Pros
*Sheraton beds - best in the business. You will sleep great!
*Water pressure in the shower was refreshing
*Marketplace/gift shop that was open 24 hrs. Last Time I came it was in 'guest room' literally, now its spacious and there is a nice selection
*Room service is somewhat expensive but I didn't feel overly price-gouged like I might at other hotels. Kid meals were reasonably priced. The food quality...average (see Cons)
*Having an indoor pool on-site

Cons
*The double sofa bed that was advertised as a "King + Double Sofabed" was nowhere close to a double. When you open it up It was a twin mattress. No way that thing sleeps 2 small children. Should've kept my room with 2 doubles.
*Hotel can use a refresh. You can tell this hotel sees its fair share of traffic. Elevator had rubber protective covers in the doors pealing off. Exposed fixtures in certain areas.
*Pool was freezing
*Food from room service was average. Some of us made out okay, but avoid the pizza.
*This might not be entirely on the hotel, but there were groups of other cheer teams here and the parents let their kids run wild in the hallways...screaming and yelling at all hours, knocking on doors, slamming doors, tumbling in the hallways. Realize its hard for a hotel to stop it so I didn't go the route of calling the front desk. Just yelled at a few parents to pay attention to their kids and to actually 'watch' them and teach them respect for others, especially in a hotel environment. If there is a group called "The Cheer House" staying in your hotel (and on your floor), ask the front desk for a higher floor.

So if you can look past some of the wear & tear in the common areas, and you want a friendly staff and a clean, comfortable bed, close to Hershey attractions, this place won't disappoint you.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'double sofa' option if you need it to sleep 2 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us again and for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed our Sheraton Sweet Sleepers and the other amenities we offer here. We will use your feedback to help improve our property. We look forward to seeing you again when you're in Harrisburg!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncy PA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There was a lot going on at the hotel over the weekend, but it was spread out so nicely and everyone was able to have their own space. The pool is lovely. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but good. Parking was plentiful and the location is ideal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGMSheraton, General Manager at Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for your review! We are happy that you enjoyed your time with us, and that you were able to take advantage of the nice weather and use our pools. Please come visit again when you find yourself in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey

Address: 4650 Lindle Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 348
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Harrisburg Hershey Hotel's central location is just minutes away from downtown, the airport, and Hersheypark with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.