We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of beer on tap!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Federal Taphouse

Federal Taphouse
234 n 2nd Street, Harrisburg, PA
717-525-8077
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 438 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of beer on tap!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Federal Taphouse is known for its 100 beers on tap and we took our daughter precisely for this reason. Unfortunately on the night we chose, several of the beers we wanted to try were out. Nevertheless, the beer we did have was very good and the food was excellent, if a bit pricey.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    31
    12
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“100 beers on tap & great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This is a relatively new restaurant in downtown Harrisburg, PA and was recommended by a friend. It is difficult to choose which beer to try as there are multiple selections to suit everyone's palate. We sampled from the Wednesday evening half price beer menu. The atmosphere was upbeat and the dining menu offered some unique choices. We were pleased with the quality of the food, the size of portions and our server was engaging. Try it next time you are in the area!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere - Harrisburg needs more places like this!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

The Federal Tap house has a great beer selection and some ciders on tap. I have ordered their fire grilled pizzas and a few other items which have all been delicious! This is a great place for happy hour with coworkers or a late dinner with friends! This is a nice place for young professionals.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrisburg, pa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed it! Great food & atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Went here with 6 friends for girls night out and had a great experience. Atmosphere is nice but casual. Server was fantastic-very attentive. Despite being at the end of a very long shift, he went out of his way to make sure we had a great time. The beer menu is extensive but our server was very helpful in helping us all discover something we would like (I had a pumpkin beer- yum, pumpkin!) Food-delish! I had a pizza with truffles and an egg in the center and really had a hard time not devouring the entire thing. Thought the price was reasonable for a great night out at a nice place. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester County, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Beware of the bar next door!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you have children or sensitive ears don't sit outside during a football game. The four letter words will curl your hair and they are non-stop. While I understand this is mainly a beer establishment (and they do have an amazing selection) for those who do not drink beer and would like a DECENT glass of wine their selection is poor (to say the least). Dining outside (despite the bar next door) can be pleasant with a fence separating it from the street. The appetizers (especially the pretzel) were good and the menu selection was varied offering pizzas, sandwiches and entrees. The prices seemed reasonable compared to others in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Federal Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Federal Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Federal Taphouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.