We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect place along our drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“A perfect place along our drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We chose this hotel because it was just over half-way home for us, coming back from Vermont to Virginia. As always, the hotel was clean and the staff was welcoming. We had trouble getting wi-fi in our room, so one of the staff members set up a hot spot in a nearby empty room. When that still didn't work, they brought the hot-spot into our room. Because we'd had this problem, we got a nice note from the management, along with a big Hersey bar! How sweet (in both senses of the word). I was surprised that it was a little noisy, in that I could hear people in the hallways and in the next room, but it didn't last long. The air conditioning was a little noisy, but it covered any noises from the next room so it wasn't too bad! The hotel had a list of nearby restaurants which was very helpful, though we really used the Trip Advisor app to find a good one nearby. The bed was very comfortable and I got a great night's rest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with! I apologize for the issues you experienced with the WIFI and noise, but I am happy that both were resolved quickly. I hope that next time you make the long drive from Vermont to Virginia that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    83
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
27
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were passing through Harrisburg on our way home and stopped at this Courtyard as it was convenient to I-83. Generally, it is what you expect from a Courtyard, and I say that in praise, not complaint. The room was nice and very clean. It was very dark at night, which I like. There was some noise from an adjacent room, but that did not last very long and was not an issue. Actually, a few days earlier we had stayed at a different Courtyard on our outbound trip, and the room was almost identical is size, configuration, and fixtures.

In short, at this Courtyard, we got exactly what we wanted. It was a clean room, well equipped, with nothing unusual or out of the ordinary. When you are spending a lot of time driving and are tired, that is what we wanted.

One unusual thing was that when we got to our room, we could not connect to the wi-fi network. After talking to their tech support, they came up and verified we did not get a usable signal. then, in stead of just saying they were sorry, they brought up a portable wi-fi hot spot. It did not work well when placed in a nearby room, so they put it in our room. That worked perfectly, and we had a very strong signal for the duration of our stay. Later, they slipped a letter under our door apologizing for the lack of wi-fi service and including a Hershey bar as part of the apology. We thought that was cute.

Bottom line is that you can rely on a Courtyard for a decent room and good service. This room proved that rule one more time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay at! I am sorry to hear that you had issues with your WIFI service, however; I am happy that we could get you a personal hot spot connection to resolve the issue. I hope that you enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Location: About 15 minutes away from Hershey Park.
Check In/Out: Quite fast. No complaints.
Facilities: We found this hotel to be better than the discount versions in the Marriott chain. There are two elevators, not just one pokey elevator. There is more comfort and service with more staff on duty. For example, there was a security guard in the lobby on Saturday, and there was more than one desk clerk on duty and staff at the lobby restaurant. There is a small pool which we did not try. There is a patio area out back which guests can also use to dine outside. Free wi-fi in the hotel.
Food: Contrary to other discount Marriotts which offer the free breakfast zoo, this was a paid lobby 'restaurant' which offered a very good mix of reasonably priced breakfast choices and items for dinner (no lunch offerings at the time). Even though seating is limited, you can order and take out back to your room. You get a number to display and they bring your take-out bag to you while you wait in the lobby. We tried the breakfast once and a snack and it was fine. My only suggestion is that they clean vacant tables more frequently.
Welcome Touches: On Friday and Saturday, there was make your own s'mores in the lobby between 8 and 9PM. There was also movie night set up in one of the conference rooms for children with free popcorn in the lobby which is nice (although it does not really start on time).
Rooms: We found the hotel to be very quiet. It was due more to the consideration of the other guests at that time than the actual hotel construciton, but this was a restful stay. I would only caution that rooms near the elevator or rooms with ajoining rooms might hear more because the doors do little to suppress noise even though they appear solid. The only distraction was that the HVAC unit built into the wall was quite loud.
Overall: We have found there is no significant advantage to stay in Hershey and absorb the extra cost of a hotel closer to the Park because none of the hotels are close enough that you do not need your vehicle. If you have to drive anyway, what is an extra 10 minutes to stay in a better class of hotel that has lower rates? We found that service and comfort was better at this location than our other Hershey hotel stays.

Green Features: The hotel could improve by offering recycling recepticles in rooms and the lobby. In today's day and age, almost anything can be recycled. There is no reason why water is the only focus of conservation.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback on our property! I am happy that you found the hotel convenient in your travels to Hershey! Thank you for your suggestions on recycling! I hope that your family had a great time at the park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

On our way back from Cooperstown, we decided to go on a last minute trip to Hershey Park. Calling around last minute of hotels in the Hershey area, I was getting outrageous price quotes - to include some of the other Marriott affiliated hotels. But then I got a friendly reservationist at one of the Marriott hotels who was completely booked. She said she could look around for other hotels in the area that had rooms available AND at a military rate. She immediately found this hotel and we booked it! Hotel is a typical Courtyard Marriott with comfortable rooms. The only complaint is that their WIFI was non existent. I even called the front desk to ask for assistance; the gentlemen said he would get back to me on the new password - never heard back from him, so I was unable to do work in my room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad that we had availability for your stay with us! I apologize that the Internet was not working well. We are currently upgrading our Internet, so that all guests can have consistent and fast Internet. I hope that you will considering stay with us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater Park, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night for a weekend trip to Hershey Park. Location is right off of I-276 and is clearly the nicest hotel in the area. The local motels and Sleep Inn's are nothing but truck stops. About a 10-15 min. drive to Hershey Park. Value is great for the $ and staff was very welcoming. Fast check in/out. Rooms were typical Courtyard and spacious enough for a nights stay. Lobby seems to be newly renovated, with a lounge area and breakfast/bistro which has multiple offerings depending on the day. Would stay here again to visit Hershey Park!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I am delighted to hear that you found your stay with us to be excellent! We look forward to seeing you when you return to the park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithtown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Great hotel close to Hershey park! Rooms were clean and suited us. I would stay again! The only issue was the pool was quite small. No big deal for us as we didn't use it, but was surprised to see how small it was.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I am happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable! Please visit us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, Maryland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

My family and I stayed here during the Memorial day weekend and were pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the local area. Because I have a toddler, I wanted to dine at a more family friendly restaurant and the hotel staff were able to give us various restaurants that were local that were kid friendly. We also took our kids to the pool and, while it's not the biggest, they loved it.
The only downfall was the "cafe". I've stayed at other Courtyard with a wider selection/variety at the cafe.
I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to the Harrisburg, PA area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay! Although most of the main choices at the Bistro stay the same, we do offer special seasonal promotions every few months, as something new and different for our guests to try! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Have a great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 725 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#17 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 18, 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Marriott Harrisburg
Harrisburg Marriott
Harrisburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.