We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DR Z Sez” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mangia Qui

Mangia Qui
272 North St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1128
717-233-7358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 459 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“DR Z Sez”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My favorite place in the city of Harrisburg for a creative northern Italian dinner. Don't expect any red sauce specials here. The chef prepares fresh dishes nightly based on availability of the local fresh vegetables and seafood. Unique combinations of herbs, cheeses and spices that makes the food "pop".
There is a very nice wine selection available by glass or bottle to complement your dinner. A small bar is available if you prefer that type setting.
Upstairs is a Tapas bar that has a completely separate menu which is also very imaginative a delicious!
Mangia!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    27
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice Sunday brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Our gang was passing through on our way home from college graduation. I've come to rely on TA as a reliable font of ideas and this was no exception. I was drawn to Mangia Qui by the favorable ratings on its brunch and the promise of tapas, a favorite of my son, who was part of the gang.

Mangia Qui has a relaxed atmosphere and what I would call an eclectic crowd, at least that morning. The place is swarming with wait staff, so service was quick and efficient. Half of our party took advantage of the bar to order colorful drinks. The menu was interesting and diverse - from simple to inventive. The nine of us all gave our foods a "thumbs up."

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Food good but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This review is for the downstairs restaurant. The service was very good. The food was tasty but pricey. There are other high quality restaurants in Harrisburg that I think are a better value. I am interested in trying their related upstairs Tapas place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Cumberland, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply the best!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I'm Italian on my Mum's side, but that doesn't matter if you like great food; ambiance, and the personal touch of a wonderful staff. I dare use the word staff. Staff implies something more like "server' or "worker" and at the Mangia Qui that is far from the case. The owners, all women, are the chef; the wine expert, and the baker. They are more like family. Memories of being in my nonna's kitchen come more to mind than eating out. Qui Qui, the CIA educated chef. is always out and about in the restaurant talking among the diners. When the weather turns warmer tables can be had outside giving one a true European touch. The menu is seasonal as well, and always made up of local farmers when permiting; including hydropontic herbs and vegetables. The specials are always a treat; with Winter selections such as venison and boar. Having met the baker the last time my family dined, and I'm sorry to say I can't remember her name (very sorry) one can only complement her on her fresh breads and wonderful desserts. The waiters and waitresses are the most knowledgable I have ever met. And if that's not enough there is an upstairs Tapas Bar named Suba which has wonderful tapas (look up the history of the word lol) and cocktails. Also a perk at Suba is their monthly fund raiser, where so much percentage of your bill goes towards a local worthy cause. The
Mangia Qui/Suba is a must visit if in the Harrisburg area.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Simply the best brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

All I can say is for a wonderful Sunday brunch go to Mangia Qui, you'll love every bite. We celebrated our daughters birthday there and all six members enjoyed their brunch choice. From the Mangia omelet to the crab omelet of the day. Wonderful coffee, fresh fruit juice to a well made cocktail is what you will get, along with great wait service.

ENJOY!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mangia Qui also viewed

 

Been to Mangia Qui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mangia Qui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.