We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smokey hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West

Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West to your Saves list
Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4131 Executive Park Drive, I-283 Exit 2, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Smokey hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Duck-tape "baseboard"; broken/unstable lamp & chair; no iron in room; staircase upstairs only; pitiful free breakfast; no replacement sheets; lack customer services; ... worst of all, smoke filled rooms in the designated non-smoking rooms.

I'd rather pay an extra 10 bucks and get a clean, well-maintained Microtel across the river than this non-sense.

Never again.

Room Tip: NOT here, unless you smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    22
    33
    18
    21
See reviews for
43
16
11
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Castle, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Room was musty/moldy smelling, carpet needed a good steam cleaning. No such thing as handicap accessability or accomodations. Bathroom sink looked like someone burned a cigarette on it and the hallway smelt like it had been a smokers room. The hotel needs a complete makeover. Asked for extra pillows and was told there were none. Furniture looked like it had never been moved or cleaned behind.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel that is cleaner until this hotel is remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazleton, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

If you want a clean room and a hot shower than this would be a good stop. The bed was comfortable and the shower was hot. The location was very quiet. The room we got was two queen size beds. The sheets and towels were clean. The room did not smell weird or musty. The hallway was a little dark just due to insufficient lighting. It needs to be updated and repaired. The box spring under the bed had been duct taped where I guess it got ripped. The exit sign at the end of the hall was being held up with rubber bands and tape. The desk chair in the room was a little unstable. The night shift desk clerk was a little creepy. The stay was nice and there are several restaurants and stores right down the street not even a mile. Close to the Farm Show Complex and very easy to get to.

Room Tip: There aren't too many to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, WV
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This motel is very clean and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. After getting turned away from the RAMADA with reservations, it was a welcomed favor. I would stay here again and would recommend to anyone. The walls are very thin, so u can hear noise next door, but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Prior to arriving to the hotel I found out the website I used messed up my reservation. I called the hotel's customer service department who couldn't care less. I wanted to book a suite, but instead got a standard room. The representative had no time for me and would only give me one word answers.

When we arrived at the hotel, we recieved the same treatment. There was no greeting or friendly attitude at all. There weren't rude, just couldn't care less.

The room itself was clean and standard. For a brand new hotel, the decor was pretty dated. The beds are not comfortable and pillows are too soft. Didn't sleep very well, especially with family next door slamming doors every ten seconds.

Don't even bother getting up early for the so called "breakfast buffet". It consists of old mini donuts, the worst coffee you can ever imagine and three year old cereal. That's it!

The only thing I really enjoyed is the pool. It's an indoor pool, situated in a sun room, which I thought was really nice. Clean and pleasant to swim in. But it's small, so if more than six people are there, it's pretty crowded.

This place is nice to sleep. But if you are expecting great service, don't bother.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Stayed here while visiting Hershey, PA. Needed something affordable. Moldy, smelly. Cramped for 4 people. You had to pay $3 if you wanted to use the swimming pool out back. You are better off spending more money for a nicer hotel. Will definately not stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

Horrible!!!!! I lasted one hour in the room that smelled like urine. Pulled back the bedspread and found hair on the sheets. Loaded the car up and went to a better motel.

Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West

Address: 4131 Executive Park Drive, I-283 Exit 2, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Harrisburg/Hershey Area Hotel Harrisburg
Super Eight Harrisburg
Harrisburg Super 8
Harrisburg Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Harrisburg Hershey West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.