We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well deserved rest so comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   450 Friendship Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #18 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A well deserved rest so comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This is a great hotel for GREAT value. Full kitchen with a practical and trendy business desk in the room. Of course you benefit from the most comfortable beds in the hotel industry.
The breakfast was not the best we have seen better at other Marriott's like the one in Mississauga ON Canada,
But the service was fantastic very professional. I was worth the stop. Thanks

Room Tip: You can't go wrong any are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for your kind words! Its the perfect way to end a week! Yes... our breakfast is different than the Marriott hotels that offer a complimentary hot breakfast. Ours is designed as a grab and go continental. We hear you loud and clear though! And we are super glad you slept well!

Travel safe! We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    68
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
79
16
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the summer of 2013, 2 adults and 2 children. We are Marriott Gold Elite members and are quite loyal to the Marriott brands of hotels.

The room we booked was a queen studio with a pullout coach sofa. The room was tiny! One of the smallest we've ever seen in any Marriott Hotel. Certainly not what I would call a suite. The pullout couch, when opened up to a bed, actually touched the end of the queen bed. There was absolutely no room to move when the sleep sofa was opened up and no privacy whatsoever from the couch bed.

Being Marriott Elite members, we are entitled to free room upgrades. Yet that evening we were told there were no other rooms available. The next am we spoke with Erin (who was great) and must also be more empowered because she upgraded us to a two queen room which was significantly larger (actual space to move). The room had a full fridge and range.

The breakfast consisted of only plain or wheat bagels, cereal and yogurt. Most Marriott's with free breakfast offer make your own waffles and even eggs/sausages, but those were not offered here.

Overall the hotel was adequate, but not quite what you get from other Marriott hotels. Also the builder crammed as much as they could in a very small space. Small rooms, small eating area, small pool.

On the plus side, it's only 15 minutes from Hershey park and it was clean.

I'd probably look elsewhere next time if we do visit the area again, mainly due to the skimpier than normal Marriott breakfast and small pool. The price charged by this hotel clearly is indicative of its proximity to Hershey Park.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Hello,

I was disappointed to read your review of the TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey this morning. Our goal is of course that all of our guests are satisfied with their stay.

If you aren't familiar with the variances between the many Marriott branded hotels and haven't stayed at a TownePlace Suites before you probably didn't know what to expect. While everything is detailed on our website and we operate according to Marriott standards for our particular brand, there are only a little over 200 TownePlace Suites nationwide and we find even loyal Marriott Rewards members may not be familiar with us.

All of our rooms have the same galley style kitchen. As a hotel designed for extended stay this is invaluable to our guests. Our breakfast is designed to be a grab and go continental style. Marriott chooses what we offer and it varies by brand. 3 of Marriott's 21 brands offer the complimentary hot breakfast that you referenced.

Without knowing the exact dates you were with us or the details of our reservatoin, and noting that you stayed in the summer, it's quite probable that an upgrade was not available. Upgrades are not guaranteed and are done day of arrival based on availability. The majority of our guests are Marriott Rewards members visiting HersheyPark. We wish we could accomodate everyone's requests! We are delighted we were able to accomodate it for you on the second night of your stay.

Thank you for mentioning Erin, our Guest Services Supervisor. She's an amazing asset to our team, and that the hotel was clean. We are fortunate to have a team that takes great pride in their hotel.

Should you be in a position to stay with us again or if you have any questions about us or our Marriott family of hotels please don't hesitate to reach out to me directly. I would be delighted to assist you and ensure that your visit is a success!

Travel safe!

Bobbi Carey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Ice storm forced us off the road and we went with TownePlace because it was right off of 81 and we tend to trust Marriott. It was great. Room was large and clean, breakfast (complimentary) was fine and the staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello!

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts about your visit. I am thankful we were convenient for you and that you were able to travel safely to get to us for the stop. The weather has presented it's share of challenges to travelers in the last few weeks! We are always here if you need us! Travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I was very pleasantly surprised by the Towneplace Suites. The rooms were spacious and clean. I didn't use the kitchen, but all the amenities were there. Staff was very friendly. The breakfast was basic, but fresh and served its purpose. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you! I may have to adopt your tag line! We are glad you stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The front desk and staff at the hotel provided wonderful, friendly, and prompt service. We arrived early and the staff was able to accommodate an early check in. No complaints regarding customer service.
Great location, near Hershey and next to restaurants and shopping. The kitchen is very cute and small. Two burner stove, microwave, dishwasher, and fridge. The whole room is attractive and functional. Lots of storage space with a largest hotel closet I have ever seen.
I was running a race, so I did not eat much breakfast other than yogurt, banana, and bagel, all of which was provided in the free breakfast. I cannot say much else about the variety other than the breakfast provided what I needed.
The gym was clean and small; free weights, a bench, treadmill, bike, and elliptical machines.
Now for the bad aspects. The walls are thin and this is a family friendly place. Some kids (being kids) were running in the hallways (probably racing each other), but the running caused the dishes on the counter to rattle like an earthquake was happening. And the kids were not running in the hallway outside our room; they were running on the floor above us. We could also hear a baby cry and a mother trying to sooth it. But I'm pretty sure no one had a baby in the rooms next to us. So noise and sound carries in this hotel.
Other than the noise, my husband and I enjoyed our stay and look forward to making this our stop whenever we are in the area.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, try to get a room on the 4th floor is possible. There is a large Target nearby t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for the great snapshot of our hotel! It sounds like you participated in the Hershey Half Marathon! I hope you did well! Travel safe, we hope to welcome you back for next years race!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a group with three rooms, which were large and clean. We experienced no problems during our three night stay. The room price was on the high side would be the only minus. The mall across the street was a plus for evenings and meals.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Hello!

thank you so much for the review title.. our team is amazing and really does want every guest to be happy staying with us! so glad you were!

travel safe, hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel many times, and always have a pleasant stay! The staff are always friendly and helpful. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. It's close to Hershey and shopping is around the corner. We highly recommend this property!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCarey, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hello!

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor! We are always happy to have you stay with us! travel safe, can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey

Address: 450 Friendship Road, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Harrisburg Hershey Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites by Marriott Harrisburg Hershey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.