We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National Civil War Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Civil War Museum

National Civil War Museum
1 Lincoln Circle at Reservoir Park, Harrisburg, PA
866-258-4729, 717-260-1861
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Harrisburg
Type: History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The only museum in the United States to present a balanced, unbiased look at the Civil War.
Davenport, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“National Civil War Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

A ton of history. Interactive displays. Packed with belongings from that era. Very easy to find.A must-see for the history buff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    82
    14
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Parsippany, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great civil war museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very large collection of civil was items...Would def recommend taking a trip here. Will return when we are in Harrisburg again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An awesome experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We drove a good ways to come to this museum and it was totally worth it. A lot of the exhibits were free and the things that weren't free, weren't expensive. The made learning about this era fun and interactive. I would recommend it to anyone, of any age!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sound Beach, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Learning about our history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We actually visited back in the Spring of 2012. It was very interesting and the kids enjoyed it as well. They watched and listen to the stories of how life was back then. Its well worth a trip if you have the time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, California
Top Contributor
711 reviews 711 reviews
253 attraction reviews
Reviews in 305 cities Reviews in 305 cities
434 helpful votes 434 helpful votes
“Great Honor to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

As the description of the museum states this is an unbiased look at the civil war, all of it. We were surprised how large this museum is, beginning upstairs and then descending the stairs to the first floor area. There is a nice gift shop and the price was well worth it to help maintain the exhibits. We had already been to Gettysburg when we arrived in Harrisburg and that was helpful for me. There videos sprinkled throughout the museum with very clear speakers addressing whatever area of the museum you are visiting. The artifacts are amazing in their condition after 150 years. Before you even enter the museum you are struck by the monument known as "moment of mercy", read the plaque, it's a piece of humanity that is also mentioned inside that is found throughout the museum, the decency for the wounded and dying enough to pause fighting long enough to minister to those men. Inside the coverage goes from the 1st abolitionist movements in late 1780s and moves from Antietam to Camp Curtain, on to Shiloh. It exhibits life as a soldier both at war and at rest. There are pictorial layouts of the Gettysburg battles. From there it moves to the effects of war, the surgery, Andersonville Prison, the shattering of cities to the surrender at Appomattox. There were many firsts noted including the playing of Taps at lights out, the use of land mines, the emergence of conscientious objectors, photos of live battles and the start of the draft. Truly a worthy stop.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Civil War Museum also viewed

 

Been to National Civil War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Civil War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.