We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #24 of 50 hotels in Harrisburg
Bradford, Pennsylvania
1 review
“brad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I read other reviews, and had some concerns. Most of the reviews seemed negative. We had no choice as this was headquarters for the convention. We were pleasantly surprised with our room. Being a Priority Club we were upgraded to a larger room. There were other groups using the facility; wedding and Irish dance Competition. We were not disturbrd, even by the children. I can't comment on the restuarant, as we try to eat at local establisments. We had a lunch and banquet that was not worth what we paid for. But this was set up by the host of the convention.
Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    72
    22
    13
    10
See reviews for
73
27
19
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

The staff here make me feel at home. I'm here once a month at least. Vanessa always finds room for me. Brandy will go out of her way to make sure your taken care of. Even getting me some dinner after a late arrival. You will always have my business when I'm in town. The staff is the best!! My best, Jeff Mitchell

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

When we first checked in we did not use the air conditioner. Later, when we did we noticed a musty odor but did not pay much attention. By the third day we noticed that whenever we spent much time in the room we were having respiratory problems - sneezing, stuffed up sinuses, etc. When we finally complained to the front desk, they sent someone up and changed the filter on the air conditioner. That helped, but did not cure the problem. No one seemed to know if there was a procedure for regular changing of the filters.

In addition, the breakfast room is woefully inadequate. We were there four nights. We were unable to have breakfast at the hotel on three of the mornings. The breakfast room was overflowing with people sitting in the rest area in the lobby and in an adjacent meeting room eating breakfast. Uncontrolled kids running everywhere, We took one look and went out to a diner. So much for the free breakfast.

We have stayed at Holiday Inn Express hotels many times. We have never before had such a bad experience. Will find somewhere else on our next visit to Harrisburg.

Room Tip: If you notice an odd odor when you first enter your room, report it immediately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Dear Dan M,

We appreciate that you took the time to review our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the inconvenience caused you by the air conditioner and the breakfast. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I am a business traveler, and I mostly stay within the Hilton family or IHG family of hotels.I am Gold with both Hilton and IHG and I spent about 30-40 nights each year in a hotel room, so I definitely have my fair shares of hotel experiences, the good, the bad and the ugly.
Front Desk Experience: Staffs are very nice, can’t complaint here. Vanessa is always there, and she checks people in and out efficiently and friendly. They have a large basket of cookies at check in, make sure to grab one, they are very good!

Rooms: Ok, this is the tricky part. For the most part, the rooms are just OK. They are not better or worth than other Holiday Inn express, but definitely trail behind most Hilton’s property. Room size is on the average side, if you have a double bed room, there is not a lot of sitting room left, but a King room is a good bet. I have probably stayed here over 10 nights, in 10 different rooms. Some rooms are ok, but some room could really need some TLC. On a recent visit, the room had a list of problem, some of them included dirty/ripped carpet, missing cabinet knobs, remote did not back cover, and chair arm is extremely loose and needs to be tightened. And the biggest wonder, and I have never seen this at any other hotels, exposed wiring running from under the desk to the window AC unit, not tucked in, just on the carpet and it’s very loose, so someone could trip over it. This is a hazard, and should be addressed. The big problem I see is since this is a big hotel, and it’s a big place to maintain, but they really should spend a little more time in the rooms and checking the rooms on a consistent base and conduct quality assurance. They have nice amenities in the room, like mini-fridge and microwave, and good looking furniture, but the missing knobs on the nice furniture clearly shows that they lack attention to detail when checking the rooms, especially if the knobs are just right inside the drawers, and all they have to do is to put it back on! This hotel offers free Wifi in the rooms, the connection is rather good! The workout room needs an upgrade; most Hilton property has redone their exercise room with new Precor equipment. It has a treadmill, an elliptical and a bike.


Breakfast: Always good at Holiday Inn Express, they mostly serve the same things. The famous cinn rolls, an egg dish, a meat dish, biscuit and gravy, fruit, cereal/milk and couple other things.

Overall: Most time I visit this Holiday Inn Express, I have no problems, and it’s good. If I do run into issue, its room related. This hotel has great staff, average rooms and good breakfast. It’s a great value in the area, recommended, but if you have issues with your room, make sure to let the front desk know, so that they can correct it.

Room Tip: If you are not happy about your room, make sure to speak up so they know. If you don't say anyt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a treat to check-in go up to the room and find the air conditioner on and cooling the room. The check-in was great andfast. The rooms were clean and the pillows and bedding were soft, clean and cotton. In fact, the room was set for sleep and we slept well both nights that we were there. The breakfast offered was limited not only in choices but quantity. The coffee was a little to weak for my taste. The outdoor pool was CLEAN and inviting after a long hot day at Hershey Park. I feel that the Holiday Inn Express was a clean hotel that offered a peaceful night sleep for a decnt rate.

Room Tip: rooms on the 5th floor had king size beds and looked out of the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After an 11 hour drive, we were tired and ready to rest. We easily found the hotel. Its a very convenient location. My first impression of the lobby was good, It was modern and bright. I found the person behind the desk business like and certainly not warm and friendly. There is only 1 elevator, making your wait long. Walking along the hallway I saw wear and tear and scuffs on the wall. The carpet needed a good vacuum. Beside the door of our room was a cot that remained there during our visit. The room smelled musty and smoky. There was no luggage rack in our room. I was too tired to call the front desk. I obtained a good price on Hotwire and I am thankful I did not pay the standard rate. The breakfast menu did not suit our tastes . The main meal of the day was hot biscuits, sausage and gravy, cinnamon rolls, and your assorted bagels and toast. We quickly returned to our room, grabbed our luggage and packed our vehicle and headed to Mcdonald's which was located next to the hotel. The next time we need to stay in Harrisburg I will be choosing another hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear cinders88,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

We hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this hotel with Priceline, and did not know what to expect. What we found was a great little hotel, with lots of amenities. Staff greeted us with a smile, and offered us chocolate chip cookies, nice touch! We found our room to be nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. After 5 hours of driving, a dip in the outdoor pool was wonderful !! Another nice feature of the hotel is free wifi in our room, and complimentary breakfast the next morning. All in all, we found this property to be excellent, and would consider Holiday Inn Express in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn
Address: 4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 50 hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.