We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 miles from Hershey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Holbrook, New York, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“10 miles from Hershey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a treat to check-in go up to the room and find the air conditioner on and cooling the room. The check-in was great andfast. The rooms were clean and the pillows and bedding were soft, clean and cotton. In fact, the room was set for sleep and we slept well both nights that we were there. The breakfast offered was limited not only in choices but quantity. The coffee was a little to weak for my taste. The outdoor pool was CLEAN and inviting after a long hot day at Hershey Park. I feel that the Holiday Inn Express was a clean hotel that offered a peaceful night sleep for a decnt rate.

Room Tip: rooms on the 5th floor had king size beds and looked out of the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    90
    30
    17
    12
See reviews for
95
33
24
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

After an 11 hour drive, we were tired and ready to rest. We easily found the hotel. Its a very convenient location. My first impression of the lobby was good, It was modern and bright. I found the person behind the desk business like and certainly not warm and friendly. There is only 1 elevator, making your wait long. Walking along the hallway I saw wear and tear and scuffs on the wall. The carpet needed a good vacuum. Beside the door of our room was a cot that remained there during our visit. The room smelled musty and smoky. There was no luggage rack in our room. I was too tired to call the front desk. I obtained a good price on Hotwire and I am thankful I did not pay the standard rate. The breakfast menu did not suit our tastes . The main meal of the day was hot biscuits, sausage and gravy, cinnamon rolls, and your assorted bagels and toast. We quickly returned to our room, grabbed our luggage and packed our vehicle and headed to Mcdonald's which was located next to the hotel. The next time we need to stay in Harrisburg I will be choosing another hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear cinders88,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a detailed review. We are very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We just want to assure you that our Hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We apologize that we fell below your expectations on this particular day.

We hope you decide to give us another chance for a future stay.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We booked this hotel with Priceline, and did not know what to expect. What we found was a great little hotel, with lots of amenities. Staff greeted us with a smile, and offered us chocolate chip cookies, nice touch! We found our room to be nicely decorated and exceptionally clean. After 5 hours of driving, a dip in the outdoor pool was wonderful !! Another nice feature of the hotel is free wifi in our room, and complimentary breakfast the next morning. All in all, we found this property to be excellent, and would consider Holiday Inn Express in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio USA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Picked this hotel for a last minute trip for Corvettes at Carlisle. Very pleased. Plan on staying here for next years trip. Property was clean, staff was pleasant, accommodations could not have been better for my three day stay. Accessibility to highway is primo. Found our new mainstay for Carlisle.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here on 8/25/2012 following a day at Hershey Park. I had booked via Hotwire.com and as usual I was not disappointed! The hotel is apx. 11 miles from the park and is an easy drive. We arrived late and were greeted with a smile and cookies! Our room had two queen beds which was perfect for my husband, myself, our young daughter and her little friend. Very clean, lots of space and even a small built in refrigerator. Breakfast was offered and with all the families it was crazy busy but the young lady working the area busted her butt to to keep up. I would certainly stay here again! Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

After using Expedia to book a room for our stay in Lancaster, PA we arrived at America's Best Value Inn in Lancaster to an absolutly horrible hotel. The staff member there was unhelpul, and barely spoke english, he hand wrote my credit card number on a blank piece of paper and then when we walked into our room we found stained and burned sheets and blankets, flys swarming the room, and the bed was held up by 2x4's. We called several hotels in the surrounding area and luckly this hotel had 1 room left. Scottie whom we spoke with on the phone was extremly helpful and sympathetic and even though we had to drive 30 miles back in the direction we had already come we booked a room. We didn't arrive till 3 am, but he was absoltutly wonderful! He got us checked in quickly to a room that was very clean, nice and worth the wait we had to find it,.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rural NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Picked this because it was close to RT. 81 and wasn't disappointed! Enjoyed our overnight stay- everyone was friendly and helpful, room neat, clean, and bed was comfortable. Outdoor pool was clean and refreshing on a hot summer's night! Within walking distance of several restaurants. Will stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East

Address: 4021 Union Deposit Road, Harrisburg, PA 17109
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is perfect for both business and leisure travelers with easy access to the Pennsylvania Turnpike, I-83, I-283, and I-78. Nestled among major corporations such as Phoenix, Contact, Tyco, Highmark Blue Shield, UPS, Pepsi and Sysco, the Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is conveniently located 5 miles from the Pennsylvania State Capital and just 4 miles from downtown Harrisburg. It is easy to plan a family fun day in Historic Gettysburg, beautiful Lancaster or charming Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Make a sweet ending by visiting Hershey Park. The Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East is also close to Harrisburg International Airport (12 miles), the National Civil War Museum, the GIANT Center sports venue and Carlisle Events. Complete your day with all the comforts of this Harrisburg hotel while enjoying your favorite snack and drink from the hotel s market. Surf the Internet free with wireless access. All our guest rooms are fully equipped with plenty of work space to spread out and make your trip a success. Every day starts out complimentary with the Express Start breakfast. We look forward to you experiencing a warm welcome to our new Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East. See you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Holiday Inn Harrisburg
Comfort Inn Harrisburg
Harrisburg Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.