We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Beers than Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Brewing Company

Appalachian Brewing Company
50 North Cameron Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
717-221-1080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Activities in Harrisburg
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Activities: Beertasting
Attraction details
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Better Beers than Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

ABC is a great spot to sample microbrews. the food is good, but the beer sampling and selection is better. ABC also has entertainment...with some up and coming artists. We saw the Lumineers there and the list of groups that appear includes a great variety of performers.

Check it out if you want to have a good time and entertainment.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We spent the morning and early afternoon exploring the miles and miles of battlefields and were very hungry (and thirsty) and we really lucked out here. The bar staff was friendly and accomodating, the food was delicious, and the location was very convenient if you are out and about amongst the battlefields. Highly recommend, punch it into your GPS and enjoy!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We really enjoy this place! The enviroment is relaxed and the beer is amazing.Try the sampler platter.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ate here twice during a business trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was visiting a business on Cameron Street, Harrisburg for a couple of days and the ABC was within walking distance, so I ate there two times for lunch. The outside of the building is misleading as you wouldn't expect to find this type of restaurant/pub inside. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. I didn't try any of the craft beer, as I was working; however, the food was good. I had a grilled chicken salad one day and tequila lime chicken Quesadilas the next day (those were MUCH better than the salad). My colleagues (also from out of town) all enjoyed their burgers and sandwiches too. The staff was attentive, the manager checked in with us too to ensure that we were being served. Why didn't I give it a "5 Star Review"? Well...the servers (and perhaps the kitchen) seemed a bit overwhelmed with the full dining room...we waiting a long time (both days) for our food. I would visit again!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Extremely over-rated!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

-BAD craft beer, and all of you craft beer lovers know for every good craft beer there are like 7 or 8 bad ones....well ABC has those 7 or 8 bad ones.
-Mediocre food.
-Overpriced.
-TERRIBLE Harrisburg location....dangerous, out of the way, mugger/rapist-friendly parking lot, and a nightmare to get out of.
-SLOW service.
-Their bar is directly above the restaurant... with a wooden floor and zero-sound proofing. It doesn't make for an enjoyable quite meal at all if you go after like 5-6pm. They start moving tables and chairs around up there at about 4:30pm.

+Great atmosphere.
+Extremely friendly staff, they really seem to enjoy working there... but can get caught up being friends instead of workers.
+Vegetarian options.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.