We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget but pleasant and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4125 N. Front St., I-81 Exit 22,, Harrisburg, PA 17110 (Formerly Super 8 Harrisburg North)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 50 hotels in Harrisburg
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Budget but pleasant and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was the most economical hotel we stayed at during a long drive south. It in a quiet part of town with a short walk across the highway to the river. We arrived late but they honoured our discount coupon. We were given a room int he area we requested. The room was spotless, the bathroom was cean with tons of hot water and very nice towels. The cable and refrigerator worked well. The beds had excellent linen and were very comfortable. The only complaint I had was the heating. It was a very cold night and it struggled to keep the room warm. However, at the price we paid, we were not about to complain. We would stay here in future if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest(diverdan28)

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, clean, and Comfortable room. I really apologies for that little inconvenience, you faced. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lunenburg, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We are traveling with our 2 dogs, so we have to pick our locations carefully. We are grateful that this motel is pet-friendly. The room we were given was clean and had no smell of previous pets. Wonderful compared to the place we stayed the previous night that had a musty smell from the carpets (see my report on La Quinta, Auburn). The bathroom was clean and had updated appliances. I had trouble getting water hot enough for a shower at night, but it was warmer in the morning. Having a room fridge was handy for keeping the food that we had that could spoil. The bed was large and comfortable. The heating system was touchy -- had to turn it way down to get the room cool enough to sleep. However, at least the motor did not rattle as is often the case with the under window HVAC systems. Our breakfast was quite simple: basic muffins, oatmeal, cereal and toast offerings. However, enough to get you going. There is a very handy grassy yard for dog walking; and I encourage owners to pick up after their pets. Local grocery stores are sparse, but about 2 miles away is a Giant store that had EVERYTHING. You don't need a restaurant with this selection of suppers -- from salad bar to pizza to panini to soup. There are a myriad of food bars to choose from. I ranked this as average for this type of motel, but that should not deter you as there was no major issue, if you don't include the idiots who checked in at 1 am and kept slamming their door as they went in and out of their room at least a dozen times in the next half-hour! Perhaps management should put people who arrive after 11 pm in rooms far from other guests (we are here in off-season and there are very few rooms rented).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Guest(Compuvideo)

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, clean, and Comfortable room. You also like the soundings areas thanks for this. I really apologies for that little inconvenience, you faced, due to late night check inner. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our "lay-over" night on our drive from Nashville to New Hampshire. the room was a great value, very reasonably priced and in a great location - right off of 81 (literally less than 3 minutes). It is nothing fancy, but very clean, the beds were comfortable, the shower was clean and had plenty of hot water, the staff was very nice. We arrived late (around 10:30 pm) and they had us checked in and in our room within minutes. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Guest(JustDucky923)

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, clean, Comfortable room and courteous staff. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed 3 nights in mid August 2012.
It may look a little old from the outside, but the hotel deserves two thumbs up. Both the receptionists that I have met during my stay there are very friendly and helpful. They also pay great attention to little details. Toilet is clean, which I think that is the most important. Beds and pillow are comfy. My mum and I had very good nights. The room has all the essential. Dryer, kettle, refrigerator, etc. No complains on the location. 10-20mins drive to almost everything if u have a car. Good price! Perhaps, breakfast could be improved? But it can fill your stomach if u are not picky. Overall, it lives up to its name. Americas BEST VALUE Inn! Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear michelle janelle

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, courteous staff, comfortable room and amenities like Microwave, refrigerator. we are still working to improve to outside area. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you're visiting Hershey Park. The park is about 20 miles away, a very easy drive. This motel was clean, quiet & tucked away on the banks of the Susquehanna River. A new "Giant" grocery store is about 5 miles away. There was a very reasonable diner within walking distance with an inexpensive breakfast. If we visit that area again, we will stay there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear S P

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, clean and comfortable room. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The owners obviously care about their hotel and it shows in the well kept grounds. Carpets are new with fresh paint. Furniture is older but solid. Firm mattress and good clean newer bedding. Breakfast is spare but all we need is cereal or some toast and I would not expect lavish at budget prices. We stayed during Corvettes at Carlisle weekend to avoid the hotels there that really jack up their rates. It's very close to I81 which was very good for us. Some of the guests were a bit rowdy but fortunately did not keep going into the night. Our bottom line is that it is a good quality budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear Guest(z0607)

Thank you for taking your time to share your views about stay at ABVI HARRISBURG. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, Firm mattress, clean and comfortable room. I apologies for that rowdy guests. We take great pride in exceeding guest expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed back in February 2012. We were satisfied with the room based on the rate we paid. This is a very affordable hotel. Although, you shouldn't expect super high quality. The bed was not as comfortable as I would have preferred. Also, there wasn't much to choose from as far as breakfast goes. With all that being said, we were satisfied enough that we would stay again based on the affordable rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abviharrisburg, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Alhpgh
Thank you for taking the time to share a review about our hotel.During the time of your stay, the property was in the process of being renovated. Since that time, we have added all new rooms including new bedding, bathroom floors , furniture, carpeting, painting, new lobby and breakfast area, landscaping, parking lot. We do have recent photos posted on Tripadvisor if you would like to see the upgrades. We hope that these corrective measures will enhance the overall experience. We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you again or at another one of our Americas Best Value Inns in the future.

Regards,
Sham(GM)
ABVI Harrisburg, PA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg

Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super 8
Harrisburg Super Eight
Address: 4125 N. Front St., I-81 Exit 22,, Harrisburg, PA 17110 (Formerly Super 8 Harrisburg North)
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, conveniently located off of I-81 Exit 66 in Pennsylvania's capital city. Our exterior corridor hotel overlooks the beautiful Susquehanna River. We are close to Hershey Park, National Civil War Museum, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex and Expo Center, and Harrisburg University. Take a short drive to nearby Gettysburg National Military Park or The Amish Village. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the local restaurants including Sisco's Pizzeria and Spaghetti, Jade Buffet, or Cafe Fresco. Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help make your stay enjoyable. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast. Stay connected with free wireless high-speed Internet access in our public areas and guest rooms. Step into the privacy of your own guest room and experience absolute relaxation with amenities including a microwave, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, cable TV with HBO, hairdryer, desk with lamp, clock radio, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.