We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pennsylvania State Capitol

Pennsylvania State Capitol
Third Street, ird Street d Street Street reet et, Harrisburg, PA 17101
800-868-7672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Harrisburg
Type: Government Buildings, Landmarks
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Teddy Roosevelt declared that this Italian Renaissance-style building was “the handsomest building I ever saw”. Indeed, the State Capitol, with its vaulted dome and grand staircase and the murals and painted floors inside, is thing to behold.
New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

The inside of this building is beautiful. I entered the building and went to the help desk and asked about the tour. The lady at the help desk said she could help me and 10 mins later I had my own tour guide. I would recommend the tour. You can also sit in the balcony to watch the politicians conduct business. They also have exhibits to recognize the 150th anv. of the Civil War

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    234
    49
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Don't depend on the guided tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011 via mobile

Like everyone said, this place is a must see. But leave time for exploring the building by yourself after the inadequate guided tour.
Open doors, talk to people. You will learn a lot.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful! I keep going back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We moved to Pennsylvania two years ago, and live about half an hour from Harrisburg. When friends were visiting and wanted to tour, I noticed recommendations to visit the Capital building. I have visited other state capitols and they were nice, but not worth returning to. I go back to this building frequently whenever we have company.
The entry is beautiful. There are folk art mosiacs on the floor, and they make a nice attraction for the children..."Look for a hawk, a eagle, a sheaf of corn,etc."
The sweeping staircase leads to the second floor, with the chambers for Representative, Senators, and the Supreme Court. There are elevators for those who don't do steps.
All areas contain wonderful ceiling and wall murals, unique pieces of marble and wood used as decoration and lovely gold painted ornamentation. It won major awards for its time, and deserved them.
Following our visit, we walked around downtown Harrisburg for awhile, especially the park on Front St. There were lots of interesting house on the main road from the Capitol to the River.
This is a daytime attraction. There are several restaurants within walking distance. Try to imagine the streets filled with horses and carriages.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lane, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

If you are in the Harrisburg/Hershey area, you must visit the State Capitol. It is a beautiful building. The guides are always very accommodating and great with the kids.

There is now an activity center which teaches more about the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

Tours are free and scheduled freqently. We ate in the State Cafeteria.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The free tour is nice, I would recommend you take it. There are plenty of maps and brochures for you to take to explore the area. You are free to walk around and look without someone hasseling you. Don't forget to bring your camera for plenty of pictures. This is by far the most beautiful state capital building I've seen.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pennsylvania State Capitol also viewed

 

Been to Pennsylvania State Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pennsylvania State Capitol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.