We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Authentic Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol Mexican Restaurant

El Sol Mexican Restaurant
18 S 3rd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2103
717-901-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Sol Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 462 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Authentic Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Atmosphere, Staff, Food are wonderful! Always recommend this place. Please leave room for Tres Leche Cake:)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The best in the mid-state”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

El Sol is hands down the best Mexican Restaurant in central PA. They actually know the difference between red and green chilies. The huevos rancheros we had at brunch on a Sunday were excellent. Everything we've eaten there has been excellent. Lovely service and atmosphere too. But it can be challenging to to park as it is downtown. Still, eminently worth the trip.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Atmosphere, Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

I enjoyed my experience at El Sol Mexican Restaurant. I went on a Friday night, and there was a bit of a wait. I waited about 20 minutes, but I went over a Cinco De Mayo celebration and called ahead. They had many food choices, tons of delicious looking drinks, and the wait staff was friendly. The only reason I didn't give them 4 stars is because they were a little expensive.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Bad night for El Sol”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We went to dinner with 6 of us. We all complained. The chips were very salty, but we over looked that until dinner came and it was so salty most of us could not finish our meals. With the parking meters cost going up, and obviously less attention to meal preparations, this will be an easy restaurant to stay away from! Our waiter forgot what we ordered before he got the kitchen and we all got wrong entrees too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice Dinner with a bit of a wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This was our 2nd time time to El Sol. The food was vary good both times and we enjoy the Atmosphere. The restaurant was very busy last night so we did experience longer that normal wait times for our food. Once the food came it was very good, but again if the waiter needed to bring some extra toppings or items of that nature, it took awhile, to the point that we were done with our entrees when the toppings arrived, or we would have and cold food. I would certainly go again, though I would consider a less busy time.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sol Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 
Harrisburg, PA
Harrisburg, PA
 

Been to El Sol Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.