We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Super 8)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #17 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Jeannette, United States
1 review
“Don't waste your money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed two nights and had two rooms. Both rooms had stuff on floor left from other people. We lost power for four hours and had no lights, a/c or anything. Breakfast area was right outside of pool area and smelled like chlorine and was so small you couldn't eat there. Elevators were not working. Pick anywhere but here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    37
    32
    11
    5
    3
See reviews for
52
17
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manassas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You will save about one hundered dollars a night rather than staying at another like quality hotel at Hershey Park. This hotel is only five miles from Hershey Park - very clean, good parking, helpful staff, and breakfast was great. Large King beds in the rooms. Great little pool and work out area. Truly value for your money.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, Miss Diane thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717 652 0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in late June for a trip to Hershey Park. Location is pretty good as it is only about a 10 minute drive using backroads to the Park. The price was about the average for other properties at the same distance, we paid about $140 a night with taxes. There isn't much to do or eat in the vicinity of the hotel, but that was okay for us as we spent most of our time at the park. The room itself was clean (aside from the solied rag we found as we walked in on the ottoman, I really hope it was a cleaning rag). As other reviewers have stated though, the walls seem to be paper thin, you will hear everything going on around you, that was a little rough. There also was an unidentified light buzzing noise in the room all night, which was annoying, but not overbearing. The free breakfast was nothing great, not much of a selection, and they seemed a little slow to restock items. Also the breakfast eating area is tiny, so plan on eating in your room. The staff seemed friendly and willing to help, so no complaints about them. Overall, I doubt I'd stay here on my next trip to Hershey.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear scice thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. On busy days sometimes because of kids it gets noisy but our team constantly tries to keep everything in order. I apologize again for inconvenience and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

While a located a couple of miles from the interstate, this hotel was worth the time to get to.

We found this hotel in a coupon booklet, and the nightly price listed was $69 for the night. The coupon also listed that the hotel had been newly renovated. Given our recent travel experience at another hotel, we were a bit gun-shy but decided to give it a try.

Walking into the lobby, we were greeted by a friendly young man and clean and newly appointed surroundings. When asked to see the two rooms that were available to us, our request was happily fulfilled.

The rooms are, in fact, newly renovated. The bathroom sink has slow draining, and there wasn't much for counter space; the toilet paper holder dusty. The bed was comfortable and clean, the carpet new, and the AC worked.

With the entrance of the exercise room immediately off of the pool, the area was very warm and the water cooler was empty. The equipment, older, needed minor servicing, but worked. Towels and antibacterial wipes were readily available to guests.

The breakfast area is small and intimate. The waffle maker worked, scrambled eggs made available, and other dry breakfast items and yogurt ready for the taking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, Miss Sally, thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auburn, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel was very friendly. The hotel was very nice and very clean and it was close to places we wanted to go without having to pay an arm and a leg. I would stay again. The kids enjoyed the pool. This is a great place to stay with your family. If your looking for a place to stay as a couple with romance, this isn't it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, Miss crystal thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stay was OK. Not worth the $$. Newer decor was nice. Breakfast was a disaster. Total chaos. Not enough seating, no high chair for infant, food all over the counters, floors and tables. It didn't appear that there was an attendant anywhere near the breakfast area. Disappointed there was no hot tub in the pool area. Heated pool felt very chilly. Pool bathroom already gross at 10am. Clogged sink drain smelled of sewage. Room itself was clean. Not much soundproofing... Could hear people walking above us and coughing/talking in adjoining room. Narrow parking spaces.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear wifemamanurse thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.
On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.
Our hotel's breakfast area has enough seats according to best western requirements and we do have breakfast attendants. On busy days sometimes because of kids it gets noisy and certain common area can get rough but our team constantly tries to keep everything in order. I apologize again and hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Front desk manager
Sean
front desk 717-652-0101
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every year a group I belong to holds it conference here. It is in a very nice location. The pool is the biggest attraction, winding and large with a Jacuzzi above that has a waterfall below. It was nice they allowed us to watch the basketball game from the pool! The room was very comfortable with fridge and microwave, which I always use. The large-screen TV was also nice but they should get HD channels. The hotel is spread-out, so parking and getting from your room to the conference rooms is a bit of a walk. I asked for an hour extra for check out. Whenever I need this and ask, at almost all hotels, they give me no problem. But here, they said only 1/2 hour extra and were not very friendly at check-out. Overall, though, a very nice hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbwhbg, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear, Mr Michael thank you for taking the time to review our property. We truly value the opinions of our guests and glad to have met your expectations. excellent service and cleanliness is our number one priority. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission. We promise to continue to serve you at our best level. We hope to see you again in the future and wish you the very best. Please call us at hotel front desk for any questions our front desk reach is 717-652-0101.
Front desk manager
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel

Address: 7500 Allentown Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17112 (Formerly Super 8)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrisburg
#14 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
#15 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harrisburg, PA, hotel sits just off Interstate 81 at Exit 77. Newly decorated and renovated hotel,everything has been upgraded, new lobby and furniture, more space for breakfast, new business center, new carpet in rooms and hallways, new amenities in rooms , new flat screen TV's, coffee machines, iron and ironing boards and new mattresses, upgraded fitness center and bathrooms as well.We provide handy amenities like a microwave, refrigerator and heated indoor swimming pool.Close to Hershey Park, Hollywood Casino, Pennsylvania State capital Building Skyline Diner, and Aroogas sports bar Add value to your adventures at our Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Park hotel. Work easily with free Wi-Fi from your room or in our business center.Our hotel in Harrisburg, PA, is minutes from several popular attractions like Hershey’s Chocolate World, Hershey park,Hershey Giant center, Hershey outlets, farm show complex,civil-war museum, Indian echo caverns, close to restaurants, shopping stores and malls,40 minutes to Gettysburg Amish county Lancaster and outlets. Enjoy your free Super Start continental breakfast before heading off on your Pennsylvania adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey Nw Hotel Harrisburg
Super Eight Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super Eight
Harrisburg Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Harrisburg/Hershey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.