We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth money” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Felicita Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Felicita Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
Felicita Golf Resort and Spa
2201 Fishing Creek Valley Road, Harrisburg, PA 17112   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not worth money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We went for a facial and foot reflexology. The staff was nice enough. The facility had no spa ambiance. Our robes were too small and they had yellowish discolor. The women's changing room was small and unkept. Robes were throne about as well as the sandals they provided. There were also left over water cups on the sink. There was no privacy when changing. As soon as the door opened to the changing room you would be able to see the person getting undressed and so would anyone who happens to be standing outside the door. I could spend so much time documenting what we didn't like. Before we went in for our first appointment, we said we would never go back. It was really just terrible. The facial - $95 - was not great. It was in fact terrible. The foot reflexology was good. We both enjoyed that but wish we had option of the pressure used because we would have opted for deeper pressure. We won't go back. We are both spa goers and so we do know what is and isn't good. This was was just poor. I gave poor rating instead of terrible because the staff were mostly nice.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    23
    14
    13
    20
See reviews for
9
31
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

What a lovely property. Beautiful English Gardens. The spa was wonderful...sue and Shannon were wonderful massage therapists. The restaurant was good, but service a bit slow. Rooms are a bit rustic, but very clean. Overall, we had a great weekend. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallkill, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

My Family had a Reunion at Felicita Resort on the July 26th weekend.
The reviews that I saw were very mixed. I actually went to the resort about 3 months ago to see how this resort looked. It looked really nice it was cold but I felt for the month of July it would probobly be good. It was better then good. There were some communication issues when our pack rolled down to the grill at 10AM and no-one informed the staff (1Waitress & 1 cook) that we were coming that Sunday morning.
The waitress was so pleasant and dealt with us. She apologized over and over. I explained to her that I have been in this hospitality business as a Chef for over 30 years and I understand and my family understood. We understood and she did a great job. There were no stink bugs as another reviewer mentioned. The gardens were delightful. The Bocce court was full of leaves but we managed. The Pool was excellent. Clean, fresh and shade Umbrellas to protect from the sun with chairs and Chaise Lounges. All in all the food was very good the hospitality was very good and the front desk gave a cousin a few extra hours to check out. We had a great time. Thank you

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a night to celebrate out anniversary. We had looked at the Hershey hotel, but couldn't justify spending over 1,000 on one night. We selected the package at felicita that included spa services and dinner. The spa was good - however due to one person calling off, the entire schedule was messed up and there were some angry individuals voicing their opinion. I got a facial and a pedicure that were very good and not as expensive as I anticipated. A three course dinner was included in the package and I changed into a nice dress for the meal. When we got to the restaurant and discovered it is just the golf lounge with a spinning display of hot dogs, I felt overdressed but went with the flow. The food was simple but good - obvious that the chef cared about the quality of the dishes.
Grounds are very pretty but overgrown. Rooms are clean but outdated. Overall was a good experience but the resort would benefit so much with some investment or advertising. We did not golf as it was raining.
I'm not sure we will go back - the value for the entire stay was the best part but if you are going to spend money, this is not the place to expect perfection.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A friend and I went for a weekend getaway to try and relax and try a new place but stay local to our homes. Our first impression of Felicita was wow, a lot of overgrown everything. Our second impression, where is everyone? The reviews here said staff was rude and unresponsive but we found them to be very nice and had interest in asking us about our stay. The signs on the property kind of sucked though. It wasn't easy to find our room or building. Once we found our place, it was decent, bathroom could have been cleaner. But be forewarned if you do not like bugs and animals, do not go here. It is literally in nature. The pool was awesome. Warm and beautiful. There were tons of things to do, Basketball, tennis, golf, a tavern, the spa. But still no people at any of these. We tried the Tavern/Bar but no one was there, ever. Dinner and breakfast, no customers in site. The Italian Garden was amazing but again no one in site. But it's their clear money maker because it was the only upkept outside. Weddings happen here a lot but the wedding party we saw, wasn't having a wedding there. The place was very strange to us. Deserted and haunting. We saw probably 5 people there the whole time and that includes staff. I am thinking they are suffering from some of the bad reviews. I think I would return though because it was secluded and the staff was really nice. Upon leaving the manager had a lot of questions. I really think they are trying !

Room Tip: The AC units drown out any peaceful outdoor noise you want to hear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC area
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived on the night of July 19, 2013. First the gripes.

The air conditioning was working, but quite noisy. The alarm clock consistently ran fast, a major drawback when the hotel advised that the wake-up service was not working. When we wanted to eat at the hotel's restaurant, the directions were hard to follow and I have a pretty good sense of direction. This was a drawback when we arrived around 6:30 and we wanted to squeeze in dinner, and some pool and hot tub time. The garden was badly in need of insect-suppression.

The good parts overall outweighed the bad parts. The pool was surprisingly good for a hotel pool; large and lap-swimmable. The hot tub was quite nice, even if the hours it was available could have been longer. The restaurant was good both at dinner and breakfast, and quite reasonably priced. The staff was quite informative when I called, and willingly downgraded the reservation from "spa" to regular. I do plan to stay there again.

The hotel should work constructively on these and other posted complaints though; it has the making of a real gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 50, the Magnolia room. It was fine. Just please don't plan on staying in tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had a friend come in from out of town and we typically do a spa day and decided to try this spa to save some money this year, as opposed to going to Hershey for the spa. The website, although bosting no pictures of the spa, made it seem like a nice place. What a waste of money! We had NO problems getting an appointment just a few days in advance the weekend of Valentine's Day which should have tipped me off, and when we arrived, we didn't see anyone else in the place besides us and the staff. The facility needs a lot of updating! The carpets were dingy and had worn holes and stains in them, the furniture is held together by a prayer, but the staff was pleasant although a bit unprofessional, a little like diner staff than a resort spa staff. We had massages and they were almost decent. We decided to use the amenities and soak in the hot tub, but whatever chemical they used made us gag and choke. We had to open the door to the spa room to the outdoors and since it was February, it was freezing. It improved the gagging reflex a bit, but not entirely. One girl who came to wait on us, had the same gagging choking experience and had to leave before taking our complete order. She said that was typical and explained about that chemical being the culprit. Over all, it is still on the pricy side for a very bad experience and it's worth spending the extra $30 and going to a place where it can be a nice relaxing experience elsewhere, the way a spa resort should be!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Felicita Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Felicita Golf Resort and Spa

Address: 2201 Fishing Creek Valley Road, Harrisburg, PA 17112
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Felicita is a premiere Pennsylvania resort nestled in the heart of the Blue Mountains near Harrisburg. In Italian, Felicita means "great happiness." Our 650 acre golf and spa retreat is the perfect getaway, ranked by Philadelphia's MainLine Today magazine as a "Best Weekend Getaway," Felicita is unlike any other Pennsylvania resort. Felicita's exclusive garden setting and relaxed atmosphere will allow you to truly leave your worries and cares behind as you're transported to another world.Felicita, a short trip never took you so far away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Felicita Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Felicita Golf Hotel Harrisburg
Felicita Hotel Harrisburg
Felicita Resort Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Felicita Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.