We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place in Harrisburg” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150 Nationwide Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17110 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Lawsonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best place in Harrisburg”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

At first this hotel seemed okay, but it kept getting worse. The check-in clerk was fine and helpful, but after we checked we found that the toilet did not flush. My husband tried to fix it, but it still didn't work. One of the beds had a small stain that did not look like it had been washed. We then switched rooms and things seemed better until I shut the bathroom door behind me and it locked all by itself. The clerk said, when she unlocked it, that something was wrong with the lock on the door and it stayed locked...so it couldn't be closed all the way unless you were actually in the bathroom...as it would open from inside, just not from outside.
While the hotel was undergoing renovations, some things were good, like the beds were new and the carpet seemed fairly new. However, the new wallpaper was already peeling off at one place on the wall in our 2nd room. The new counter tops were nice, but you could see in some places, around the edges, that they just couldn't cover everything up. The final straw was when the shower didn't drain properly! It's stinks to have to take a shower in 2 or 3 inches of water!!! This place did have an okay breakfast, but wasn't work the $69 we were charged.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_PA156, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Imgreeso001,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback on your recent stay. Unfortunately the rooms you were in , are not renovated yet. We are still under going renovations, with better quality of products. Everything in our hotel is being completely redone, including bathroom doors. We apologize you were dissatisfied with your stay, and the issues experienced. I will have maintenance look into the draining issue you experienced. The beds are in fact brand new. We want to accommodate our guests as best as possible, and are working on creating a better atmosphere. Our new renovations will include, all new showers, vanities, amenities, bedding, carpet, light fixtures, and an indoor salt water pool; many more new features!

Again, thank you for leaving us feedback. It will help us improve in the future.

We hope you will revisit us once the hotel is completely renovated.

Kind Regards,
Carrie Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    8
    9
    14
See reviews for
24
11
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trophy Club, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

It was a pleasure being welcomed by Jack when we arrived. He took care of us well. I made some minor suggestions to management upon checkout, but did not note any significant problems and therefore recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_PA156, Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for leaving us feedback on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and were able to speak with Jack. I will definitely pass on your kind compliments! We are striving to improve and with suggestions, like yours we are able to do so. We really appreciate you taking the time to provide us with the overall guest experience, and hope to see you on your next travels!

Kind Regards,
Carrie Davis
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed here because usual accommodations were booked on Memorial Day weekend. Last minute trip to pick up a car. Hotel was being renovated, which it needed. Room was old, tired, but clean (except for carpeting). Sink was plugged. Called the front desk and they sent a maintenance man who could not understand English. He came with a toilet plunger. When I told him it was sink, he flushed toilet. Seeing as how that worked, he turned and looked at me with a puzzled look. I pointed to sink. He turned on the water and did, indeed, see that it was plugged. He proceeded to plunge it with the toilet plunger. Gross! When he left, the front desk called to see if it was fixed. I told him about toilet plunger in sink and asked to have housekeeping come and clean the sink. She was there right away. When going out for evening, front desk clerk informed me there are two plungers, one for sinks, and one for toilets, so maintenance used sink plunger. I informed him maintenance was thinking the toilet needed fixed, so I'm sure he had the toilet plunger. Would consider staying there again once their renovations are done. We had a room that was not yet renovated. Carpet was spotted and dirty. The rest of the room and bathroom seemed to be very clean. Beds were VERY comfortable! Went to breakfast room to get coffee. Free breakfast looked okay, but since we were meeting family for breakfast, we just grabbed coffee, juice and a yogurt.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_PA156, Assistant General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Julie,

Thank you for leaving feedback on your recent stay! We are pleased to hear you found the room to be clean. We are currently undergoing renovations, and within the next few months everything will be more modern and dated. I do apologize for the issue with the plunger, and will speak to the houseman in regard to proper procedures. Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. We strive on guest excellence and hope to see you on your next travels through the area.

