We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MY STAY” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Econo Lodge to your Saves list
Econo Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1006 Briarsdale Road, Union Deposit Road Off I-83, Harrisburg, PA 17109 (Formerly Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
“MY STAY”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Me and my children 2 adults two kids stayed here to visit Hershey Park The distance to parks from the hotel and all major food chains amusement is great. The front desk man was nice and helped when we asked questions. The Room on the other hand was not good the 1st room had dog hair it was a horrible smell like mold and the fire alarm detector was under the bed , We advised the front desk and they changed the room prompt but at the same time told me this would be the last room ???? like i was playing skip to my lou with rooms the next room was ok but the comforters were ripped the ac cut of ofton it was just not good quality. The price was good but there was not breakfast either just coffee and orange juice its best to stay somewhere else

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
21
11
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, NJ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I recently spent one night here. It's very convenient to get on/off of the highway. The front desk staff was great. I checked in at 3am and without asking they put me down for a late checkout so i could get a decent nights rest. This place isn't fancy but it is clean (the carpets like most hotels could use a cleaning). The bed wasn't anything special but was comfortable and the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. The room was showing its age (some rusting around the fixtures in the bathroom). I would try to avoid a room on the 3rd floor if you don't like the smell of smoke. While i believe that the hotel is smoke-free the 3rd floor smelt of old smoke. The room also smelt musty.

Room Tip: avoid the 3rd floor if you don't like the smell of old smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Updated, clean, quiet, comfy beds with soft sheets. Microwave and fridge in the room were clean. We checked in very late, the attendant was friendly and cheerful. We were 2 female travelers and felt safe. Not fancy but the price is right and if all you need is a good night's sleep, this place will do very well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The only good thing I can say is that the desk clerk was friendly. The bed sagged and where it didn't sag it was lumpy. Sheets were threadbare and scratchy and towels were very small and scratchy. Apparently there had been a leak around the tub and they had cut a large whole in the wall to repair it and then cut a piece of sheetrock to cover the hole and the sheetrock only covered about 3/4 of the hole - very sloppy poor job. We have stayed at other Motel 6's and they have been acceptable but not this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

It seems to me that motels and hotels get the rudest reviewers. This Motel 6 has been reviewed harshly and even rudely by some below, but do not believe them. I've been here twice, the two trips three years apart. The motel is quiet, extremely clean, in good condition, with helpful desk attendants. They have a microwave and mini-fridge in the room, iron and ironing board, lots of space over by the window, and sparklingly clean bathrooms. I did look at the grout, the baseboards, the porcelain, the tiles - it's all clean, VERY clean. There is a large TV and enough channels to find something to watch. The beds are solid and comfortable. The coffee station in the lobby is minimal, but there's a Starbucks in the shopping plaza behind the motel, and there's a giant supermarket there, too, for breakfast buns and the like. Parking is just a little tight. If you stay in a room near the stairwell, you MAY hear the door banging, as those doors are heavy and loud. Other than that, this place is a really good inexpensive place to stay in the Harrisburg area. It's north of the city, but it only took us about 10 minutes to drive down to the town.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the stairwells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

New place with clean rooms priced great late check in was not a problem we will stay at this place next year parking with a trailer isn't possible but there are large lots that we could of left our trailer and truck

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

First off, they sure didnt leave the light on for us. We pulled up to a very dark hotel. We walked in the door around 6am, only to be greeted by a not so friendly guy, who immediately said "we have no rooms". That was very hard to believe considering there was maybe 10 cars in the tiny parking lot. we did have a reservation, but after the horrible service we went elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1006 Briarsdale Road, Union Deposit Road Off I-83, Harrisburg, PA 17109 (Formerly Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a brand new property centrally located between Harrisburg and Hershey. All of our rooms have free WIFI and micro-fridges. Fitness center and meeting rooms are available. Free continental breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.