We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overcooked with side of ants” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wild Tomato

The Wild Tomato
4315 Jonestown Road, Harrisburg, PA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 471 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Takeout
Hershey
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overcooked with side of ants”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Figured I'd check this place out after seeing the Yelp reviews. It's hard to find gluten free options, so it seemed like an excellent place to check out. It seemed nice enough at first. While I was sitting by the counter (there's a small bench inside) I noticed ants on the floor. The pizza I got seemed fine, but when I took it back home, it was burned on the bottom. When I called back, the owner told me I should have checked the pizza before leaving and refused to do a refund or exchange, as advertised. Probably won't be going back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    5
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very tasty pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

I got pizza to go from here one time. I was disappointed they didn't have indoor seating. Ordered a pizza with pepperoni and veggies and cheese. The guy from the kitchen brought it out and gave it to me fresh out of the oven. It was very tasty. The ingredients were fresh. I also ordered a side of their fries. They were interesting. The looked as though they were soaked in a bunch of oil yet when I ate them they didn't really taste greasy. They were pretty good but next time I will probably just stick with the pizza. Great locally owned pizza shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best gluten free pizza, I have tasted.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I will definitely try more of their gluten free meals, as their gluten free pizza is the best I have had. Even my gluten free pizza hating husband liked it. The only downside to this friendly, family owned restaurant is that is takeout and delivery only. They do have some picnic tables outside.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Love the Wild Tomato Food! Love the whole wheat and Gluten Free options as well! Have had many different items from there and will be going back often!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Don't know why this place hasn't got higher rankings, absolutely delicious food.
We had a deep pan pizza & a pasta dish now we did do delivery so we never visited the restaurant but the food was to die for.
My only complaint was that instead of 45 minutes the food was 75 minutes but Truthtastics it was well worth the wait.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wild Tomato also viewed

 

Been to The Wild Tomato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wild Tomato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.