We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half way home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   725 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Harrisburg
pittsburgh Pa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Half way home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stopped at this hotel on the way home from the beach for a one night stay. When booking we were looking for two adjoining rooms, which this hotel has. The operator on the phone said they did not have such rooms at all. The rate online was very decent, and when we got to the hotel they offered us the adjoining rooms, however at a different rate. I probably would have argued this, however was tired from my drive. Overall the hotel is clean, spacious and very comfortable. They also have a very interactive lobby to play games, socialize and utilize a computer. They also have a mini restaurant where you can get food but did not. The pool at this location also is about the size of a jacuzzi. The hotel is also close to several restaurants and shopping such as Target and JCPenney. Access to other places such as Hershey Park, Hershey World and outlets is about a 15 minute drive or less. I also like the fact that the turnpike is right near the hotel as well. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned this hotel has adjoining rooms, so if the operator tells you this site does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    78
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
61
25
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Good location, Breakfast was good and lots of choices, staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. Bed was ok....a little saggy for my own comfort. Close to attractions and plenty of restaurants within a 10 min drive.

Room Tip: Good location, but noisy if you're a lite sleeper due to proximity to highway, ask for a room aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here one night before a flight out of the Harrisburg airport, which is about 10 minutes away. Rooms are typical Courtyard, common space has been updated with the new look - including the small cafe with some food options. Hotel is a quick trip to Five Guys, Moe's, Chili's and some other chains if what you're looking for isn't on site. Friendly/helpful staff. Only real complaint was poor internet service but thankfully my aircard worked just fine. Price slightly higher than expected for a Courtyard in a small PA town - but it was a weekend night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I agree with other recent reviews that the new look of the Courtyards is a bit too modern and uninviting for my taste. However, Marriott never fails to be clean, comfortable, and with a courteous staff. In my book, that's worth the money. I was shocked to find this Marriott property was less expensive by other options with a 10-mile radius of Hersheypark by almost half. What a great deal (and I get reward points to boot). It's less than a 15 minute drive.

Regarding dining, I agree that hotels should go back to an included continental breakfast. It's expensive for the quality of food offered. The August weekend we visited the weather was very hot, but the lobby/restaurant area were extremely cold, to the point of being uncomfortable. I did enjoy actually having a bar that was tended in the evenings, though. Many smaller hotels don't offer that anymore. We opted for dinner across the street at Leeds. It was good, but pretty expensive for Harrisburg.

When we visit Hersheypark again we'll likely stay at this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Hotel was clean and comfortable and the employees were nice, but for the price
how can you not even offer a continental breakfast??!! Also, no fan in the bathroom so it fogged
quickly, and they have perhaps the smallest pool I have ever seen in a hotel. Thin walls as we could hear our neighbors rather easily. Marrriot can do better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County, CT
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent seven consecutive nights in hotels, all Marriott properties, and this hotel was the best. We were not going to Hershey (tons of kids and families in the hotel so I am certain that was the popular destination for people staying in the hotel) but were visiting six colleges in the area north to Lewisburg, west to Carlisle and east to Lancaster. The hotel was centrally located and close to the highways. The lobby was absolutely beautiful and spacious. We got food from the cafe, which was reasonably priced, and the service and food were both good. The location is close to shopping and restaurants. The beds were not as comfortable as some of the other Courtyards but I still had two good night's sleep. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel this past Thursday and Friday nights. Our room was clean and comfortable, and I would definitely stay here again. The positives included a fairly comfortable king sized bed, good water pressure in the bathroom with plenty of hot water, plenty of ice in the machine even on a scorching hot weekend, a nice sized, newer flat screen TV, decent, though limited, food options in the lobby, great A/C that kept our room cool and comfortable on a few of the hottest days of the year, and a very convenient dorm-sized refrigerator for our use in the room.

There were a couple of negatives for us, as well. First, even though there was a photocopied note from the manager apologizing for the wifi problems and letting us know they had been fixed, we had no usable wifi signal throughout our stay. Second, the sheets on our bed that were used to cover the comforter were too small to do that job effectively. The sheet issue is just a pet peeve of mine, as I know that not every hotel washes the comforters in between every guest. This hotel was very clean, and likely did wash the comforter. I just like nice big sheets that generously cover it all up. That said, I did not mention either of these problems to the hotel during our stay, so they had no opportunity to respond or make changes.

To be fair, it was also a bit annoying that the room was not particularly well lit, even with every light on, and to open our curtains during the day to get sunlight was not a great option since we were often greeted with throngs of soccer players warming up in the courtyard right outside our window.

Moreover, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We were about 10-15 minutes from the Hershey attractions and 10 minutes from E-town.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 725 Eisenhower Boulevard, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened May 18, 2005. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg
Courtyard Harrisburg Hershey
Marriott Harrisburg
Harrisburg Marriott
Harrisburg Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.