We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #18 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Telford, United States
1 review
“needs improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

the room was nice--clean..décor nice, but the breakfast had a lot to be desired. There was very little variety of offerings and what they did offer was lousy. The breakfast staff did not clean up spills or tables. There was not enough seating room in breakfast area. On our second day there, we went out to breakfast..the first days experience was awful. The desk clerks need to be trained as well; very matter of fact--not pleasant..didn't offer any good advice or advice at all for that matter. They were very "robotic".

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    33
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
56
18
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark, New Jersey
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall, our stay was just OK. Check-in and check-out were fast. The overall appearance of this hotel online is a bit deceving. It has more of a "motel" feel to it, rather than a hotel. The lobby, eating area are all one in the same and extremely small. There's a total of 6 tables in the breakfast area, which becomes quite crowded and close together being there's 56 rooms in this hotel. Breakfast is served 6:30 - 9:30 am. DO NOT get to breakfast past 9:00, as nothing is replaced towards the end and whatever is left is what you get. The food is just OK, nothing to speak about.

We stayed in a double queen room, and it was extremely small and not alot of space to walk around and/or put your luggage down. The beds were pretty comfortable and clean, however I have a few complaints regarding the room. It was extremely dusty! There was dust along the whole top of the headboards, on top of the TV, on the bases to the lamps, the top of the microwave and refrigerator looked like it wasn't dusted in months. The rest of the furniture was dusted "around" everything, so you could see the dust where things hadn't bee picked up to dust under them. The outside of the microwave door needed some serious windex, filled with finger prints and not sure what else! The bathroom was clean except for the mirrors, which were not cleaned for the 3 days we stayed. There was a "sticky" lip gloss like substance across the mirror that was there through the stay, along with a dirty, can't really see through mirror, that you didn't want to touch! I thought they would clean it during our stay, but never did! The carpet in our particular room had several stains scattered throughout. The walls are "extremely" thin and we heard the kids in the next room every night! The pool is also on top of the eating area/lobby. It smelled so bad from chlorine, that your eyes burned while you were eating breakfast. Pool also closes at 10:00, leaving no time to relax and use it after a long day out at Hershey, as it was closed by the time we arrived back.

We were very disappointed that this was actually a Best Western. If you don't mind a "motel" kind of place, then this is a good place to stay. There's an old saying...you get what you pay for, however, we paid top dollar for this room and it wasn't worth it!

Room Tip: if you're travelling with children, the double queen room is very small, leaving no space to mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just a few miles from Hershey Park. Easy to get back and forth to the park. Very clean and comfortable accomodations. Staff was friendly and courteous. THe continental breakfast had a nice variety of breakfast items and were available past 9 a.m. until the guests were finished.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear miss Janet Dear thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717 652 0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vineland, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My in-laws booked a bank of rooms for us for a short family vacation, so I knew that it would not be the type of hotel that I would normally book for myself. This hotel was necessary because Hershey was booked solid because of a very popular concert. This hotel was not up to my usual standards, but I wanted to note some conveniences: they try VERY hard to get you into your room as early as you need. I was extremely surprised when they had a clean room ready for us at 10:30 AM. In all my years of travel in 4 and 5 star hotels, this is the earliest I have ever got into a room. The flat-panel TV, large mini-fridge, in-room microwave, and proximity to Hershey Park were a plus. That's about all I can say positive about this hotel, and I really wanted to say more, as the management seems very nice. However, the pool is tiny, and the cleanliness is not not up to my standards. The drawback to rooms being ready early is that the maids run vacuum cleaners in the halls at 9AM! Speaking of noise, the A/C is pretty loud, but at times you would probably rather hear that than other loud guests. Yes, this is a family hotel, with typically loud families. Not a place for romance. Case in point, our sleep was interrupted by a fire alarm that was pulled at 1AM by a child in the hallway. I realized that is not the management's fault. However, be forewarned that this hotel is frequented by families that would let their children wander the halls unsupervised at 1AM.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horn Lake, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Friendly Staff, Clean Rooms, Comfortable Beds, Good Breakfast. The only issue is the guard rail in the middle of the street which makes it inconvenient because you can only exit to the right and you have to go left to get back to the interstate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Mr james thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717 652 0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeannette, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed two nights and had two rooms. Both rooms had stuff on floor left from other people. We lost power for four hours and had no lights, a/c or anything. Breakfast area was right outside of pool area and smelled like chlorine and was so small you couldn't eat there. Elevators were not working. Pick anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Mr Gary thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Our hotel is one of the cleanest and the best in the area but unfortunately it was one of those nights when things went wrong first electricity and then elevator electricity problem was caused by the tornado and elevator was shut off by the fire Marshall. I can assure you that you would have an excellent stay if you considered staying with us again. I apologize again and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our extended family -- 3 generations, grandparents (us), adult children, spouses and grandchildren stayed at the this property on July 3, 2014 for a family trip to Hershey Park. We emailed the General Manager the letter below on July 6 (we are not providing the photos we sent with the original letter). After no response, on July 8, we contacted Best Western corporate who opened a complaint folder, upgraded our Best Western status to Gold Elite and gave us 5000 points. We still have not heard from the General Manager.

Unlike the other posters who commented on the low cost of the property,, as this was a holiday weekend, we paid about $145 per room.


"This is in reference to our family’s stay at your hotel on July 3, 2014. We had rooms 114, 116, 118. Housekeeping and general maintenance were dismal and unacceptable. Room 116 had a t-shirt in a drawer and a feminine hygiene panty pad in another drawer and filthy carpets. Doesn’t housekeeping check the drawers before the rooms are rented to new guests? Frankly, it was disgusting. The long mirror in room 118 was coming out of the wall. My daughter placed in behind the dresser so her young daughters didn’t topple it onto themselves. The hardware on one of the dressers was broken. And the carpets were filthy. (attached are photos of these problems)

We rented 3 rooms for a short 3 generation family vacation to Hershey Park. I expected a clean room without other people’s objects in the dresser and working furniture. I expected better from a Best Western. While it did not ruin our vacation, your hotel detracted from our enjoyment. Our grandson summed it up best when he said, “This was not the best Western.” We expected more from your facility because we researched area hotels on Trip Advisor and you had acceptable reviews.

As your hotel fell far below meeting our minimum expectations for a hotel property, I would request that you refund what we paid for rooms 116 and 118. (There was nothing remarkable about Room 114 so we are not asking for anything for that room.)

We raised these concerns at checkout and the front desk employee gave us your card, but did not offer any apology for our problematic stay."

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel

Address: 7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#14 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisburg, PA, hotel sits just off Interstate 81 at Exit 77. Newly decorated and renovated hotel,everything has been upgraded, new lobby and furniture, more space for breakfast, new business center, new carpet in rooms and hallways, new amenities in rooms , new flat screen TV's, coffee machines, iron and ironing boards and new mattresses, upgraded fitness center and bathrooms as well.We provide handy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and heated indoor swimming pool.Close to Hershey Park, Hollywood Casino, Pennsylvania State capital Building Skyline Diner, and Aroogas sports bar Add value to your adventures at our Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Park hotel. Work easily with free Wi-Fi from your room or in our business center.Our hotel in Harrisburg, PA, is minutes from several popular attractions like Hershey’s Chocolate World, Hershey park,Hershey Giant center, Hershey outlets, farm show complex,civil-war museum, Indian echo caverns, close to restaurants, shopping stores and malls,40 minutes to Gettysburg Amish county Lancaster and outlets. Enjoy your free Super Start continental breakfast before heading off on your Pennsylvania adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Nw Hotel Harrisburg
Super Eight Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super Eight
Harrisburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.