We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's Ok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Harrisburg to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   504 North Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It's Ok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have stayed here several times because my work has direct billing. It is not one of my favorites because the experience can vary each time. Once I did not have hot water for my shower and the next time I did. Today my room has an odor to it. My friend cancelled her reservation because she could not get the odor out of her room. The front desk staff are very nice and accommodating. The gym is small but it is ok. Pool area is very nice. Cleanliness of the rooms can vary from visit to visit. During my last stay the pillows had a bad hair smell to them. Not sure about this time as it is not night yet. The rooms are comfy and a nice size.

Room Tip: Every time I stayed on the first floor I had hot water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I just wanted to take a moment and apologize for the issues you've had while staying with us Kimberly. I have made sure to present all of the cleanliness issues you've mentioned to both our General Manager and head of Housekeeping in order to ensure that we can correct these problems. We thank you for taking the time out to show us some ways we can improve our guests stays, and hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    55
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
39
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Wonderful stay. Very clean rooms . We stayed with our dog and they are very pet friendly. Hotel staff are very nice. We have stayed here before and will do again. A nice quiet place and we will always come back here when in the area. Great for a Hershey trip!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Great to hear from you! We definitely are a very pet friendly hotel and are always more than happy to welcome any of your furry friends to the hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was my first time staying at this location although I've stayed at other Candlewood Suites. The price was fantastic - less than what I was looking at for a regular hotel room in the area and the amenities were much better. I arrived really late at night and was met by a friendly employee at the desk - didn't need to wait at all. The room was perfect. The beds are super comfortable. I will definitely stay here again on my next trip to the area. Having a stove and the grill option is great. It's close enough to Hershey and Lancaster with easy travel to both.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. We always strive to provide the best possible guest experience at a reasonable rate and it sounds like we hit a home run this time! We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in the Hershey-Harrisburg region!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Everything was as good as expected. WILL ALWAYS COME BACK! The rooms were a perfect size. All appliances were here that we needed. We love the full size refrigerator. Having a stove is an extra plus. The bathrooms were clean. The towels very soft. Iam very picky about the beds ,but I loved the comfort of the bed here. The firmness was perfectand I had awonderfull night sleep. Ialso love having the tempurature control on the wall as it regulates the room better. I will always come back and highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
It's always good to hear from another satisfied guest! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Harrisburg-Hershey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The room seemed clean enough on the surface. My wife spilled some contact solution and wiped it up with a towel. The bathroom floor was dirty; the towel had dirt and hair on it (a lot of hair and dirt) when she wiped it up.

The hotel is also set up more like an extended stay than a traditional hotel - they don't offer maid service daily (it's only done weekly), and if you want/need more towels during your stay you have to ask the front desk for them.

We informed them of the problem with the room's cleanliness, and they did refund our money with no hesitation. In that regard, they are at least honest. But I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am so sorry to hear about the issues you had during your stay, but am relieved to hear that we did everything we could to fix the cleanliness issues and try to make your stay as comfortable as possible. On a side note, we actually are an extended stay hotel as are all Candlewood Suites so some of the items you mentioned are set for all guests staying with our brand. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here for one night during a recent 16-hour road trip. It took a little while for the person to show up at the front desk at 9pm. I booked the last room, so I imagine she was taking care of other customers' rooms. Once I finally got into the room, it was great. Spacious and clean, with plenty of room to set up my baby's crib. My only complaints are that it did take a while to have someone show up to the front desk, and the noise from the pool area was very loud outside out window on the first floor. Thankfully, the pool closes at 10pm, and the guests that were being loud honored that curfew. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone passing through the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel! We are very glad to hear that the few issues you did have were promptly taken care of, and that overall you enjoyed your stay with us! If you are ever in need of a hotel in Harrisburg again please stop by and we'll make sure to put you in a room a little further from the pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

i am a contractor who has stayed at candlewood suits on multiple occassions. and have been fortunate enough to stay in the same suite each visit.the staff is very professional, frendly, and accommodating.I would recommend staying at candlewood suites.another feature that is also a plus is the activities they sponsor for the residents.each time they provided a cookout it was very nice to come home to a cooked meal. Eddie

Room Tip: parking lot side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candlewoodhburg, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Wow! Sounds like you had a great stay with us! We're very pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything at our hotel, and hopefully we will be holding another complimentary cookour for all our guests the next time you're in town! Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Harrisburg

Address: 504 North Mountain Rd, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Harrisburg 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, where comfort and guest satisfaction are our primary goals. We are conveniently located off Interstate 81 just minutes from Hershey Park and Hershey's Chocolate World as well as the Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Track. A short drive to the south is downtown Harrisburg and our quiet suburban property is within 2 miles of multiple restaurants and shopping centers, and is an easy drive to PA Dutch country. Our all suite extended stay hotel is built for comfort. Our rooms are the ultimate suites for the business traveler. Each suite has a full kitchen complete with microwave and full size refrigerator. Work efficiently at your extra large executive desk with high-speed Internet and speaker phone. Relax in the overstuffed recliner while you enjoy the CD and DVD Player. Borrow your favorite movie or CD from our lending library. Work off some stress in our 24 hour fitness center, relax in our indoor heated pool & spa and take advantage of the complimentary laundry facility. You can purchase meals, snacks and sundry items at value prices at the Candlewood Cupboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Candlewood Suites Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.