We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of City House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrisburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
City House Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added City House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
915 North Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Harrisburg B&B and Inns
Sterling, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I attended a wedding in Erie, PA and stayed at a HORRIBLE motel there (Avalon, avoid it at all cost). We decided to treat ourselves by staying at a bed and breakfast on our way back to northern Virginia. After sorting through reviews of various B&Bs, we settled on City House. Thank god we did! The location was excellent - right on the river (great views from the room) and walking distance to restaurants/bars. The room was beautifully appointed with a very comfortable bed and furnishings. The bathroom was a gorgeous retro style with a shower large enough to accommodate 5 or 6 people! The staff were very courteous and helpful in suggesting local restaurants. All in all, a fabulous little gem in Harrisburg. Don't miss it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bryce room. Great views of the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
40
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a too-short visit at City House and highly recommend it. The house is simply gorgeous, beautifully decorated and welcoming, like a small European inn minus the fussiness common to many B&Bs. There are only 4 guest rooms and ours, Helen, though on the smallish side, was spotless and quiet with a super-comfy king bed, convenient reading lights, fireplace and a gorgeous tiled bath with thick towels and a huge walk-in shower. Guests are welcome to enjoy the downstairs living areas, including a delightful sunroom overlooking the garden. Coffee, tea, cold drinks and homemade cookies are available just outside the guest rooms. The friendly manager, Bruce, helped us settle in and was very knowledgeable about area restaurants and sights. We enjoyed a delicious Italian dinner at Bricco, a quick drive from City House. The next morning a breakfast of warm baked oatmeal, fresh fruit, juice, muffins and coffee started our day well. We wished we could have stayed longer and look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We recently spent 2 nights at this delightful B & B. The rooms were beautiful and the facilities excellent. Guests are able to use reception rooms on the ground floor and coffee making facilities are appreciated. Bruce's recommendations on restaurants were excellent as well as his friendly chats during breakfast. Thank you, we enjoyed our stay with you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The house is the main attraction here. It is as if you were a houseguest of a very wealthy and tastefull person. The owner, Bruce, is helpfull and accomodating without being overbearing, as B&B owners can sometimes be. The base rate of $109 was not much more than the cheapest hotel, and makes this a fine value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Lovely house in a great location close to the river, the Capitol building, the State Museum and restaurants on 2nd street. The house is approx. 100 years old and has lovely original wooden features which give it a warm feeling. Beautiful dining room and reception areas open to guests.

We chose the Bryce Room which overlooks the river and has windows on two sides and lovely wooden floors. It’s a sizeable room with good storage space (although a few extra hangers wouldn’t go amiss) and a wonderful pillow-top bed and comfortable pillows. The lights in the headboard were not working making reading difficult but hopefully a temporary blip. It’s also a quiet room despite there being a busy road outside.

Kitchenette area on landing available to guests with fridge and coffee and comp water, although the water was not replenished during our two day stay - the owner seemed quite laid back but I have little doubt that he would have replenished had we pointed it out.

Breakfast in the lovely dining room was okay with juice and breads and one baked item (oatmeal one day, French toast the next) – would have loved a fry-up!

Would definitely come again and heartedly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We recently stayed here for 2 nights and were very impressed with the property and our room. The owner was very helpful and provided many suggestions on what sites to see, where to dine, etc. The only drawback was that some of the surrounding areas were a bit sketchy, so we were uncomfortable walking too far from the B&B after dark. The downtown area is very quiet on the weekend - no shops to speak of were open and some of the restaurants within walking distance weren't open on Sunday night. Other than this, the B&B itself was terrific. We would stay there again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atglen, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our weekend began with Bruce, the inn keeper greeting us in the gated parking lot. He showed us to the Bryce room which was beautifully appointed in both period and modern furniture/decor. Although the room looked out onto Front Street and the river, we did not hear any traffic or pedestrian noise. During the weekend, whenever we saw Bruce, he greeted us and talked to us as if we were old friends. We definitely would stay here again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to City House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 915 North Front Street, Harrisburg, PA 17102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is located in the heart of Pennsylvania’s capital city, Harrisburg. Located along the banks of the picturesque Susquehanna River, this beautiful and charming urban retreat is handcrafted with fireplaces, stained glass, hardwood floors, and arched entryways. Enjoy the comfort of home with the convenience of a central city location.City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg is designed for your relaxation and comfort. Enjoy the coziness of a crackling fire while resting in our spacious living room with lovely river views. Unwind from your day and relax with a cup of hot chocolate and a good book or tend to business details in a quiet, tranquil setting. Wake up to a guaranteed hot shower in your private, newly-renovated bath.Guests of City House bed and breakfast Harrisburg are within walking distance to the capital complex and the State Museum. We are also steps away from the downtown business district, which features a plethora of fine dining options, in addition to coffee shops and many art galleries, and the Whitaker Center for Science and the Arts. Enjoy the best of downtown Harrisburg, a short stroll from City House bed and breakfast.It’s also just a short walk to City Island, which offers a variety of recreational activities, such as running, walking, biking, and in the summer months, kayaking and boating. City Island is also home to Metro Bank Park, where the local minor league baseball team, the Harrisburg Senators, play.City House bed and breakfast is a perfect resting spot after a business travelers’ long day. But pleasure travelers, parents of area college students, and relocating professionals also will find our accommodations suit their needs perfectly. We provide the services you require in the comfort you desire, a home away from home. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.