We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TownePlace Suites was a sweet stay in Hershey!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Friendship Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“TownePlace Suites was a sweet stay in Hershey!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

We stayed at the TownePlace Suites in Harrisburg with our young children (5 and 8) for two nights. We were able to book one of our nights using our Marriot points, which was great, and checked in and were immediately given our queen suite with a pullout sofa. The room was very clean, had nice amenities (if on the small side), but we quickly realized that the floor under the AC unity was wet. We called the front desk, and they immediately brought up a key for another suite. Unfortunately when we checked out that room (and a subsequent one, too!), it also had the same water issue.
We were finally given a room a floor up, right outside of the elevator (all over the span of about 1/2 hour- very quick!). Despite being across from the elevator, the room was quiet, and we weren't really able to hear outside of the walls of our room.
The staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and informative, and we really enjoyed our stay at the hotel and its proximity to Hershey Park.
Two side notes: the pillows weren't very comfortable- too mushy on their own, and two puffy when you put two together. Ironically, we'd brought our kids' pillows, but forgot them in the room when we checked out. The hotel was very helpful in finding them for us, and they were waiting for us at home by the time we got there 3 days later.
Thanks so much to the staff at TownePlace Suites!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
10
5
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This hotel is very clean and in a great location. It is close to restaurants, shopping, and only 10 minutes from Hershey Park. The staff is awesome - very friendly and helpful. It has a nice pool that the kids enjoyed. The room was comfortable and clean, and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. Coffee was available throughout the day. Very nice experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We had a good experience at the TownePlace Suites Hershey Harrisburg hotel. This is obviously not a luxury hotel but is very clean and new.

The hotel is rather new and is in great condition. It is 9.5 miles from Hershey, or 15-20 minutes depending on traffic. It is in a good area in Harrisburg, right next to a mall with lots of food and shopping options. There is also a supermarket and Walmart within driving distance between Hershey and the hotel.

We went to a concert at the Hershey Stadium first and checked in very late (around midnight). We had no trouble checking in. The hotel was sold out but we had no trouble parking in the rear of the hotel. We had reserved a room with a Queen bed, so our review is based on that type of room. The room was decorated in an eclectic modern look with vintage colors. We found the bed to be very comfortable and there were ample pillows and blankets. The room is small but comfortable for 2 people. There is a nightstand on each side of the bed. The room had a nice size LCD TV. There is a small sitting area in one corner with a chair and ottoman. There is also a large desk for those on business with ample workspace and outlets. The room had a nicely equipped kitchen: refrigerator, 2 burner stove, sink, lots of cabinets, microwave, and dishwasher. The kitchen had utensils, bowls, plates, pots, measuring cups and lots more. We didn't use the kitchen because we were only there one night. The bathroom was nice and new with a tub, shower, and marble top sink. Bath towels are thin but adequate. The room also had a large walk in type closet. Air conditioning worked very well.

The hotel includes a continental breakfast which is usually from 7AM to 10AM. We came at 9:15 for breakfast and they still had food left. Breakfast included plain bagels, cinnamon raisin bagels, whole grain bread, and english muffins with cream cheese, jelly, and butter. Also available were: pre packaged muffins, bananas, apples, low fat yogurt, rice krispies cereal, raisin brain cereal, skim milk, orange juice, and coffee.

We didn't have time to use the pool but saw it. It is very very small with six small chairs with no outside sunbathing area and no lay down loungers. Be warned!

The hotel was quiet and we had a pleasant 1 night stay. We had no complaints. I am posting photos of the room along with this review.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakeforest,nc
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2009

Super clean, 10 miles from Hershey - Had the junior suite, little small for 2 adults and 2 teens, Had one queen bed and a sofa bed which was not comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I went with my family of me and my wife and 2 kids aged 2 and 3 for 2 nights and enjoyed the stay very much. the staff was friendly and helpful. very nice small pool and nice small porch in back of hotel for a BBQ. the only catch is most of the rooms are studios and therefore don't think since it has a kitchenette it has a separate bedroom.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

We came to Hershey for a soccer tournament, and we picked this hotel, because it was a Marriott chain, and because it was one of the only hotels in the area with any blocks left. We could not have been happier! From the first phone call to the Group Sales, Amanda was wonderful all the way through. When we got there, everyone was extremely kind and helpful, Amaan, in particular was very patient with all of us, we are talking a large group of 12 year old girls here! The first morning, we had to leave at 7 am for our first game, and we found out that that is when their breakfast got put out, so we asked if there was any way they could put it out by 6:45am, well, they put it out at about 6:30! Also, it was pouring down rain, and a lot of us had no umbrellas, well they had some at the front desk they gave us! The rooms were very clean, and we all loved the kitchens, it made life easier. I think the only complaint that I heard was that the pool was a little on the small side, for a whole team of girls, I guess it was a little on the small side. Also, the location was great, it has a pretty nice mall right next door, and the dads were very happy to see that the "Bass Pro Shop" was their anchor store! Also, they had a very nice movie theater which worked out great in the rain. If I come back to Hershey with the family, we will stay at this hotel for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2009

First, we were a bit apprehensive about this hotel, given the comments about noise, but we found that this was not a problem at all. We didn't hear anything the entire time that we were in our room.

We stayed in this hotel over a Saturday night while in town. We had an extended Queen-size suite (seemed to be an accessible room) for my husband, me, and our 18-month old son. We had requested an early check-in so we could get in early enough for a nap for the little guy; when we called a 1:30p, they said our room was available.

The bathroom was very spacious... we actually put the pack and play in there, to ensure a good nap (it almost always works, since it is dark and quiet) and it fit well.

The little kitchen was perfect. Everything we needed in a decent amount of space. Overall, the layout of the room was good, with a little sofa, coffee table, desk, bed, etc. The colors were upbeat as shown in the photos on this page, a nice change of pace.

Also, we made use of the indoor pool a couple times while there. The pool room was clean and warm. The water in the pool was just like a bath, which made it nice for a swim with the little guy.

Also, all of the hotel employees that we encountered were friendly and helpful.

The only disappointment was the breakfast; it was as advertised (light continental), and the breads for toast were fresh. There was yogurt, a few kinds of cereal, some prepackaged muffins, etc. Perhaps even an oatmeal station would have made the difference. Also, despite the MANY families who we saw here, there was only one high chair in the breakfast room.

Overall, we would stay here again and recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 450 Friendship Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
#19 Business Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.