We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brought back old memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jackson House

Jackson House
1004 N 6th St, Harrisburg, PA 17102-1401
717-238-2730
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 462 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Brought back old memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We didn't eat in the Resturant, our son works in Harrisburg & brought subs home for us tonight for dinner. I went to school at Harrisburg Hospital in 1970's & we used to frequent the Lagoon sub shop. We had the Lagoon Sub & it brought back memories of times past. They have it right on! We've never found a place that compared to those & looks like they brought them back to life. Glad I have family working there or we would have to drive 1.5 hrs to get our fix! Great job!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    7
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Not much more to say that what the other reviewers have said. The sandwiches are excellent, the service is excellent, the price - outstanding. I had a hogie today and plan to go back tomorrow for a Philly Cheesesteak. The friendliness and homey feel is a big plus.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My friends and I have been going here for years. The food never disappoints. Personally, I have yet to get anything other than the Jackson Burger because it is just too good to pass up, but I have tasted other sandwiches and they are just as satisfying. Get here before 11:45ish and you'll be golden with hardly any line.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklinton, North Carolina
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best Subs, Cheesesteaks and Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you want an outstanding sub, cheesesteak or burger this is the place to go. Rolls are always fresh, delivered daily and the burgers are made to order. The New Yorker and Bada Bing are my favorite subs. The 9th and Washington Cheesesteak can't be beat. If you don't want to wait, don't arrive between 11:30 and 12:30. Lines are always long and not much seating. Also, if you are looking for good customer service, don't expect it here. They definitely don't act like the customer is their priority.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good subs, no swearing please”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Friends told us about Jackson House was the go to place for good subs for the road (or anywhere for that matter) and they were right. They were really busy, ran out of burgers, their seeded?? sub roll, ours was on a regular italian roll as a result. It was good but we could have done without all the swearing. Not having enough bacon cooked really inflamed the grill man and he had no problem using many foul expletives to let everyone know. Our food was already ordered and paid for. Had that not been the case, we would not have ordered just because our food doesn't need the extra "spice".

Not sure if we'll return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jackson House also viewed

 

Been to Jackson House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jackson House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.