We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little different than I'm used to but would return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Harrisburg to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 North Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Berwick PA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A little different than I'm used to but would return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This was our first time staying at a Candlewood Suites. We stayed 3 nights for ASA State Softball Tournament. The location was great. It was right off Interstate 81 and Route 22; close to everything but quiet and away from the traffic. The rate was rather affordable compared to other hotels in the area.
Pros:
*Savon, front desk employee, was excellent. She was always greeting everyone, smiling, positive, and very accommodating. Overall, front desk help was very good.
*Rooms were well appointed and very clean. The kitchen area was nice and had everything we needed, but I didn't really cook.
*Pool and Spa- Nice and Clean
*FREE week pass to LA Fitness 1 mile away.
*Parking is free and plentiful
Cons:
*Housekeeping services only available if you stay 7 days or more. One of the best parts about hotels is not having to make the bed.
*Two times at the pool- NO towels available.
*No breakfast- they do have the Candlewood Cupboard, but the breakfast selection was very minimal.
*Having to take dirty towels down to the front desk to exchange for clean ones and taking out my own trash! It is part of their policy, I am just not used to that at hotels.
* Onsite fitness center doesn't offer much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Than you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! We do hear that their first stay with a Candlewood Suites can be very different than their usual stays. Due to the fact that we are an Extended stay property we do have a few quirks that you may not see elsewhere. If there is anything at all you're not used to or just need some help please just ask and we will do whatever we can to make your stay as comfortable as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    57
    23
    7
    7
See reviews for
55
40
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife and I love to stay at Hampton Inns, but we've been looking for less expensive alternatives. This is a good one in Harrisburg. Clean, comfortable room, friendly staff, decent amenities. Nice and quiet.

Room Tip: They'll give you a coupon for a treat from their mini-grocery. We almost overlooked it. It'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank You Joe! We hope that after your stay with us that you will give more Candlewood Suites a shot, there are now more than 300 hotels and i'm sure you'll find that we're all very accomodating to your needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I had a great stay here...front desk person was super friendly... My only complaint would be the refrigerator noise woke me up all night...not used to having it so close to my bed!!! The bed and pillows were very comfortable ....easy access off I 80....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thanks for the great review LuckyLou! Yes, it can take a little bit of getting used to have a refrigerator in the room, but its well worth it for your stay. We hope to see you again soon, and as always, we are delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, CT
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay at an IHG hotel. The staff was friendly which is always a positive. We travel very often and had just come from a Spring Hill Suites the previous night. There are a few little items lacking here, and one big one! No suitcase racks is very poor when you are staying one night and not unpacking, no safe in the room,and not having a pet dedicated area made it very hard for us, due to our allergies.the big item is no breakfast which almost all the chains include! Just as an aside, because the property is new the towels are in decent shape unlike at the aforementioned hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us at the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg. All Candlewood Suites do not have a breakfast program, but what we offer in its place is the Candlewood Cupboard where we have numerous breakfast items for sale 24 hours a day. We hope that you will try out all of the IHG brands and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I spent the weekend in Harrisburg for a family wedding in February. Our stay at the Candlewoood was excellent. Our room was spotless. The floor was quiet. And, the bed was very comfortable. Management and the front desk personnel were informative, courteous and very personable. Our every need was met beyond expectation. Kudos to the staff at Candlewood!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you so much for all the kind words and we hope you enjoyed the wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vt
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Candlewood Suites are set up for extended stays with rooms that include kitchenettes. Full size fridges, microwaves, cooktops, dishes and pots, etc.

This property is new and it shows. Everything is clean and in good repair and the rooms are very comfy. I'd love to have a reason to spend two or three days in one.

The desk staff is very friendly, but not particularly professional in the way I would normally expect at a hotel. Very casual.

There's no breakfast served, but that's not the model they are going for....remember there are kitchenettes in the rooms. They have a good selection of fairly priced convenience foods.

The pool area looked very good but I didn't use it.

They are dog-friendly (with a fee) and that's why I chose them. I'm glad I did and I will stay there again if in the area....with or without a dog. They keep things clean.

My only suggestion would be to get the lobby looking a bit more professional.

Room Tip: Elevator is slow, but a high up room will be quietest. In the winter there is no road noise with win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We appreciate you taking time out of your day. Our hotel is not a "typical" hotel....some things you come to expect at a hotel (breakfast for example) is something we allow you to do at your own pace. We try to treat your room as if it was your home away from home during your stay. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to see you for a little bit longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Ooops and it's on me. I had forgotten that they do not offer breakfast. We had food with us so it was OK. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff helpful. I always appreciate a fridge and suites like amenities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, General Manager at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
We may not have a full breakfast but we make sure to always have plenty of breakfast items available to our guests in the Candlewood Cupboard. Thank you for taking a few minutes to review your hotel and we're glad to hear you enjoyed our amenities!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
5.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hershey
6.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Harrisburg Airport Hershey
5.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
Staybridge Suites Harrisburg
#6 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#8 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 150 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
3.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Harrisburg East (Hershey Area)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Address: 504 North Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisburg 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, where comfort and guest satisfaction are our primary goals. We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 just minutes from Hershey Park and Hershey's Chocolate World as well as the Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Track. A short drive to the south is downtown Harrisburg and our quiet suburban property is within 2 miles of multiple restaurants and shopping centers, and is an easy drive to PA Dutch country. Our all suite extended stay hotel is built for comfort. Our rooms are the ultimate suites for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your extra large executive desk with high-speed Internet and speaker phone. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD Player. Borrow your favorite movie or CD from our lending library. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, relax in our indoor heated pool & spa and take advantage of the complimentary laundry facility. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices at the Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.