We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty clean and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 N. Hershey Road, off I-81 at Exit 77, Harrisburg, PA 17112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“pretty clean and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We just stayed here for a visit to Hershey Park. It was a busy weekend due to a LAX tournament, and that includes this hotel. It was a little noisy from the many ill behaved children and parents, but I don't hold that against the hotel. The staff was friendly when though they were very busy. Our room was clean, the furniture was nice and new. They free breakfast was typical, and I had no complaints with the food. It was very crowded, but the staff kept us. They even opened a meeting room for us to eat when they dining area filled.

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the elevator. They are near the ice and vending machines.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    94
    52
    18
    15
See reviews for
210
80
22
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tolland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Worst experience ever! Horrible, filthy condition. We spent the day at Hershey park & got to our hotel late at night. Walked in lobby looked ok, when we got to our room on the 3rd floor the ceiling had numerous water stains current & in the past, bathroom was dirty, hair on floor, mold on shower curtain, rugs not vacuumed in corners or floors cleaned ..... Very disgusting would have not stayed the night if we saw these conditions in day light! Went down to breakfast & walls, curtains, floor, table were dirty, curtains were all stained. Didn't feel comfortable eating there. We immediately packed up our 2 children & would not stay the second night which we had booked in advance. The exterior was littered, lawn was not mowed, full of weeds, no landscaping, that should have been the first hint to not stay in these horrible conditions!
Don't stay at this place! They blamed a lacrosse team that stayed in the hotel but these are issues from years of neglect & the place is only 2 years old. There was a sign on the front "now open" was it previously closed because of health reasons? We should have done our homework before booking this hotel ! They need to pay attention to details.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Laquinta due to how close it was to Hershey. The hotel has been renovated but it's a shame that Management isn't doing more to maintain the renovations. The carpet on the steps hasn't been shampoo since it was put down. Since this hotel is pet friendly then I would think the up keep of the carpet would be essential to its guest. The housekeeping staff seemed rather lazy in the fact that the carpet in our hall where I suite was didn't get vacuumed the entire three nights we were there. There was cookies and and just dirt all of the carpet outside our room. If your on the floor cleaning the rooms, why not vacuum the rugs? They appeared to be more concerned with talking to each other and playing with their cell phones. Then the flies were out of control especially when eating breakfast. Also the breakfast was more like a really bad continental breakfast. For the amount you pay for the stay bacon or sausage wouldn't be a bad idea especially since it's something other Laquinta ' s offer. The pool area was humid and the water looked merky. I didn't allow my children to swim due to the other things around the hotel didn't look to be kept up with and I didn't want to run the risk with the pool. So the hotel is modern but wearing down quickly because Management isn't engaged on the up keep just taking money from their guest. One other thought we had a suite but not a lot of storage space and our had an odor to it so we went to the Giant down the street and bought room spray. It's convenient to Hershey and the shopping centers and eatery areas but needs some maintenance in my family's opinion. We are military and a party of 9 and was expecting a lot more based upon the pictures and previous reviews.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The accommodations were very good. When we travel we normally travel with our Granddaughter who is currently 10 and an indoor pool is always a plus for us due to her love of swimming. As I described in a previous survey the breakfasts are mediocre and may not choose to stay and eat. All pastries would even be worse. We miss the biscuit and Gravy option. The evening clerk put on her smile but was not really interested or attentive to what you had to say. Example...no ice bucket smiled but not attentive, I found it in the bathroom. I shared the electrical outlet in the bathroom was loose and you had do hold the cord in to do your hair. Once again smiled and wrote it down but really not attentive...hard to describe but just not really there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice Hotel and Location! 5 to 10 minutes straight down the road to Hershey Park! Free Breakfast was your typical breakfast with a yummy waffle maker! Pool area was nice. Only bad thing about the pool was our Room (224) was directly above it and was loud in the evening until the pool closed at 10pm. Don't expect to check-in before the 3pm check-in time because it won't happen and the front desk lady was a bit rude but more friendly when we came back! Our Room was ready when we went back around 330pm though. We had a double queen room which included a mini fridge and microwave and was nice to have available if needed. Bring your own Pillows though! Hotel had a smell on the 2nd floor but appeared to be very clean. We would stay here again if we made another trip to Hershey Park. This was our first times staying at a La Quinta and was pleasant. We usually stay at Starwood Brand Hotels but we didn't have luck at the Harrisburg Sheraton on our last trip so we chose some place new. There is a restaurant right next door and a plaza on the way to Hershey park with a pizza place and Chinese buffet and more! Overall our stay with our 2 sons was great and we'd stay here again in the future! Good Luck!

Room Tip: Not 224! It's right above the pool and our kids go to bed early and it's loud till the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Riding, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We just stayed here a few days ago while we came to visit Hersey Park; it was a very pleasant stay.

The hote staff was very nice and pleasant. The hotel lobby is very welcoming and cozy. The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was a welcoming surprise and it was actually pretty good. We were able to enjoy the pool and the small gym too.

I would bring my family here again plus it was just about a 10 minute drive to Hersey Park.

For the money we spent to stay a couple of nights, it was well worth it.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooresville,nc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Happened upon this place on a long drive back from vacation. We found a great rate in a coupon book from a Pa rest stop. (Better than any posted rate on line). The lobby, room, and pool were all super clean and fresh smelling. The bed was so comfortable I slept soundly with little or no hallway noise. (And our room was next to the elevator). This hotel is very convenient to Hershey park and the highway. Dee really helped us out with information about Hershey park deals, and helped arrange an extra nights stay when we decided to spend a day at the park. We will definitely stay here again on a future trip through Pa.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 265 N. Hershey Road, off I-81 at Exit 77, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.