Kind Regards,
Carrie Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middleport, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Overall, this wasn't a bad place. It was being renovated when I stayed here. The wing that my room was in wasn't done yet. The room was clean but dated, same with bathroom. I am sure after the renovations, it will be very nice. Still though, it was a nice place to stay. The breakfast was not that good. Go elsewhere for breakfast. The bacon is horrible and they only put out enough food to make sure it will all be taken and none will go to waste so you are always waiting on a new batch to be served. Plenty of parking and it is close enough to restaurants and gas etc. The bed was probably one of the best I have ever slept on. Very comfortable. I would stay here again if I needed to return to Harrisburg.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM_PA156, Assistant General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Ross,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on your stay. We are pleased to hear you had a good night's rest. We are currently renovating all the rooms at the property, and everything will be completely modern when finished. We are redoing everything from carpet, bedding, light fixtures, pictures, walls, bathrooms, creating an indoor pool, and much more!

In regard to breakfast, we are currently training our breakfast attendants to replenish the breakfast more often. We want our guests to feel our hotel is a home away from home, and will improve with your feedback. I thank you for bringing this to my attention.

We hope to see you when you visit the area again, and hope you are able to experience our upcoming renovations!

Kind Regards,
Carrie Davis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, North Carolina
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

My wife and I used this location for many years due to the proximity to malls for my wife and Carlisle car shows for myself. We have seen it change hands many times, some OK, others not, but we basically just slept there. We were surprised to see it changed from EconoLodge to Clarion in just one year. The new owners are serious about upgrades. Lobby is all new, and the rooms are being upgraded. Still lots of work to do. There were workers all over the place ripping out tubs and plumbing. Our room was pretty much typical of last stays, except for the new beds and pillows. When does anyone write a review saying the hotels beds and pillows are more comfortable than the 3000 dollar king we have at home. We were so impressed by this feature. Hopefully the future renos will be as rewarding. I know there are a lot of negative reviews on this place, but that was then, and this is now.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul P, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts on your recent stay. I was very pleased to hear that our hotel have met your needs and expectations and ensuring that your stay was a pleasant and enjoyable one. I will be sure to share your comments with all members of the team. I do hope that you will stay here again the next time you are in the Harrisburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This Econo Lodge is near to the highway and perfect for a nightly stay while traveling. I paid under $60 for a very large room with double queen bed. The room was nicely made and clean. Bathroom was ok. Staff is courteous. Except for a little bit dark and dingy lobby, this Hotel is worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahul P, General Manager at Clarion Inn & Suites, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed our wonderful hotel. The team absolutely loves hearing comments as they truly take them to heart. Thank you for taking some time to write about us. If I can be of any assistance feel free to contact me directly at gm.pa156@choicehotels.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrisburg hotels
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
Red Roof Inn Harrisburg North
#30 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Harrisburg North
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Central Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ramada Harrisburg
Ramada Harrisburg
#31 of 50 in Harrisburg
3.5 of 5 stars 774 reviews
3.4 mi away
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
Candlewood Suites Harrisburg
#21 of 50 in Harrisburg
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
5.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites

Address: 150 Nationwide Drive, Harrisburg, PA 17110 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Inn & Suites(R) hotel provides warm and inviting accommodations close to Hershey themed park. We are minutes from popular attractions including: National Civil War Museum,Gettysburg Battle field,Hollywood Casino at Penn National Race Course,Lancaster's Amish Country,Pennsylvania's state capital, Harrisburg offers a number of interesting things to see and do. Outdoor recreation areas are aplenty thanks to the Susquehanna River that provides a natural barrier for this thriving area. Whether you want to explore history or peruse a cornucopia of cultural offerings, this region provides the perfect backdrop for exploring the Keystone State. Our amenities include: Free wireless high-speed Internet access,Free local calls,free parking,free coffee in the lobby,Seasonal outdoor pool,and exercise room.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Clarion Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat,yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal,including your choice of hot waffle flavors!Corporate travelers will appreciate access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 35 guests.All guest rooms are furnished with coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and cable television. Ask about our rooms that have kitchen facilities with microwaves and refrigerators, whirlpool bathtubs and sofa sleepers. A picnic area and laundry facilities are on-site. Ample parking is provided and can accommodate most vehicles.This Clarion Inn & Suites supports green hotel practices.The Clarion Inn & Suites hotel is a great place to stay during your next visit or business trip to the Harrisburg/ Hershey area. We are close to many attractions and offer great service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Plaza Hotel Harrisburg
Best Western Harrisburg
Harrisburg Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.