We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mc Grath Pub

Mc Grath Pub
202 Locust St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-1508
(717) 232-9914
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 439 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Cuisines: Irish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Mc Grath is very busy (though I was there on Friday night), and can feel a bit hectic. Nonetheless, the service was good, and my burger was excellent. During the happy hour the drinks are ridiculously cheap, particularly the beer, though I wasn't entirely happy with my pint of Guinness. Overall, however, a very good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    13
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Short Ribs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I ate here for the first time the other day after a meeting in Harrisburg. Wasn't sure what to expect but its a pretty nice bar with a helpful wait staff. The bartender recommended the Espresso-Chipotle Braised Beef Short Ribs which is one of my favorites, so I went for it. The meal was out of this world! It came with delicious mashed potatoes, Brussels sprouts and a nice steak knife which I didn't even need since the meat practically melted off of itself just by looking at it! This might be the best short rib I've ever had. I didn't try anything else because the portion more than filled me, but there were many other options that sounded amazing, including a lamb stew which I passed up for the ribs. Overall I would recommend this place to anyone, especially if you looking for a nice piece of meat! Great job McGraths!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“OH, The Meatloaf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Passing thru Harrisburg in late October while we were touring Pennsylvania, we found this little gem, recommended by a local. We loved the atmosphere and the beer and the service but we still dream about that Irish Meatloaf. We urge you to try it...........wish we could again but we live in Washington State!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wish This Was My Neighborhood Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

If I lived in Harrisburg, McGrath's would be my neighborhood pub without a doubt. It is everything you could ever want in a pub -- great craft beers/microbrews on tap (including two Troegg's on our recent visit), great irish whiskeys, friendly bartenders and patrons, and what looked to be good food. (We had dinner reservations elsewhere so didn't eat here, but saw lots of yummy stuff going by.)

We were wandering around before our dinner reservations and decided to try a pub for a drink. The first place we went felt more like a sports bar than a pub and wasn't what we wanted. We thankfully left that place after one drink and went to McGrath's. McGrath's was exactly what we were looking for - quality, ambiance, and a friendly neighborhood vibe. We liked it so much that we went back for a night cap after dinner.

The bartenders were awesome -- very knowledgeable about both their beers and spirits, friendly, and just a lot of fun. They also went out of their way for us -- when they found out that we were from the Washington, DC area and love hockey, they found the Caps game on TV for us so we could watch. It really made us feel at home. Hanging out at McGrath's was one of the highlights of our trip to Harrisburg.

I wish that there was a pub of this caliber in my neighborhood!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food nice little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a quick dinner. Great food try the Blarney bread yum. Service was efficient And friendly. Definitely visiting agaun

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mc Grath Pub also viewed

 

Been to Mc Grath Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mc Grath Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.