We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3.5 rating, but a solid choice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Mobile Check-In
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“3.5 rating, but a solid choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed in a lot properties and the Courtyard chain has always been a favorite. So, when we visited Harrisburg we opted for the Courtyard. My review of this property is comparing it to other Courtyard's and my expectations of the chain.

First, the positive. The location is fine (other than navigating the squirrelly interchange system in Harrisburg). The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The common areas seemed to be well maintained. This property has the updated layout and the courtyard in the back. There are a few things close, but driving for amenities is the preferred travel method.

With that being said, there is something that is missing from this Courtyard property. There was nothing horrible about the room, but our room was smaller than most of the others in the chain. The bed was decidedly more worn out on one side. The ironing board had no pad under the cover which resulted in sharp metal edges poking up. The pillows were iffy and the towels a bit thin. Nothing horrendous, but not what you expect from this chain. Many travelers may not have even noticed, but these things are not what you usually have from a Courtyard.

The one thing that really made us wonder was the fact there was an armed security guard in the lobby on both a Friday and Saturday night. I inquired about the guard and was told it was because they have so many families and groups that stay, it is a way to keep order in the hotel. Essentially saying they have had an issue with parents/chaperones letting kids run wild.

Would I stay again - I definitely would consider with price being a driving factor. There is nothing offensive about the property and it is still far better than many properties.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulldog82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Checked in for one night. Room was very clean, comfortable, well-designed, and quiet. Staff was excellent - friendly and very helpful (Darryl (I believe) when we checked in and the Sunday morning barista at the Bistro). The Bistro was great - food was good, service was great. Centrally located and easy to find your way around. Would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawkeykids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is our 3rd stay on this property. The staff is very nice. Check-in was super easy. Our room was very clean too. The new lobby looks great. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is the hot tub in the pool area has been turned into a planter. In the past, the spouse and I enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub while the kids played in the indoor pool. So sorry the hot tub is closed now. However, it's not enough to deter us from staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank frozenpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here for one evening.

The location is near lots of restaurants, gas stations, etc.

The lobby is new, clean, large, and functional for work or just having a coffee.

The rooms have been renovated and are comfortable.

The gentlemen who checked us in was very helpful, even sending faxes for me.

While we did not eat there, it looked fresh, clean, and inviting.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithAHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

A + service all around. Very clean room. You just can't go wrong when you choose Courtyard marriot. I have been to several amd they nail it. I especially Love the healthy choices for breakfast and that you can get your Starbucks coffee on your way out the door and save yourself that extra stop.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnahan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stay at this hotel all the time for work and it is top notch. Staff is so friendly & welcoming. Rooms are clean and well taken care of. Hotel is even better with the new Bistro and the staff there is wonderful as well. Love that theyhave Starbucks now too. Convenient Location for business and many restaurants & shops nearby. Target right acorss the street and Leeds restaurant across the street is so great. Highly recco this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itravelbee38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great location for folks on business in Harrisburg. Very convenient for visiting Hershey Park. Fairly new and predictable Courtyard with a great staff who go out of their way to be helpful. There are quite a few restaurant options close by (Gilligans is very nice) and Ruby Tuesday provides a delivery service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Harrisburg East
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Harrisburg East-Hershey Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
0.6 mi away
Residence Inn Harrisburg Hershey
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
Sheraton Harrisburg-Hershey
#28 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 725 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#19 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 18, 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Marriott Harrisburg
Harrisburg Courtyard
Harrisburg Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing