We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a bar than a restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Sol Mexican Restaurant

El Sol Mexican Restaurant
18 S 3rd St, Harrisburg, PA 17101-2103
717-901-5050
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
El Sol Mexican Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 459 Restaurants in Harrisburg
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Mechanicsburg, pa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“More like a bar than a restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had dinner there on a Friday night recently and I was underwhelmed by the place. Margaritas are good but overpriced (not even a full glass). I ordered the mixed soft taco platter and the presentation didn't inspire me. In fact, it didn't even look appetizing. The food was over spiced and I ended up leaving a portion (not an everyday occurrence). It's hard to have a conversation since the place is so noisy, there isn't much room to move around, and given the mediocre cuisine, it will be a while before we go back. The chips and salsa appetizer were actually very good. That was the highlight of the meal, probably.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    51
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“If you like Mexican this is the place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you like Mexican this is the place for you. The food is fabulous and the staff is so helpful and polite.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“gourmet mexican”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

El Sol is a quaint little restaurant on 3rd street in Harrisburg. My husband and i are lovers of El Rodeo and eat there regularly, but for a special occasion this was a wonderful place to go. The food is gourmet Mexican. I had steak fajitas and my husband had the Parrilladas which is a small table top grill of whatever meats of your choice. Everything was delicious and flavorful but we had plenty of leftovers. We made fajita omelettes the next morning and then did a stir fry with dinner with the rest of the leftovers. YUM all three times!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could not have been better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We had an excellent dining experience at El Sol. We were seated immediately (had reservations and I would recommend this as it filled up rapidly) and the staff were so kind that I almost could not believe it! Our server was very knowledgable about the food including the intensity of the heat. I am a vegetarian and they had several options to choose from and were very accomodating by adjusting other dishes to suit this preference. The restaurant and the restroom was very clean. If you are looking for authentic Mexican food and a pleasant experience then give El Sol a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“This is Great Mexican(american) food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I love this restaurant, we live here and frequent this one. The guacamole is the best I have ever tasted (other than mine). The only bad thing might be that if you go with a large group the drink charges might get mixed up, so count your drinks and check you bill.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Sol Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Sol Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sol Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.