We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Menu” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar

Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar
7025 Allentown Blvd., Harrisburg, PA 17112
717-920-9464
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #189 of 471 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: There’s never been a place quite like Arooga’s before. How do we know? Spies. That, and because we’re not just some average, run-of-the-mill, sports bar. Nope. We’re a slightly above average grille house and sports bar. That’s right. Our housemade food is prepared by chefs instead of factory workers — it’s better. The housemade bread, wings sauces, salad dressings, the housemade soups. All better. The beer is colder. The TVs, TV-er. You can see every game from every seat. And we mean every game, because we have every sports package available all 365 days of the year on 100's of flat screen tv's between all of our locations. We've got free wi-fi, Golden Tee, Buzztime trivia, and NTN Texas Hold 'em. We've got over 80 menu items under $8.99. And several other items priced over $8.99 for the rich folks. So if you're looking for great food prepared and served by above-average people that prepare and serve great food, you'll find it at Arooga's. If you're looking for fun, you'll find that, too. If you're looking for your boyfriend and/or girlfriend, we haven't seen him and/or her. So there you go, the proof's in the pudding here at Arooga's.
POINT PLEASANT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Had a great variety to choose from, made you want it all, we were not dissapointed
manager did a walk through that was sincere, not just for show.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    13
    16
    4
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Normally, this is the location I like the best..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I can say I love the wings......lots of choices and they twice-bake them if you wish. We got an appetizer of mini-bolis. Two of mine were frozen in the middle and really grossed me out. They didn't remove them from our bill, so we ended up paying for something we could only eat part of, which was disappointing. Service is better here than at the 39 location.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nasty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ordered wings that would come off the bone & still had pink, the waitress told me I had to "pay extra to have them crispy". I showed her how raw they were & she argued. Everything we have had there might have been better if you had a lot to drink.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not for older folks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My date and I went about 5 years ago, meaning 2008 sometime. The restaurant was great, the staff was wonderful, the food was great, but being over 50, we were the grandparents of everyone in there. NOT for people over 50 but if you're younger, go for it!!!!! :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The boneless wings were very salty and service was poor”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Arooga's is going downhill fast: The boneless wings ordered came out fast so that makes me believe that the wings were precooked or flashed fried when frozen. But that was not a big issue: The issue is with the flavor--the wings were very salty even when I tried several wing sauce flavors. Also, the service was poor. The server was slow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar also viewed

 
Harrisburg, PA
Harrisburg, PA
 

Been to Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arooga's Grille House & Sports Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.