We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for an extended stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4751 Lindle Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice place for an extended stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Love this place. Here for two weeks on military duty and this hotel has all you need. Two pools, hot tub, bar and the friendliest staff I have ever met. It shows they love their job. On a personal note, I came back to my room today to find the clothes I left on the floor in my haste to get to the base were neatly folded and on the bed. That put the personal touch on it ,( My wife doesn't even do that!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
We value your feedback and appreciate that you took the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. With all our amenities, size of our guestrooms and incredible service friendly staff; we have the perfect design for an extended stay guest. We’re pleased to hear the personal touch provided by our room attendant was a pleasant surprise.

Thank you for serving our country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    195
    90
    56
    32
See reviews for
366
61
47
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
O'Fallon, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are clean but in need of upkeep. For the money it's not bad.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us your view of the recent stay you had with us. Friendly staff, clean guestrooms and good value are all very important core service standards to us, and we’re pleased to hear you felt comfortable with your accommodations. I will review your upkeep comment with the appropriate departments to ensure we continue to maintain high standards in accordance with our daily room inspection checklist.

We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Great service from the time we arrived to the time we checked out. All of our requests were resolved immediately (additional towels, roll away beds). Jamell, Corrinne and Keslie are super friendly and go beyond their job to accommodate guests.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vh34, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thanks for sharing with us how much you enjoyed the service we provided. We’re grateful for your business, and truly appreciate when our guests let us know what a difference we make when they stay with us. We understand the various lodging options you have when travelling, so we have a “whatever it takes” attitude to ensure your visit is great. I will be sure to let Jamelle, Corinne and Keslie know what a positive experience you had as a result of their service.

We hope to see you back with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

#1 in service as soon as you walk in the front door Jamell and Jamie are super friendly and go beyond their job to accommodate guests. If all the Holiday Inn are like this IM SOLD on the franchise. Please keep hiring great people that like and appreciate what they do!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for acknowledging the great service provided by Jamelle and Jaimee. We are always very happy when a guest lets us know about the wonderful service they have received. I will make sure they know what a great job they have done, and also ensure they are recognized for their efforts.

Thanks again for your kind words. We appreciate your business and hope to have you as a guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, FL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We tried to check in to the hotel at 5PM and were told we would have to wait for a bit. The gentleman at the front desk was very nice and accomodating (Jamelle). He offered free drink coupons and a room upgrade for the inconvenience. The female manager (Jamie) was not so friendly. The hotel is in need of new carpets but overall a good stay for the money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. My apology for the delay during check-in, as it’s our goal to accommodate our guests as quickly and efficiently as possible. We appreciate the kind words regarding the service recovery provided by Jamelle. I will sit down with Jaimee to discuss your comments so we can identify opportunities to avoid any future perceptions. We are addressing the carpets by shampooing them on a daily basis, and will continue to do so going forward.

Thanks again for your feedback. We appreciate your business and hope to have you as a guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We came with the family to Hershey Park. We stayed in this hotel once before, and had a so so experience, although all issues were resolved at that time! They promised that the next time we'd come they would make sure that everything would be perfect . We did come back to this hotel, because we knew they would keep their word -and true to their words, our stay this time was superb! Firstly the staff is super friendly....from the front desk employees, to the room service staff, to the housekeeping staff. We personally got to know Mr. Randy Stuart, the general manager! He was the one to see that our stay would be perfect, and he's a real down to earth person you can 'really' speak to! Usually the managers are unavailable,and nothing is ever taken care of! He was a pleasure to deal with !! When we come to Hershey again, this is definitely the place where we will stay, and we have already recommended this hotel to our friends, going to Hershey! The hotel is close to Hershey Park,and to the attractions, and to a 24 Hr Walmart, -which with kids, is always important to have such a store so close by!!!! The pools were fabulous, which we used in the early morning, before heading out for the day, and after we returned from our long day at the parks!! The play area in the outside pool was also loads of fun for the kids! The rooms were comfortable and clean! We requested an adjoining room for our children, and they totally accommodated us!!! But most of all, I must reiterate, that any issues we had were resolved, and Mr. Stuart is willing to work with you,and to please you, to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible!! ALL IN ALL A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE FROM CHECK IN TO CHECK OUT!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Thank you very much for the positive feedback during your most recent visit with us, and for having confidence in the service recovery we provided as a result of your previous stay. We truly value when a customer lets us know where we can improve, and most importantly, gives us the opportunity to do so before they check-out. I can assure you it’s always our goal to consistently provide great service, clean accommodations and superior value. We’re not in the “inconvenience business” and realize sometimes things occur throughout the day that are not our normal high standards, but we do promise to always make it right and take complete ownership in the situation, ensuring our guests leave happy! Your feedback is an example of what we do, and is much appreciated.

Thank you for referring your friends. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I'm starting to doubt TripAdvisor for once, first time I stayed in two hotels according to reviews from Tripadvisor and was disappointed.
This ranked second in harrisburg according to TA. we get into hotel, customer service was smiling and very accomodating, probably that's where the good stuff ends. Then to the room, first thing, the room stinks, second, the room has dead bugs on the floor. the carpets looks wore down and the AC was unusable. The hotel was jam packed, so they have enough business, but the room needs a good uplifiting. They had two pools which are nice but didn't get to use them as we were busy in Hershey Park.
Again, not sure what makes this place second in Harrisburg, It was barely acceptable place to come and crash.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to express your views regarding your recent stay. We’re disappointed to hear about the overall condition of your guestroom, and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. You’re correct; we are extremely busy because we have a great reputation for service, cleanliness and comfort, so I’m sorry your visit fell short of our goal. Your comments will be reviewed with the appropriate department to ensure we correct and immediately improve upon.

We value your business and feedback and will continue to strive to make our guests happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East

Address: 4751 Lindle Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111 (Formerly Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#7 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#9 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East 3*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Harrisburg hotel is convenient for travel and vacation. Just minutes from the airport, we offer a complimentary shuttle to make transportation simple. While you're here, explore historic, family-friendly, and exciting attractions around town and beyond. Our hotel near Hershey Park lets you indulge your sweet tooth. History buffs can visit the National Civil War Museum and the Gettysburg Battlefield. We're also near Lancaster, the famous Amish Country. You can experience history, culture, and chocolate here in Harrisburg. If you're coming for business travel, our hotel in Harrisburg contains a 25,000-square-foot meeting facility. We have a state-of-the-art amphitheater along with free Wi-Fi. There's also our restaurant, Season's, a great place to enjoy a productive business lunch or a delicious dinner. For relaxing after your meeting, we have an Olympic-size outdoor pool. We're a pet-friendly hotel, as well, so you can bring the whole family on vacation. With comfortable rooms and convenient features, Red Lion provides the value you need to get local and explore everything Harrisburg has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg East (Airport Area) Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.