We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Farm Aid 2012” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3943 TecPort Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweethearts Getaway
Ranked #4 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Wattsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Farm Aid 2012”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was the designated hotel for concert volunteers. What a great choice. Very nice rooms complete with microwave and fridge and VERY comfortable beds with luxurious bedding. Hotel staff friendly and accomodating. Nice bar/ restaurant area in the beautiful lobby with good food, not too pricey. Coffee always available and station well stocked. Rooms very clean, nice flat screen TV, free wifi and 2 computers for use in the business center. Great hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Cheflynn 50,
Thanks for taking valuable time to tell us of your positive experience, at our Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, during Farm Aid.
I will pass along your comments to our Team who really appreciate knowing their focus on guest satisfaction is noticed. Farm Aid is a wonderful cause and we appreciate your efforts!!
On your next trip to our hotel please ask me, as I would like personally like to thank you for your business and service to our farming community!
Bill Duffy
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
JD Power Award Winner
william.duffy@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    111
    25
    5
    6
See reviews for
130
56
31
111
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here when we went to the Camping Expo @ Hershey Park. Great location!! We arrived on a Friday evening, (1st time visit). Very close to the mall, plenty of restaurants. We ate @ the hotel to try something different and it was really good. I was surprised for being Hotel Food. Someone next to us got the dessert, would not recommend that looked average. We had a King room, everyone was friendly, fresh cookies @ check in. Pool open until 10pm, Laundry available, did not use it. Right off I-83 Would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Beds were comfy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Franc 107,

Thank you for telling us of your excellent experience, at our Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, recently.

I will pass along your comments to our Team, and our chef, who really appreciate knowing their focus on guest satisfaction is noticed. We just rolled out a newer evening menu featuring today's trends and our made from scratch pizza that families love!
Many customers use us to visit nearby Bass Pro Shops, Gettysburg, Lancaster and Hershey Park.
On your next trip to our hotel please ask me, as I would like personally like to thank you for your business!
Warm regards,
Bill Duffy
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
JD Power Award Winner
william.duffy@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had a party of six adults spanning 3 generations. We had two connecting rooms on the 4th floor. Hotel is close to I83 and near several restaurants. Clean, quiet, and well lit parking lot. Definitely a place I'll stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Tapdancer 618,

We appreciate your family's business and letting us know about your positive experience, at our Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, recently.
Our two pools(indoor & outdoor), spa Jacuzzi and our endless TV programming list makes for a fun time for the children. Nearby Hershey Park, Lancaster and Bass Pro Shops and all the restaurants with-in walking distance compliment our family appeal.
On your next trip to our hotel please ask for me, as I would like to personally thank you for your business!
Warm regards,
Bill Duffy
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
JD Power Award Winner
william.duffy@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed here during a trip to Hersheypark. Located about 15-20 mins away from the park. Easy to get to.

The hotel had friendly staff who welcomed us when we checked in at 1130 PM. The lobby was clean. We parked out back by the pool and had easy access to the elevator. The hotel pool looked nice but we did not use it.

Out double bed room was decent in size. The bathroom was good sized. The furniture in the room was worn and dated. Needs to be replaced. The sheets also looked worn out and were thinning in some places. Also, when you make a reservation for 4 people, why would they only provide 3 bath towels? At that late hour of night we did not bother to wait for an extra towel. Only 3 of 4 of us showered before bed. We asked for the extra towel in the morning - took about 20 mins. The fridge in the room is a great perk but it makes a lot of noise.

The carpets in the hallway were wet - not people walked up from the pool wet but the entire carpet was wet. Did not ask for an explanation.

We did not have the breakfast for $12.95/person.

If I come to this area again, I will consider an alternate hotel.

Room Tip: Aside from the Hilton nonrefundable 7 day in advance purchase rate, the AAA rate was very good and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill D, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Dewey.Nikhu,

Thank you for telling us of your experience, at our Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, while visiting Hershey Park this past season.
As the new General Manager our whole team is focused on providing a positive 4 or 5 star experience, not just a 3 star. We do have attractive rate discounts and packages on line. I draw your attention though, to our Bed & Breakfast packages on line which would save a lot more. Our standard is to have four towels in every room. When you make reservations you can even request more, and they will be in your room upon arrival. I regret that we shorted you a towel and the furniture had scratches or dents in your room. We are only 6 years old but we have a preventive maintenance program going forward that addresses those physical issues. The wet carpet was from an adjacent guest room overflow. I regret it was not vacuumed before your experience.

I truly hope you will visit us on your next Hershey Park trip. Please email me, as I would like to personally make your next reservation and to insure our normal 4-5 star experience.

Kind regards,
Bill Duffy
General Manager
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
JD Power Award Winner
william.duffy@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed there for a few days in August to go to Hershey park It was a nice stay and great value only 15 mins from Hershey park with queen size beds . I would definitely go back here over many of the hotels we saw, it's a safe bet in Hershey

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This hotel was OK but subpar in my realm of experience with Hilton Garden Inns. My cohort and I smelled "fresh-baked" cookies as soon as we checked in, but the ones on the counter seemed old and cold and not there "all the time." The "cooked" breakfast was not worth the $13 it cost and the wait staff seemed disoriented and disinterested, as in no "Good morning" but "Do you know what you want ?" !!??? We went to the local diner for breakfast next morning. The evening lady bartender was nice enough though and we sat outside on the patio since the weather was nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Ridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Been to a lot of Hilton Garden Inn's and this one didn't disappoint with some exceptions to lack of detail during breakfast. The good: great location for pleasure (in Harrisburg and only 15 min from Hershey attractions), comfortable, clean, and accommodating. I can't give this 5 stars though because for breakfast, too many missed details. There was only 2 other tables the waitress was waiting on. We gave the waitress our order who was writing it down. To make a long story short, she forgot my OJ, my bacon, and my wife's request for no cheese in her omelette. Its just too many missed items especially after she was writing it down too. I wasn't really annoyed by it because since I'm a Hilton Gold member, breakfast is free. But if I was paying the $12.95 per person, then yeah I would've been annoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East

Address: 3943 TecPort Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#6 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#10 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East hotel is conveniently located only 8 miles from Hershey Park Theme Park and all Hershey attractions, including Hershey's Chocolate World, Hershey's Giant Center, Penn State Hershey Medical Center, and Hershey Gardens. Experience Downtown Harrisburg only 5 miles away! Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East is a hop, skip and a jump away from The Harrisburg East Mall and The Bass Pro Shop. A short drive will lead you to many exciting locations such as Gettysburg Battlefields, and the beautiful Lancaster, Pennsylvania Dutch Country. Located in TecPort Business Park Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East offers friendly service, deluxe accommodations, complimentary shuttle service to and from Harrisburg International Airport and a relaxed atmosphere for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East Hotel Harrisburg
Harrisburg Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.