We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
1 review
“great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

excellent place to stay! the rooms were clean. very courteous staff. Brandy was very helpful and made me feel right at home. i would certainly stay here the next time i am in the area and would recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    86
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
91
30
23
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Although this hotel needs an overhaul.... I can cancel out my negative feelings towards housekeeping when Mary, the bartender/gm comes in at 4pm! We have been seeing her during our annual visits, sometimes bi-annual, for the past 8 years for an Irish Dance competition and it's like seeing someone you've known all your life. She spends time chatting with us and catching up on the past year, yet all the while managing crowds in spurts, especially when she is swamped after 9!
She seems to have that certain expertise dealing with any customer, and/or staff!
She is a hidden gift to Holiday Inn. For the most part, we do not look forward to this very intense weekend, encompassed with a very long day in the ballroom, but knowing Mary is working, helps ease the pain! She make my stay worth it!

Sincerely,
Dee Adams

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Dee A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I appreciate your kind words about Mary. Our staff does their utmost to provide you with excellent service and an optimized stay. Therefore we are delighted to hear that you experienced this as such. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed here for two nights with family. The room was clean and comfortable but the rest of the hotel was dirty. The same garbage and debris remained in the hallway near our room door our entire visit. Hallway carpets were noticeably dirty as were the vending and ice machine areas. Pool area was clean. Breakfast was a disaster each morning due partly to the number of people trying eat at the same time- I ate breakfast at 6:30 the second day which was better that at 8:00. Staff was nice enough and accommodating. However, we requested an early check in which is always hit or miss, and had some problems. We called the morning of our arrival date to confirm the early check in and were told that the room was indeed ready and that we could check in anytime we’d like. We told them that we were still travelling but expected to be their around noon and they indicated that would be fine. When we arrived two hours later they did not have a room and were told to go eat lunch. We checked in around 5:00 instead. The elevator is SLOW, we were on the 4th floor and used the stairs most of our visit. For $100 it was OK, but next time I will spend a few more dollars and stay elsewhere

Room Tip: choose a room on the first floor- elevator is slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear MAPAMC,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologized for the issues you have encountered during your stay with us. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We have made the trip from Maine to North Carolina multiple times and stayed at many hotels along the way, but we have a new favorite. This hotel was by far the best in this range for all attributes - services, cleanliness, and accommodations.

The staff clearly know how to take care of the customer and do an excellent job delivering. Check in was quick and efficient.

The hotel is in excellent condition, with a large convenient lobby (multiple computers available for your use) and well designed. The rooms were appointed very well and many conveniences were thought of.

Well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Where do I start? When I checked-in, the young women was totally disengaged. Did I interrupt her nap . My room had a bad musty odor. In the morning, the eggs tasted like a chemistry experiment. The housekeeping staff ignored me. No eye contact. No good morning. Just sulked... And the price was way too high. Oh, the shower worked well. I was amazed

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear WH1000,

Thank you for the review of your stay. We are sorry to hear our staff services did not meet your expectations. We will review with the staff to avoid similar situations in the future. Please accept my apology on this issue. We hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG.

Regards,

Brenda J.
eMedia Coordinator
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The staff was wonderful in getting us checked in and out! Had a minor problem with the bathroom, they took care of it promptly! The breakfast was fine for people with out any food allergies. I have food allergies and struggled to find something to eat other than fruit. More of a family style hotel. No restaurant or bar on premises. Nice size indoor pool. We did not use room service. I did not see any kid activities pre scheduled.

Room Tip: We stayed on the side away from main road. QUIET, restful sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Room was non-smoking, but must have originally been a smoking room, that was not repainted - could still smell lingering smoke. Found a different bug each day in 3 days, cricket, beetles, water bugs.... Hallway carpets are gross. The rooms are dark and dingy - I guess good if you are in a pinch - but would never stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear bokat,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Address: 4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.