We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1006 Briarsdale Road, Union Deposit Road Off I-83, Harrisburg, PA 17109 (Formerly Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Good for one night.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I'm not sure if I specified a non smoking room, but ours smelled like stale cigarette smoke. We bought febreeze and air fresheners for the room. The light over the sink wouldn't brighten. You could see what you were doing, but it wasn't bright enough for any type of make up application. The light and vent cover in the bathroom wasn't connected and was just hanging there. Location wise it was easy to get to and offered plenty of places for meals. If you are heading to Hershey I would find another alternative to the main route. There are several stop lights and it hinders any type of traffic movement. We were on our way to a graduation at Giant Center and were 15 mins late because of the traffic. This isn't the hotels fault, I'm blaming PENDOT for the stellar road planning. Try taking 76 and follow routes to Hummelstown before picking up 322.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a NON SMOKING room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
24
12
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The room was extremely worn out, with holes in the bedspread and curtains, worn out linens, and a BAD odor. The young man at the desk was very nice, and was kind enough to explain that there was a mandatory requirement for a credit card because if you left the room dirty they would charge you, or if you took anything. We were very careful to clean it before we left but couldn't get anyone to check it out so we could leave. These were the worst bedspreads and were dirty. The sheets had holes and stains. You can do better for the same price elsewhere.Apparently I didn't get the "renovated room".

Room Tip: Check out your room before you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a reasonably priced hotel clean quiet and the desk staff are very friendly. I am a truck driver and this hotel is across the street from pilot so if your a driver in need of rest or time out of your truck this is a good place

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Well worth the money. It was cheap and clean. No problems and it is in a nice location close to all the hershey attractions. We will be regulars here. Newly remodeled also. The staff were accommodating to our needs and everything was wonderful.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FISHERS LANDING
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

If you are looking for a room to stay in a nice safe and clean motel - this is the place for you. It was half the cost of any other place and was cleaner than I have ever seen a hotel before. The room we were in had recently been renovated and the colors and fixtures in the bathroom were brand new. There is no pool, fitness room or even shampoo in the bath but we don't use those when traveling anyway. The man at the desk was great - rushed right out to help my husband find a place to park our rig (we were towing a trailer) and couldn't have been nicer. They do have juice and coffee in the morning but Waffle house/McDonalds are both within walking distance. It is my new favorite Harrisburg hotel

Room Tip: Half the price of any other reasonably priced hotel - really - exactly half!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

On a trip from VA to upstate NY my date and I stayed here...

The man at the Front desk was WONDERFUL... meant to check his name so I could give him props on here, but then didn't... (sorry!)....

Everything was very clean, and seemed well maintained, although well worn... sheets were a bit thread-bare and there was no fitted sheet on bed... bottom sheet was a top sheet folded over... But mattress was comfy, as were the pillows, and the towels were surprisingly plush and soft.

This Motel 6 was much nicer than other Motel 6's I've stayed in... despite the threadbare sheets and slightly rusting bathroom fixtures, everything was very clean, the staff was incredibly friendly, and I would stay here again without a doubt!!! A great deal for the price!! Very affordable!

Room Tip: Smoking rooms avail on 3rd floor. Great if you're a smoker (which I am)... but I would recommend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We needed a place to stay in the middle of a long road trip. All the area hotels were either fully booked or very expensive. It was midnight and we just needed a place to sleep for a few hours. Boy did we get lucky with this one. We were given a king suite which had a separate living area, bedroom, spotless bathroom, 2 TVs, and great free wifi for $84.

Always a little leary I carefully checked the bed linens. Spotless.
Our entire room was very clean.

Staff at the front desk were friendly. Hot coffee was available in the morning.
What more could we ask for!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1006 Briarsdale Road, Union Deposit Road Off I-83, Harrisburg, PA 17109 (Formerly Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new property centrally located between Harrisburg and Hershey. All of our rooms have free WIFI and micro-fridges. Fitness center and meeting rooms are available. Free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.