We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice, but...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg

Save Saved
You added Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1344 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Mascoutah, IL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very nice, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

New, very nice hotel in a convenient location, but next to a budget motel with "interesting" customers.
There were no washcloths in our room, and none brought to us the first time we asked. The second day, we got some from the housekeeper in the hall, who didn't have any on her cart and had to go get them. Two room doors were very squeaky; friends staying in other rooms did not have this problem.
Rooms were large, and easily had enough room for our 1 year old granddaughter to play.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    65
    58
    50
    30
See reviews for
83
46
6
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Room had cobwebs on the ceiling and the bathroom fixtures seemed old and crusty, like they were skipped during the last renovation. Toilet clogged easily. Sink made horrible loud gurgling noises after even the slightest bit of water had gone down it. Bathroom door was warped and didn't close properly (and was noisy). We arrived after midnight and were leaving pretty early in the morning so it was too much effort to try and switch rooms, but ordinarily I would have had to say something because it was really unacceptable. We had two adjoining rooms but we never opened up the door, and I could still hear my friend next door clipping his fingernails. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selinsgrove, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Bathroom was nice, tv was very nice, comfy king bed with soft pillows, room size is very good.
Whirlpool is nothing special. Breakfast is ok, but a 2-slice toaster for a 4 story hotel is pretty cheap.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

The room was clean but you could see that they were not keeping up with the maintenance. The pictures hanging in the room had frames of wood that were almost totally shattered (they look like something you'd pick out of a trash bin). The air conditioner was disgusting (filthy black soot on the vent) and the unit had a gap between it and the wall where you could see light through it. The gap was a good 2/8" . Drill holes in the walls not filled in and the room overlooked the roof a roof area. The breakfast was the usual stuff from lost cost hotels.
Although it was only $77/night plus taxes it was just ok. I've stayed in Country Inns by Carlson that are much nicer for the same money. If it's the only room available it's fine but otherwise I'd check out similar hotels first.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

It had that 'just cleaned with chemical cleaner' smell that I hate so much in hotels. Our room's clock had the wrong time and no way (without removing part of the top with a screwdriver) to change it. The desk clerk had to come up to try and change it and when she couldn't it was replaced. Bad design! The day after our first night, our room was left only half cleaned with a bag of trash sitting on the ottoman. And the bathroom hadn't been touched. Breakfast with tons of business people eating at the same time and only 1 waffle-maker and a shotty selection of other breakfast items. One afternoon upon returning after a meeting, there was a pile of laundry directly in front of the elevator doors on our floor which we had to step over to get into the hallway and off the elevator. And one of my pillows had nearly half the stuffing (some kind of synthetic fiber stuff) spilling out onto the bed. Ugh! Pretty simple things that went horribly wrong and all together make one's stay not that pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

Stayed here for one night while passing throuh on our way back home from NY. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. Would not hesitate staying here again.

Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

The motel is very clean. The rooms are very well furnished with; flat screen tv's, keyboard for internet access on tv, cordless phone, good furniture/chairs, glass cups, and more. The breakfast has; eggs, bacon, cerial, and more. However, when I went for breakfast at 9 (it ends at 10), mostly everything was gone and they would not refill it.

For the price, this is a very good deal and a great motel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg

Address: 1344 Eisenhower Blvd, Harrisburg, PA 17111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Harrisburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 hotels in Harrisburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wingate By Wyndham Harrisburg Hotel Harrisburg
Wingate Hotel Harrisburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wingate by Wyndham Harrisburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.