We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ABC and the Abbey Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Appalachian Brewing Company

Appalachian Brewing Company
50 North Cameron Street, Harrisburg, PA 17101
717-221-1080
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Activities in Harrisburg
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Activities: Beertasting
Attraction details
central pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ABC and the Abbey Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Dinner, Live Music and BEER! ABC has several locations, but the original on Cameron St is the best! Jersey Mike provides the BEST LIVE MUSIC in Central PA! Most everything on the menu has an ABC brewed beer component. The Harrisburg Twitterati meet in the Abbey BAr or the deck the 3rd Wed of each month.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    25
    12
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Go for the beer, food average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Great beer & brew pub atmosphere, food is average & a little slow.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paciano, Italy
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Microbrewery should equal good beer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Sorry. This is not good beer. Also, like many other reviewers, I found the food to be standard bar food and the service to be terrible. My sons love this place, as do many others. I have been many times (with those that love it) and have yet to have a good or even marginally good experience in the restaurant.

The food is not great, there can be great bar food, the service (I hesitate to call it service) is always terrible (on 2 occasions I had to involve the manager...not much better) and it's loud and chaotic. They find it necessary to blast music above the din of the patrons...really?

I did have a great time upstairs when I visited for a concert. It's like a completely different establishment up there (maybe it is...?). The bartender, while having to manage a PACKED bar, was efficient and personable, making sure we were well-served and felt welcome. The selection of bottled beers was wonderful and we enjoyed several beers that were new to us. The concert was fun and so was the crowd. Between sets, the atmosphere was friendly, talked with several people at the bar and that were enjoying the band, and I would have no problem going to another concert even solo. I did not factor that experience into this review. It was not at the restaurant.

I am confused as to why this is in the "attractions" category. It's a restaurant first and foremost. The brewery part is hardly noticeable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Food and service was great. Our son who is a beer lover enjoyed the beer selections and brought some home

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honesdale, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“good times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Food was good clean place and fun 1st time there will be back

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Appalachian Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Appalachian Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Appalachian Brewing Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.