We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good good bad service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gilligan's Bar & Grill

Gilligan's Bar & Grill
10 N Houcks Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17109
+1 717-652-2611
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 461 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good good bad service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Passing through decided to try this place and were very satisfied with the sandwiches and gyros, we were seated fast and the food was out fast however the service was poor. We sat with empty glasses of soda until the hostess actually noticed and it took a long time to get our bill as our waitress was noticed hanging out with her co workers in a group while her tables were unattended and the restaurant was not even busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    69
    26
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Didn't know what to expect from the outside...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

But the prime rib was PERFECTO!!! We inadvertently walked into the bar side, and were redirected into a beautiful restaurant. We still didn't know what to expect. But GET THE PRIME RIB! I can't say anymore. It's worth the $21.99 price. Well worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“NO GINGER, BUT PLENTY OF BEER”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Gilligan's is a sports bar & grill which I recently visited on a somewhat busy Saturday night as it was directly across the street from my hotel. The business is split into two separate sides: one side holds a restaurant while the other contains a sports bar & grill. Chose to sit in the non-smoking section of the bar & grill. Please be advised smoking is allowed in the sports bar. The menu was quite extensive. Fifteen different appetizers, fourteen different sandwiches, thirteen seafood offerings, eleven different types of subs, six different types of burgers & four soup varieties, including French Onion & chili. The menu also contains selections of chicken, gyros, lamb & pork chops, pasta, prime rib, ribs, salads, steaks & wings. There were vegetarian offerings, a kid's menu & desserts. I chose the chef's salad which I found average at best. It contained delicatessen processed type ham & turkey, instead of the real meat items. The serving size was generous. The bar drew a pretty good crowd for a Saturday night and it appeared to be a locals hangout. There's a front & back bar, three pool tables and a game room. There are probably 20 or more large flat screen TV's throughout the bar showing all types of sports. And with at least 22 beer selections on tap, it's kind of hard to go thirsty. The smoking is a draw back, but the menu & drink offerings were moderately priced and the place did have a good atmosphere/vibe. If I was looking for a good watering hole to catch a game, or even meet a Ginger or Mary Anne, this would be a good choice. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surprised and pleased”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

to find such a friendly and convenient bar and grill close to our hotel! Friendly staff and plenty of affordable meal prices from appetizers to dinners pLUS a great selection of tap beers.
On a chilly night in June we had soup appetizers and salad/sandwiches plus beer and sangria beverages....I know sangria (well it was made on premises and good).
The peanut butter pie was very tasty. I had the red velvet cake; we felt we could indulge since dinner was lite fare.
Enjoy the friendly staff and wide selections. Can't miss at Gilligan's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Reeking!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Could not believe it!...and still can't believe it!! Went to eat dinner and watch a NBA playoff game at a place that from the outside looked interesting and inviting. It seemed unique so we thought something not chained would be a little different....we had no idea!! OMG...PEOPLE WERE POLLUTING THE PLACE WITH CIGARETTES!! THEY ALLOWED SMOKING IN A NON-SMOKING STATE?!! Before we could get out of there we already had the stench of a used ashtray in our hair and in our clothes. We are still stunned with the idea that we got caught in it. We walked in, sat down and quickly noticed the stench but never in our wildest dreams thought a restaurant with an extensive menu allowed this repulsive habit. The place had an old feel to it so we attributed the smell to it just being somewhat dated. Looking into the pool room we first saw what seemed a foggy atmosphere...the lighting maybe? Just as we got our first beer this guy right next to us lights up a reeking cancer stick. Shock was on all our faces simultaneously. Realizing we made a HUGE mistake, we bailed as fast as we could. Before we could escape, the stench of a used ashtray had contaminated us all. It took all of 30 seconds to throw the bartender a few bills and bail. As we got into hour car we realized we all reeked. We had to return to our hotel rooms and get out of our clothes and try to freshen up from the ghastly odor. I even had to fumigate my vehicle of the smell. How in the hell anyone allows this pathetic practice in any public establishment is beyond me. Ended up going to Buffalo Wild Wings in the Colonial Park Mall which is where we should have gone to start with. Good food, great staff and HD TV's that were as clear as the air we breathed. Anyone who can tolerate Gilligan's should be left on that island of misery. Never again and good riddance!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gilligan's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
 

Been to Gilligan's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilligan's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.