We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Harrisburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Harrisburg to your Saves list
Hilton Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One North Second Street, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HersheyPark Package
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Ridge, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this Hotel, New Year's Eve was especially fabulous. The Hilton is located in "Strawberry Square" and only 3 blocks from Amtrak. It's attached to the "Whitaker Center", a science museum and IMAX theater, also to Strawberry Square shopping mall... We met family there and had the best of times. Food is excellent, at midnight the streets close down and there are bands playing and lots of fun for the children. At midnight a "Strawberry" drops from the front of the Hilton and there is a great fireworks display, all in all a great place.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    178
    118
    51
    26
See reviews for
98
74
21
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

You really can't beat the location of the Hilton for business in Harrisburg. If you're meeting state government representatives you're limited to only two hotels right downtown otherwise you have to drive in from a hotel in the outlying areas. Lots of statewide meetings are held at the hotel as well and Hilton does a great job handling meetings of all sizes. Rooms are all well furnished, clean, and comfortable. All are quiet, internet is fast and free, room service is also fast and good quality. I've stayed at quite a few hotels in the area in the last year, but the Hilton is always one of my favorites.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Santa Margarita
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I was in Pennsylvania for business and stayed here for the first time. I am a Hilton honors member, but didn't know what to expect. This property was nice, and the rooms were clean and well decorated. The staff at the front desk was fantastic. I didn't know this at the time, but when I arrived they were having a Miss teen and little miss pennsylvania contest with screaming girls all over the place. In spite of the noise, everything was well runned. The office staff upgraded me to a better room, nice view and I enjoyed myself. I especially liked the Starbucks on the second floor

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

I went to the Harrisburg Hilton for a conference and was only moderately satisfied with the value. Construction in front and the interior is looking tired. The food was okay but our room was very cold. During a presentation I was given an award which when I put down was taken by housekeeping. Apparently housekeeping has now lost it by not following their own rules and returning lost items to lost and found. Hilton response was tough luck. Not sure I would stay here give this incident.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

With two children (7 and 9), I tend to stay away from Hiltons and stay in hotels which has more room and more amenities included in the price of room (breakfast/internet/ parking, such as Homewood Suites). I was pleasantly surprised that all that was included in this property. The reception was friendly and helpful. I was a little disappointed with the room. I was expecting two double beds but ended up with one with a king bed. However, it did have a sofa bed so I did not complain. The room was quite spacious and had a small refrigerator and a microwave in the room. The bathroom was clean. With four family members we requested extra towels and shampoos, this arrived quickly with a smile. As a Hilton Honors gold member I had access to the executive lounge. We only visited it one time for breakfast. We were quite pleased with the quality of the food and the kid friendly service. My 7 yr old spilled her milk and the staff took it in stride. The location is great. It is in downtown. The parking garage is connected through covered walkways to the Hilton and also the Whitaker science center. We did not visit the Whitaker center this trip but visiting Whitaker and staying at this Hilton is something we will likely do in the future.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
altima2008
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
322 helpful votes 322 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Recently stayed at the Hilton Harrisburg for a National American Miss event and i'll be honest don't pay full price for this hotel. If you can get a discounted rate then I would say go for it!

The interior of the hotel is good and some what clean. For the two nights I stayed there the trash cans in the hallway were overflowing with trash. The front counter folks were nice but kinda clueless on where things were in harrisburg. Come on your city is like 3 blocks by 6 blocks, this isn't New York, Chicago or Phila. Hotel only had 3 elevators and they were extremely slow. I got my work out running up and down 10 floors worth of steps!

Enough bashing some positives about this establishment. The rooms were very nice and comfortable, even the roll out bed was comfortable. Guests of the hotel only pay $10 a night for parking(not bad) the garage was attached to hotel and there is a covered walkway to keep you protected from the elements. A very unique little mall was also connected to the Hilton. There was a nice food court on the upper level and a few stores on the lower level. There was a museum connected to the hilton also although I forget what it was.

There are some bars on 2nd street near the hotel also.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phladelphia, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Stayed here two nights...Hershey Park & National Civil War Museum. Clean property & friendly staff. Breakfast buffet was top notch & they happily accomodated our son who has a dairy allergy. Neighborhood is kind of shady, but we felt safe enough to take the short walk to Pennsylvania State Capitol Building which was actually very impressive.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Harrisburg

Address: One North Second Street, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Harrisburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfort at the Hilton Harrisburg hotel, located in the heart of downtown Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and minutes from Hershey, Pennsylvania and Hersheypark. This Harrisburg hotel, just two blocks from the State Capitol Complex, is connected by an enclosed walkway to the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and Strawberry Square, a retail and office complex.Make Hilton your choice among Harrisburg, Pennsylvania hotels and enjoy many practical amenities. Work productively in the business center, fully equipped with all the latest technology. Maintain your work-out schedule in our fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength training equipment, or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool. Relax in a contemporary guest room, suite, or executive room with complimentary WiFi and all the modern amenities. Upgrade to an executive room for incredible views of the Harrisburg skyline and the Susquehanna River, and enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Club with complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.