We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #20 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“OK stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. My father in law booked the rooms, so I did not deal with the check in and check out. I can say though that he had issues at both the check in and check out and was pretty upset. There were issues with the bookings and then they wanted to charge him more even though he had prepaid. Things finally got settled, but he was not happy.

As for the room, it was big enough. However, the cleaning staff needs to be spoken to about things. My room for instance had toilet paper left in the toilet. It didn't appear to be used, but still, the last thing one wants to see when going to a room is toilet paper in the toilet. The toilet takes forever to flush. There were stains on the shower curtain. The bathroom overall just felt dirty.
The beds were comfortable. The carpet, for the most part, passed my white sock test. Dirty carpets tend to be my biggest pet peeve. The desk area seemed sticky, so I used baby wipes to wipe everything down. The WIFI was very spotty. Upon returning to our room on the second day, there was a nice USED facecloth sitting on the end table. It smelled like it had been used with cleaning materials to wipe things down. The mini fridge and microwave were nice to have.

The pool was a little small, but the hotel is small, so it wasn't that busy when we used it.

The breakfast area is tiny. Be prepared to take food up to your room. It was your typical free breakfast. Eggs, sausage, waffle, cereals, and some bread and pastries. Watch out for the juices, we got what was supposed to be orange juice one morning, but it was pretty much just water. Remember how I said the WIFI was spotty? Well, I tried to use the computers in the lobby, and it still seemed to take a while for some pages to load up. Not to mention that someone had messed up the printers, so it took forever for things to print.

The last night, my room key stopped working, so I had to go and get a new one.

Another thing to consider with this hotel is its location. Yes, it is close to Hersheypark. However, as others have stated, there is a barrier separating the road. So you have to go down and make uturns to get to the correct direction...not a problem, but it is annoying.

The staff was friendly. I think this hotel has the ability to be a really good hotel. I think the housekeeping needs to be improved.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    36
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
59
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
State College, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Overall I had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, if I were going to go to Hershey Park for pleasure I would certainly stay here. However our stay was due to Medical reasons for a family member and I found leaving the hotel to go to the medical center was not convenient due to the divided highway issue and required going out of the way by a few extra minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg/Hershey, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I requested extra pillows on reservation. Front desk said they were out of pillows. With a few extra dollars, maid was able to find one more pillow. Very small pillows for king bed. Breakfast area is extremely small and unaccompanied children made it completely useless. Very little seating too. Appeared to be a great breakfast but we weren't able to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have stayed at this hotel twice, while taking our kids to Hershey Park. It ihas been clean with ample parking. The beds were quite comfortable and there is free wifi which is great for down time. The breakfast included waffles, eggs, sausage, bread/bagels/toast, yogurt, cereal, etc. So there should be something for everyone for a quick bite before road trip or a day at the park. One night after the park, we even went in the indoor pool. It's about a 10 minute ride to the park. We would stay here again. I did think we paid more this year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown, NJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Just went to quilt show in hershey. Found this hotel which was half the price of hotels near hershey. Own about 15 minutes drive to Hershey. Room was clean and quiet and modern.
Room on second floor had great wi fi and a big television, Room seems recently renovated.
Loved that there was no bedspread just duvet covers. Many soft pillows on each bed.
2 negatives- Pool is too small, breakfast was so-so. Give it up and go next door to a real restaurant.

Room Tip: Dont take a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

the room was nice--clean..décor nice, but the breakfast had a lot to be desired. There was very little variety of offerings and what they did offer was lousy. The breakfast staff did not clean up spills or tables. There was not enough seating room in breakfast area. On our second day there, we went out to breakfast..the first days experience was awful. The desk clerks need to be trained as well; very matter of fact--not pleasant..didn't offer any good advice or advice at all for that matter. They were very "robotic".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall, our stay was just OK. Check-in and check-out were fast. The overall appearance of this hotel online is a bit deceving. It has more of a "motel" feel to it, rather than a hotel. The lobby, eating area are all one in the same and extremely small. There's a total of 6 tables in the breakfast area, which becomes quite crowded and close together being there's 56 rooms in this hotel. Breakfast is served 6:30 - 9:30 am. DO NOT get to breakfast past 9:00, as nothing is replaced towards the end and whatever is left is what you get. The food is just OK, nothing to speak about.

We stayed in a double queen room, and it was extremely small and not alot of space to walk around and/or put your luggage down. The beds were pretty comfortable and clean, however I have a few complaints regarding the room. It was extremely dusty! There was dust along the whole top of the headboards, on top of the TV, on the bases to the lamps, the top of the microwave and refrigerator looked like it wasn't dusted in months. The rest of the furniture was dusted "around" everything, so you could see the dust where things hadn't bee picked up to dust under them. The outside of the microwave door needed some serious windex, filled with finger prints and not sure what else! The bathroom was clean except for the mirrors, which were not cleaned for the 3 days we stayed. There was a "sticky" lip gloss like substance across the mirror that was there through the stay, along with a dirty, can't really see through mirror, that you didn't want to touch! I thought they would clean it during our stay, but never did! The carpet in our particular room had several stains scattered throughout. The walls are "extremely" thin and we heard the kids in the next room every night! The pool is also on top of the eating area/lobby. It smelled so bad from chlorine, that your eyes burned while you were eating breakfast. Pool also closes at 10:00, leaving no time to relax and use it after a long day out at Hershey, as it was closed by the time we arrived back.

We were very disappointed that this was actually a Best Western. If you don't mind a "motel" kind of place, then this is a good place to stay. There's an old saying...you get what you pay for, however, we paid top dollar for this room and it wasn't worth it!

Room Tip: if you're travelling with children, the double queen room is very small, leaving no space to mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel

Address: 7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#14 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisburg, PA, hotel sits just off Interstate 81 at Exit 77. Newly decorated and renovated hotel,everything has been upgraded, new lobby and furniture, more space for breakfast, new business center, new carpet in rooms and hallways, new amenities in rooms , new flat screen TV's, coffee machines, iron and ironing boards and new mattresses, upgraded fitness center and bathrooms as well.We provide handy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and heated indoor swimming pool.Close to Hershey Park, Hollywood Casino, Pennsylvania State capital Building Skyline Diner, and Aroogas sports bar Add value to your adventures at our Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Park hotel. Work easily with free Wi-Fi from your room or in our business center.Our hotel in Harrisburg, PA, is minutes from several popular attractions like Hershey’s Chocolate World, Hershey park,Hershey Giant center, Hershey outlets, farm show complex,civil-war museum, Indian echo caverns, close to restaurants, shopping stores and malls,40 minutes to Gettysburg Amish county Lancaster and outlets. Enjoy your free Super Start continental breakfast before heading off on your Pennsylvania adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Nw Hotel Harrisburg
Super Eight Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super Eight
Harrisburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.