We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 Capital Drive, at I-81 Progress Avenue Exit 69, Harrisburg, PA 17110   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Pittsburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

After trying out many hotels in the area, I settled on the SHS as my base for an extended stay in the Harrisburg area. The physical property is in very good condition, with the standard SHS brand layout and color scheme - bright, refreshing, and open, a great contrast to the brown, yellow, low-ceiling competitors in the area.

The room layout is creative, making it feel bigger than it probably is and refreshingly different than the standard box room.

All the staff I dealt with were great - friendly and responsive. The breakfast, pool, exercise room, etc., are what are to be expected at this price/service/tier of hotels. Don't expect a full-size pool, room service, etc., etc. - but it's very good in the mid-tier hotel arena.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. They are greatly appreciated. We look forward to having you stay with us again when in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    78
    31
    12
    9
See reviews for
98
42
8
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This particular SpringHill suites is a great hotel for this brand. The decor is nothing less than midtown New York City chic. It doesn't look like a Marriott brand! Everything was quite nearly perfect.
I have stayed at many Marriott brand hotels and this is a big surprise for the price.

Room Tip: Any room is OK - you just can't go wrong with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments. I will be sure to pass along to our entire staff. The Staff and Management would welcome the opportunity to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. The first was a few years ago soon after it opened. We were impressed at the time how clean and modern looking it was with so many features you'd expect to find at high end hotels. This time, the hotel showed virtually no signs of aging and it still looked like it was brand new.
The entire property was spotless, the front desk staff courteous and efficient, the rooms well thought out with a great walk-in shower area and large vanity sink and a entirely separate "powder" room with toilet and a small sink. There's a separate work/sitting area that can be kept private from the very comfortable bed and sleeping area by means of a sliding tri-panel of green tinted glass above the desk area.
The breakfast area was large with plenty of seating. The complimentary breakfast was well stocked and maintained and the selection of items was typical of SpringHill Suites, which to us was not a negative thing. Considering the very competitve rates for this hotel, the fact that you get any breakfast is a bonus.
We didn't use them, but there is the standard small indoor pool and fitness center.
We would definitely stay at this hotel again. You cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from I-81. The rooms on the other side are close to the highway and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Welcome back to the hotel and thank you for the wonderful comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed here for a few days for a getaway with my friend. Nice property and very friendly staff. We needed an accessible room with a roll-in shower and that is exactly what we got. A few minor improvements would make this better: 1. The doors are very heavy and thus hard to open. 2. You can definitely hear noise from the highway and from other rooms.

Also, we stayed on New Year's Eve and I thought it was a little ridiculous that they only served breakfast until nine am on New Year's Day. Yes, it was a weekday, but they should really treat holidays as weekends and have extended hours.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the highway (I believe these are the even-numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business. We will certainly take your thoughts on breakfast seriously when planning for next New Year's Day. We hope to have the opportunity for you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is a newer hotel with amenities that include separate desk and sitting room area, free internet and wireless access, split bathroom with separate shower and vanity room, 42" TV, full breakfast. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. Several restaurants are close by, including Cracker Barrel. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've stayed here at least 5-6 times over the last two years and it is the only place I stay when in the Harrisburg area. The rooms are large and love that they have the the couch/seating area along with the separate work area. The staff is wonderful - always responsive to any issue (which have been very few!). The Bar Manager is amazing - great knowledge of the area and places to go eat, shop, etc. She is a friendly face I always look for when in town. Location is excellent - right off the highway with a nice shopping center, movie theater and restaurants close by. The only downside that some have expressed is that the highway side is a bit noisy but the staff has always accommodated my requests when available to not be on that side of the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments. We appreciate your loyalty to our property and look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

This hotel made me so so happy this past weekend!! The gentleman (Sean?) at the front desk when we checked in was a pleasure to deal with!

We got a room on the 4th floor, down the end of the hallway and it was awesome!! As soon as we walked in, I was so impressed with the style and funkiness of the room decor!

I'm not a 'hotel snob' but I am a travel agent so you better believe the cleanliness and style of this room will definitely be mentioned to my customers!!

The room was spotless....the big sofa was COMFY with funky pillows! The microwave was spotless, the fridge was cold...I was happy! The business area was seperate with a divider so I ate so snacks at that desktop area and relaxed.

The King sized bed with COMFY and WONDERFUL pillows. Pillows are important to me and these were perfect!

I was VERY impressed with the toilet room with the sliding door being seperate from the shower room....

Seriously, let's talk about the shower.... *BEST* Shower ever! I've stayed in Vegas, Atlantic City, NYC, etc...NEVER have I taken a shower this refreshing at a hotel. The water presssure, the jets that shoot out and kind of give you a back massage, etc....so enjoyable and relaxing.

Unfortunately, my body was exhausted and I slept RIGHT throught the hot buffet breakfast the next morning. Bummed about that. I'm sure it was great!

I did check out the pool (the shower thingie that comes down was awesome!) and the fitness center and both looked awesome! As did the bar!

Next time, I'll remember my swimsuit, gym clothes and get a drink!

Thank you to the staff (the housekeepers were sweethearts and we made sure to leave a tip) for being so friendly and attentive! Tissues were brought up to our room immediately when we ran out! Awesome service!

Oh, and the Christmas tree in the lobby was BEAUTIFUL!

Thank you all for a great overnight stay! We will be back and will recommend your hotel!

Holiday Blessings to you all!

-April

PS--the drive into Hersheypark the following day was very easy and pleasant!

Room Tip: Top floor .... quiet and peaceful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsha D, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
THANK YOU for the wonderful comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ouselves on the service and cleanliness of the hotel. We certainly welcome the opportunity to have you come back and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 15 Capital Drive, at I-81 Progress Avenue Exit 69, Harrisburg, PA 17110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.