We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service & Restuarants! Rooms not so good! Expect more for the price!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Harrisburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Harrisburg to your Saves list
Hilton Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   One North Second Street, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
HersheyPark Package
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Mansfield, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Service & Restuarants! Rooms not so good! Expect more for the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great people and great service, but the condition of the rooms and furnishing was disappointing. Sheets had holes worn in them. On my last visit the toilet did not flush so they gave me a key to the room next door as they have no maintenance guy overnight. The condition is disappointing given the price and the brand name. Just expect more from Hilton and room was 25% more than nearby high-end hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good morning! Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for taking the time to review your visit. I apologize for the poor condition of your guest room, our housekeeping team has been informed so that we may improve our training and inspection process. Thank you for your positive comment about our great service and restaurants.
We look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    177
    117
    51
    26
See reviews for
98
73
21
278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

From the point of trying to locate the Hilton Harrisburg to my departure on the second day, It was a terrible experience. There are two places in Harrisburg, PA with the address One Second Street; one being across from the post office, and the second being the Hilton Harrisburg. Upon arrival, I was not asked if I was an HHonors member. I had to remind the staff member; all she did was nod and type my number into the computer. I also said I cannot valet park, and must self park only. I said it to her twice, just to make sure. She acknowleged my request, gave me my "self Parking card", and I went on my way. After I checked out, I noticed that she had charged me for the Valet parking rate. My colleagues who did self parking, informed me that they had the self parking rate on their bill. The parking garage is not an easy place to get to. The garage is connected to the Hilton through a common walkway. Upon entering the Hilton, one must walk through the Ballroom area. Oh yes, one has to take two elevators to get to the car in the garage. The entrance for the garage is down a tiny alley. On my second night at the Hilton, an event was underway in the ballroom; there was the challenge of finding a parking spot in the garage. Driving up and down the levels of the garage twice, I finally found a spot on the 7th floor of the garage.

Room Tip: Don't stay at the Hilton Harrisburg
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Good morning, I hope you had a wonderful weekend!
Thank you for your recent visit to the Hilton Harrisburg and for taking the time to review your stay both on TripAdvisor and via the Hilton Survey. I apologize for the poor experience while you were with us. Please expect to be contacted by a member of the Guest Assistance team regarding your Hilton Survey response. In the mean time, if there is anything that we can do for you please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly and ask for the Manager on Duty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night over the weekend. Front desk told us since the EL was closed so she didn't upgrade us to the Executive floor. We had two standard connecting rooms. The room was clean but showed a lot of age. The ceiling in the bathroom was about seven feet high. We had breakfast next morning in the café at the lobby level. The breakfast was free but we had to wait for about one hour for the food (were told there was only one person working in the kitchen).

Room Tip: Parking is $10 per day
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Happy New Year! Thank you for your recent visit to the Hilton Harrisburg and for taking the time to share your experience with us and with others. I apologize for the delay in your breakfast service, our kitchen staffing should not have effect on your dining experience. We begin our guest room renovations later this month, I hope you will stop in for a visit and see the result when we are finished!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel. Visited days before Christmas and it was quite festive. Plent of restaurants within walking distance. Clean rooms with nice amenities. The only downside was the valet took quite some time to retrieve the car.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip N, Manager at Hilton Harrisburg, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and for taking the time to review your visit! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I do apologize for the delay in retrieving your car. I hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Staff are very friendly and professional ..
Room is comfortable with a great 7th floor view..
We had a last minute plan to get out for a few days. We wanted to switch rooms and staff at front desk were attentive and very helpful. Valet was on the ball and also had some handy advice where to go and things to see.
Part of a great stay in this town includes a couple nights at the Hilton

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Having stayed here on business Numerous times over the years, I was pleasantly surprised that the property continues to be well maintained. Parking is convenient and connected to the property. Is secure for a woman traveling alone. Restaurants within the hotel are varied and good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I'm on a 6 month assignment living here so this is my November 2012 review (my first).

Generally, they try and sell themselves on service and so far they are succeeding. The facilities are dated, but getting ready to be remodeled so exactly how they do that without hurting the customer experience will be interesting to report on.

The location is great and the amenities are what is expected of a Hilton, not above expectations mind you. Perhaps the remodel will up their game a bit.

So long as they keep the service level high, and the facilities clean and serviceable, they will have my recommendation. I may not be a professional hotel critic, but I am a Hilton Diamond and living Mon thru Thurs here till May so I'll know alittle something about this hotel.

I will review December next time so keep it up.

-Terrapin '92

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Harrisburg

Address: One North Second Street, GPS Friendly - 200 Market Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Harrisburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in comfort at the Hilton Harrisburg hotel, located in the heart of downtown Harrisburg, Pennsylvania and minutes from Hershey, Pennsylvania and Hersheypark. This Harrisburg hotel, just two blocks from the State Capitol Complex, is connected by an enclosed walkway to the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts and Strawberry Square, a retail and office complex.Make Hilton your choice among Harrisburg, Pennsylvania hotels and enjoy many practical amenities. Work productively in the business center, fully equipped with all the latest technology. Maintain your work-out schedule in our fitness center, featuring state-of-the-art cardiovascular and strength training equipment, or swim laps in the heated indoor swimming pool. Relax in a contemporary guest room, suite, or executive room with complimentary WiFi and all the modern amenities. Upgrade to an executive room for incredible views of the Harrisburg skyline and the Susquehanna River, and enjoy exclusive access to the Executive Club with complimentary breakfast and evening snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hilton Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.