We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Civil War Museum

National Civil War Museum
1 Lincoln Circle at Reservoir Park, Harrisburg, PA
866-258-4729, 717-260-1861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 46 things to do in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only museum in the United States to present a balanced, unbiased look at the Civil War.
Steelton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Expensive for the 1-2 hrs it took to go through reading most everything. Seemed to be in bad neighborhood , we went past quite a few run down buildings getting there.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    88
    15
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“excellent presentation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

super museum. It's a little out of the way but a well thought out and in depth presentation of civil war history - not just a battles and generals presentation, it explores our expierince as a people and country

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisville, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

This is our second visit to this museum. The last one was a number of years ago. This is one of the best Museums on the Civil War that I have been to. They give a balanced approach to the conflict. I really enjoyed how they showed the conflicts effect on the home front. There are monitors all over the museum where actors are portraying real people and reading letters and diary entries. This way the visitor becomes immersed in the experience of the Civil War. This is the first Civil War Museum that appeals to the emotions as well as giving you an education. The section dedicated to President Lincoln will tug at the heart strings. Overall just a great museum experience. I highly recommend this museum.

I highly recommend using a GPS to get there as the city of Harrisburg does not provide adequate signage. Very Frustrating. Hang in there it is well worth the trip. The restrooms are very clean, there is a vending area but not a great selection, I imagine that on season there will be more. Fantastic book store and very friendly staff.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Must for any Civil war buff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

a Little hard to find , but close to downtown Harrisburg, A msut for anybody into our great History, the exhibits are great and need at least 3-4 hours to enjoy

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormleysburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“A Moment in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I thought that it was very interesting to see all the authentic sites and old pictures. It kind of brought you back in time, imagining all the old moments of history.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Civil War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.