We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully renovated room highlights the stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Harrisburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Harrisburg to your Saves list
Hilton Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One North Second Street, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HersheyPark Package
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautifully renovated room highlights the stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Only one weekend night in a gorgeous freshly updated room was thoroughly comfortable. Arriving early on a drizzly Saturday afternoon, we asked for an early check-in and we're delighted to receive a complimentary upgrade to a mini-suite. Thanks so much! Very large room, super comfortable bed, lovely decorated and complete with a view of the river.

Kudos to the front desk for their hospitality and friendliness.

As other reviewers have mentioned, parking is a little odd as you park in a public garage around the corner then walk through a little bit of a maze to find the hotel and front desk. Slightly inconvenient. Other observations to note: busy lobby, slow elevators, nice Executive lounge was larger than average, outside seating for the bar was nice for drinks if you can bear the smokers near the front door (yuck).

Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    177
    117
    51
    26
See reviews for
98
73
21
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Painted Post, New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The parking here is a little confusing, I could not find the entrance to the valet parking. Instead I ended up going around the back of the building where I found the Hilton's private parking garage. The need to do a better job with signs to tell you where to park. It was a little awkward to get from the parking garage to the actual hotel- you have to walk through their conference area. They have a Starbucks on the ground level when you leave the parking garage which was a weird location for one.

When I arrived the front desk people were as friendly as they were on the phone. Check in was easy and the lobby was old but beautiful.

The rooms were very nice, and updated. The bathrooms were very modern- and the shower pressure was good and my room was clean.

The location of the Hilton is great, as it is right on second street. When you walk out the lobby it's only a few short steps to the night life. Alot of great places to eat right there in the Strawberry Square area. DO NOT EAT at the Raspberry restaurant in the hotel the food is crap.

The biggest disadvantage is no free breakfast But overall I had a good experience at the Hilton and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Dont eat at the restaurant in the hotel Raspberry's it not good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Good morning,

Thank you for your visit with us back in May and for taking the time to share your experience! The rooms team was happy to know you enjoyed your arrival and guest room experience. I apologize for the challenges you experienced with our restaurant. Our restaurant manager, Stephanie Doulgeris, would appreciate the opportunity to follow up with you further if you have a moment to speak with her directly.
Enjoy the rest of your summer,
Phillip Neiswender
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed for my third time at this hotel for business. Rooms are nice with excellent beds. The lobby is more old school and not set up for sitting. Four old chairs and one old couch overall not inviting to sit and work.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Received an excellent deal from Hilton which included Hotel room, breakfast, parking and tickets for two to Hershey Park. The room was quiet and clean. The breakfast was top notch. Especially the omelets made by Marybel! Hershey park was about 15 minutes away but, hey, when youre from New York, which is about 3 1/2 hours away, whats 15 more minutes? Btw, Hersey park is wonderful. Enjoyed it more that Six Flags or Dorney. I highly recommend going there.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

If you have a reason to be downtown then this is a great place to be. If you're just passing through then there are much more convenient and newer hotels. It has the feel of an outdated giant luxury hotel that has probably been host to many large conventions. Parking garage is in next block. Biggest positive was unique eating establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Convenient to Capitol: yes. The rooms are not up to Hilton standards. Bathrooms need to be redone and thoroughly cleaned. Get a room facing river or it will be dark and depressing. It's the physical property that is bad. The service is fine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night. I checked in late at night and to my surprise the hotel does not have free parking and during the walk from the parking lot to the hotel I felt someone would accost me. The base price of $157 tax incl. did not come with breakfast, I had to pay for water and from the eight floor all I could see was the brick parking lot. What a big disappointment

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Harrisburg

Address: One North Second Street, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Harrisburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfort at the Hilton Harrisburg hotel, located in the heart of downtown Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and minutes from Hershey, Pennsylvania and Hersheypark. This Harrisburg hotel, just two blocks from the State Capitol Complex, is connected by an enclosed walkway to the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and Strawberry Square, a retail and office complex.Make Hilton your choice among Harrisburg, Pennsylvania hotels and enjoy many practical amenities. Work productively in the business center, fully equipped with all the latest technology. Maintain your work-out schedule in our fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength training equipment, or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool. Relax in a contemporary guest room, suite, or executive room with complimentary WiFi and all the modern amenities. Upgrade to an executive room for incredible views of the Harrisburg skyline and the Susquehanna River, and enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Club with complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.