We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat neighborhood gem, food was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop
236 Peffer St, Harrisburg, PA 17102-2112
717-238-1999
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 462 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Harrisburg, PA
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Neat neighborhood gem, food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Cool little neighborhood restaurant - actually pretty awesome. Small and cramped but I sort of think that was part of the charm. Matter of fact we sat down at a table with 2 strangers since it was the only avail seats - they didn't seem to care and we didn't, met two new friends and everyone in there seemed to be like that. I kept hearing how great the food is so I had the stuffed meatball - gross, I thought it was stuffed with cheese but it turns out there was a ham like thing in there too. Flavor was not that great and left a metallic flavor. Pasta was ok but bland. I sure wish we got desserts as they looked terrific. I definitely would go back as the atmosphere was so intriguing. I'd try something else, maybe the pizza which looked terrific. My dining friend also had the meatball and had worse things to say than aforementioned.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    5
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Can't wait to get back here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Love this place. Good location, nice family running it, and good food all around. I had a 3 cheese tortellini with cream sauce with a side of sausage and sweet peppers. The lunch came with a large pc. of bread. Prices are very reasonable. I finished with an espresso and baklava.
I will return when I'm in the H'burg.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manheim
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

A simple place with the most incredible homemade Italian food! People were very interesting, friendly and I formative. We had a most wonderful visit. I would recommend this place to anyone who enjoys good homemade Italian food!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cute little cafe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I'm always surprised when I find a new treasure in the Harrisburg neighborhood. This delightful pastry shop serves delicious lunches as well as tasty desserts and gelato. I had the chicken Parmesan sandwich on their handmade bread and my husband enjoyed a platter of meatballs and broad beans. It was so peaceful to sit out at a table in the shade on this quiet street. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We've been here many times. We've never had a bad experience. Everything is fresh. They always have a smile to share. The cookies are delicious as well as the homemade gelato. They are always making updates to the restaurant. Very clean. Just a great local place with delicious food.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop also viewed

 

Been to Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alvaro Bread & Pastry Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.